Thread Tools Display Modes
07/07/15, 08:01 AM   #1
ZOS_ChipHilseberg
ZOS Staff!
Premium Member
Yes this person is from ZeniMax!
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 551
I'll see what I can do to reproduce this internally.
 
07/07/15, 10:41 AM   #2
merlight
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 671
Originally Posted by ZOS_ChipHilseberg View Post
I'll see what I can do to reproduce this internally.
Great. Here are the steps I just did in-game to reproduce (with English client):

1. (en) Create a new guild
2. /script SetCVar("language.2", "de")
3. (de) Rename rank #2 from "Offizier" to "Officer"
4. /script SetCVar("language.2", "en")
5. /script ZO_PreHook("DoesPlayerHaveGuildPermission", function(gid, perm) return perm == GUILD_PERMISSION_PERMISSION_EDIT end)
6. (en) open guild info, switch to the guild's ranks tab
7. (en) select rank "Officer" -> FREEZE

Note: Step 5. disables the EDIT permission, so that in step 7. function ZO_GuildRanks_Keyboard:RefreshEditPermissions() follows the regular-member code path (if NeedsSave then Cancel end).

Kill eso.exe, then log back in (English):

8. go straight to the new guild's ranks tab (the game doesn't freeze when you have EDIT permission)
9. select the "Officer" rank and immediately Save button appears
10. press Save
11. repeat steps 5-7 from above -> no freeze
 
07/07/15, 11:07 AM   #3
Halja
 
Halja's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 111
Merlight,

Does launching the client in German mode to begin with show the same behavior as the English?

Using SetCVar("language.2", ... does change out the "SI_" strings for localizations but there are other components which don't get reloaded for the language change. I'm not sure of the full list but I have seen differences between using that cVAr change and re-launching the client under a different language.

--Halja
 
07/07/15, 01:16 PM   #4
merlight
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 671
Originally Posted by Halja View Post
Does launching the client in German mode to begin with show the same behavior as the English?
I did the previous test in reverse, same results.
Start the game in English, renamed rank "Officer" to "Offizier"
Quit game
SET Language.2 "de" in UserSettings.txt
Start the game in German
/script -- that trick in step 5. above to disable edit permissions
Go to guild ranks, select "Offizier" -> FREEZE
 
07/07/15, 03:04 PM   #5
ZOS_ChipHilseberg
ZOS Staff!
Premium Member
Yes this person is from ZeniMax!
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 551
I was able to reproduce this and found that changing SetName(name) to check if name ~= self.name before doing the rest of the function worked. The problem is as you described and we need to consider a name that matches the default name as custom if we didn't type it.
 

ESOUI » Developer Discussions » Bug Reports » [fixed] Custom guild rank names not well-defined -> game freezes


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off