Quantcast Custom Localizations - ESOUI
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
11/19/15, 09:41 AM   #1
ZOS_ChipHilseberg
ZOS Staff!
Premium Member
Yes this person is from ZeniMax!
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 466
Custom Localizations

Over the past few weeks we have implemented a secure system to supply custom localizations for ESO. Here are the steps for setting up a custom localization:
  1. Choose a prefix for your language. Any two letter string is valid, but we would recommend sticking to the official language codes.
  2. In the addons folder make an “EsoUI” folder, and then a “lang” folder inside of that.
  3. Inside the “lang” folder make <prefix>_pregame.str and <prefix>_client.str files. These files will contain UTF-8 encoded text.
  4. Fill out the .str files with lines of the form: [<stringId>] = “text”. For example: [SI_ACCOUNT_NAME] = “Translated Account Name”.
  5. In the addons folder make a “gamedata” folder, and then a “lang” folder inside of that.
  6. Inside the “lang” folder place a translated <prefix>.lang file.
  7. Set the game language to your new prefix and the game will load your localization files.
The goal is to get this into the next patch right now. Please leave any questions or feedback here.
  Reply With Quote
11/19/15, 09:42 AM   #2
ZOS_ChipHilseberg
ZOS Staff!
Premium Member
Yes this person is from ZeniMax!
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 466
The changes from the last post are it no longer only supports a specific set of custom languages, and it now supports pregame.
  Reply With Quote
11/19/15, 10:11 AM   #3
sirinsidiator
 
sirinsidiator's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 974
This sounds great and I have two questions.
Does this affect the variable expansion of $(language) in the addon metafile in any way?
And will GetCVar("language.2") return the custom language code as it has in the past?
__________________
>siri.exe MyAddon
Does your addon work? [y/n] n
There is a typo in there.
  Reply With Quote
11/19/15, 10:21 AM   #4
ZOS_ChipHilseberg
ZOS Staff!
Premium Member
Yes this person is from ZeniMax!
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 466
Yes to both. We are loading $(language)_pregame.str and $(language)_client.str.
  Reply With Quote
11/19/15, 02:48 PM   #5
TERAB1T
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 28
In Russian localization we use custom fonts (because ESO doesn't support cyrillic charset). How can we replace default fonts with our custom fonts in pregame, loadscreens, Crown Store and other places that don't support public API?
  Reply With Quote
11/19/15, 04:57 PM   #6
ZOS_ChipHilseberg
ZOS Staff!
Premium Member
Yes this person is from ZeniMax!
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 466
Hmm, that's a stickier problem. I'll have to give some thought to it.
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » Developer Discussions » General Authoring Discussion » Custom Localizations

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off