04/03/17, 12:47 PM   #1
BoarGules

AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Total beginner question about d() used in tutorial

I'm following the tutorial at http://wiki.esoui.com/Writing_your_first_addon which tells me that calling d() will send debug traces to the chat window.

Except that it doesn't. I know the game is calling my little event handler, because if I put a deliberate runtime error in the code just before the call to d(), ESO displays a popup complaining about it. I thought that maybe the function had been hijacked by another addon, but uninstalling all the other addons didn't fix the problem.

Is there a magic word like a command-line parameter or something else I need to do to get the function to behave as advertised?
04/03/17, 02:14 PM   #2
votan

Originally Posted by BoarGules View Post
I'm following the tutorial at http://wiki.esoui.com/Writing_your_first_addon which tells me that calling d() will send debug traces to the chat window.

Except that it doesn't. I know the game is calling my little event handler, because if I put a deliberate runtime error in the code just before the call to d(), ESO displays a popup complaining about it. I thought that maybe the function had been hijacked by another addon, but uninstalling all the other addons didn't fix the problem.

Is there a magic word like a command-line parameter or something else I need to do to get the function to behave as advertised?
if someone's addon leaks a d, this will overwrite the function. Not good.
Disable all addons and type in the chat:
/script d("Hello")

When enable your addon and try again.
04/03/17, 02:30 PM   #3
Rhyono
It has never worked for me if I try to put it in an addon's initialization. There are many event related times when it doesn't seem to execute it, even when the code before and after does.
04/03/17, 02:47 PM   #4
BoarGules