Thread Tools Display Modes
02/06/17, 03:09 PM   #1
Devolus
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 13
2.7 LUA Error

I'm getting this LUA error when pressing "E" to use/deposit/withdraw items:
Lua Code:
  1. EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/InventorySlot.lua:1020: attempt to access a private function 'UseItem' from insecure code
  2. stack traceback:
  3.     EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/InventorySlot.lua:1020: in function 'TryUseItem'
  4.     EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/InventorySlot.lua:1201: in function 'INDEX_ACTION_CALLBACK'
  5.     EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/InventorySlotActions.lua:96: in function 'ZO_InventorySlotActions:DoPrimaryAction'
  6.     EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/ItemSlotActionController.lua:31: in function 'callback'
  7.     EsoUI/Libraries/ZO_KeybindStrip/ZO_KeybindStrip.lua:614: in function 'ZO_KeybindStrip:TryHandlingKeybindDown'
  8.     (tail call): ?
  9.     (tail call): ?

Normally when something like this happens, I can just right click an item and use it from the menu. Tried that approach and got this error:
Lua Code:
  1. EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/InventorySlot.lua:1020: attempt to access a private function 'UseItem' from insecure code
  2. stack traceback:
  3.     EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/InventorySlot.lua:1020: in function 'TryUseItem'
  4.     EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/InventorySlot.lua:1201: in function 'OnSelect'
  5.     EsoUI/Libraries/ZO_ContextMenus/ZO_ContextMenus.lua:419: in function 'ZO_Menu_ClickItem'
  6.     ZO_MenuItem1_MouseUp:4: in function '(main chunk)'

Tried to double-click and receive this one:
Lua Code:
  1. EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/InventorySlot.lua:1020: attempt to access a private function 'UseItem' from insecure code
  2. stack traceback:
  3.     EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/InventorySlot.lua:1020: in function 'TryUseItem'
  4.     EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/InventorySlot.lua:1201: in function 'INDEX_ACTION_CALLBACK'
  5.     EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/InventorySlotActions.lua:96: in function 'ZO_InventorySlotActions:DoPrimaryAction'
  6.     EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/InventorySlot.lua:1767: in function 'ZO_InventorySlot_DoPrimaryAction'
  7.     ZO_PlayerInventoryList1Row14_MouseDoubleClick:4: in function '(main chunk)'

I was not receiving this error yesterday, prior to the update. I updated all addons that had available updates.

Turned off my addons one by one and found out it is Inventory Grid View causing the issue. I turned it back on and toggled the option to change between default inventory and the grid inventory. Error only occurs when the grid view is enabled. Anyone familiar with how to go about fixing this?
  Reply With Quote
02/07/17, 09:15 PM   #2
Phinix
 
Phinix's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 186
I don't use Inventory Grid View and it is happening to me also.

It is totally random. Sometimes disabling an addon works just because it involves reloading the UI. But reloading the UI doesn't always fix this.

Still trying to track it down but health issues are an obstacle...
  Reply With Quote
02/07/17, 09:44 PM   #3
BigM
 
BigM's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 16
Originally Posted by Devolus View Post
I'm getting this LUA error when pressing "E" to use/deposit/withdraw items:
Lua Code:
  1. EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/InventorySlot.lua:1020: attempt to access a private function 'UseItem' from insecure code
  2. stack traceback:
  3.     EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/InventorySlot.lua:1020: in function 'TryUseItem'
  4.     EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/InventorySlot.lua:1201: in function 'INDEX_ACTION_CALLBACK'
  5.     EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/InventorySlotActions.lua:96: in function 'ZO_InventorySlotActions:DoPrimaryAction'
  6.     EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/ItemSlotActionController.lua:31: in function 'callback'
  7.     EsoUI/Libraries/ZO_KeybindStrip/ZO_KeybindStrip.lua:614: in function 'ZO_KeybindStrip:TryHandlingKeybindDown'
  8.     (tail call): ?
  9.     (tail call): ?

Normally when something like this happens, I can just right click an item and use it from the menu. Tried that approach and got this error:
Lua Code:
  1. EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/InventorySlot.lua:1020: attempt to access a private function 'UseItem' from insecure code
  2. stack traceback:
  3.     EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/InventorySlot.lua:1020: in function 'TryUseItem'
  4.     EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/InventorySlot.lua:1201: in function 'OnSelect'
  5.     EsoUI/Libraries/ZO_ContextMenus/ZO_ContextMenus.lua:419: in function 'ZO_Menu_ClickItem'
  6.     ZO_MenuItem1_MouseUp:4: in function '(main chunk)'

Tried to double-click and receive this one:
Lua Code:
  1. EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/InventorySlot.lua:1020: attempt to access a private function 'UseItem' from insecure code
  2. stack traceback:
  3.     EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/InventorySlot.lua:1020: in function 'TryUseItem'
  4.     EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/InventorySlot.lua:1201: in function 'INDEX_ACTION_CALLBACK'
  5.     EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/InventorySlotActions.lua:96: in function 'ZO_InventorySlotActions:DoPrimaryAction'
  6.     EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/InventorySlot.lua:1767: in function 'ZO_InventorySlot_DoPrimaryAction'
  7.     ZO_PlayerInventoryList1Row14_MouseDoubleClick:4: in function '(main chunk)'

I was not receiving this error yesterday, prior to the update. I updated all addons that had available updates.

Turned off my addons one by one and found out it is Inventory Grid View causing the issue. I turned it back on and toggled the option to change between default inventory and the grid inventory. Error only occurs when the grid view is enabled. Anyone familiar with how to go about fixing this?
I deleted easy frame in my addons directory and errors went away and allows me to use E in inventory! Nevermind, easy frame working good, it's http://www.esoui.com/downloads/info6...yGridView.html like everyone knew but me. LOL

Last edited by BigM : 02/07/17 at 11:43 PM.
  Reply With Quote
02/07/17, 10:32 PM   #4
Rhyono
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 659
I'm having trouble deleting mail; let's me get to the confirmation window then I press E, it acts like it took and then doesn't delete mail. Reloading didn't solve it; I'll have to relog to fix it. No errors.
  Reply With Quote
03/05/17, 05:29 AM   #5
heaven13
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Originally Posted by Phinix View Post
I don't use Inventory Grid View and it is happening to me also.

It is totally random. Sometimes disabling an addon works just because it involves reloading the UI. But reloading the UI doesn't always fix this.

Still trying to track it down but health issues are an obstacle...
I also do not use Inventory Grid and am getting this as well. The only two addons I have that have not been updated are Research Assistant and Research Grid. I'm not sure if it's "fixed" by disabling them (since it does work with them enabled sometimes) or if it's just the matter of reloading the UI that resets it for awhile.
  Reply With Quote
03/05/17, 10:09 AM   #6
Rhyono
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 659
Originally Posted by heaven13 View Post
I have that have not been updated are Research Assistant and Research Grid.
I'd say with near certainty that it is Research Assistant. Addons that make modifications to the bag items are the ones that typically result in "UseItem" issues because there's where you tend to use items from. Particularly, using modified items should cause the issue.
  Reply With Quote
03/05/17, 02:29 PM   #7
Baertram
Super Moderator
 
Baertram's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4,962
I'm using Research Assistant and it is not cuasing any errors for me since weeks.
The problem is any addon that overwrites a standard function and ResearchAssistant doesn't do this afaik.
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » AddOns » AddOn Help/Support » 2.7 LUA Error

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off