Thread Tools Display Modes
05/26/14, 11:41 AM   #1
zamalek
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 9
The Cause of The ESC Bug

It looks like the interface runtime is expecting us to use table.insert and not "key in" array entries directly.

Here is the offending function in my code: https://github.com/Exterminatus/eso-...e516885616L212

Here is how we should be doing it: https://github.com/Exterminatus/eso-...72850fa7ff7R12

If you pass a "badly created" array to ESO it seems to cause this issue (in my case, I was sending it to the settings menu via LAM).

Just one to watch out for. There are other plugins besides mine causing this, but sadly my guildies haven't been bothered to nail down which of the plugins are causing their issues.
  Reply With Quote
05/26/14, 11:52 AM   #2
thelegendaryof
 
thelegendaryof's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 161
lol even if that 's the cause it 's utterly retarded because the table functions of Lua are actually outdated since long ago and most of them don't even support metatables properly (like table.insert) - so it 's a bug that can't and shouldn't be adjusted to rather then fixed (if its really the cause).

I however can't really believe that claim as table.insert by logic does nothing more then tablename[#tablename+1] = value in the background.

Last edited by thelegendaryof : 05/26/14 at 11:55 AM.
  Reply With Quote
05/26/14, 01:18 PM   #3
zamalek
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 9
Originally Posted by thelegendaryof View Post
tablename[#tablename+1] = value in the background.
table.insert also does a setn for you, so I think that may be it.

Hey, it fixed my plugin, so...
  Reply With Quote
05/26/14, 08:03 PM   #4
Aiiane
 
Aiiane's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 19
Better would be a small reproduceable test case.
  Reply With Quote
05/26/14, 08:10 PM   #5
Wobin
 
Wobin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 78
I feel we're running into a "correlation does not imply causation" issue here.
  Reply With Quote
05/27/14, 02:04 AM   #6
zamalek
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 9
I'll try set up that test case tonight - I was running trials last night

Edit: also a bit curious as to which Lua version ESO uses and how this is a bit strange: http://www.reddit.com/r/elderscrolls...sc_bug/chs2ar5

Last edited by zamalek : 05/27/14 at 02:48 AM.
  Reply With Quote
05/27/14, 03:15 AM   #7
Vuelhering
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 169
Originally Posted by zamalek View Post
I'll try set up that test case tonight - I was running trials last night

Edit: also a bit curious as to which Lua version ESO uses and how this is a bit strange: http://www.reddit.com/r/elderscrolls...sc_bug/chs2ar5
People here told me Lua 5.1.


... and yeah, interesting link.
  Reply With Quote
05/31/14, 08:02 AM   #8
thelegendaryof
 
thelegendaryof's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 161
I noticed the ESC-Bug (or a variant of it) when I used :SetKeyboardEnabled(false/true) on an Editfield.

Even when correctly renabling it it would block all Global Keyboard Input for the whole UI from time to time -
the only thing that worked was not using it at all (as in never using SetKeyboardEnabled).

Might be a different one, but just if anyone comes across that weird behaviour as well ...
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » Developer Discussions » Tutorials & Other Helpful Info » The Cause of The ESC Bug

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off