Thread Tools Display Modes
04/16/18, 02:35 PM   #1
sirinsidiator
 
sirinsidiator's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,578
Update 4.0

The next version just hit the PTS, so here is an update thread for that.

New API Version: 100023

PTS Dev Guild
We always create a guild for all addon developers on the PTS, so we can test guild related things and more, ask for help with testing or just chat.
If you need an invite, ask here or over on our Gitter channel.

Links

I'll edit the OP with more useful information as you post it.

Last edited by sirinsidiator : 05/21/18 at 03:21 PM.
  Reply With Quote
04/16/18, 08:10 PM   #2
Rhyono
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 659
Welkynar and Dremora are unfinished motifs. I wonder if Pyandonean is intentionally crown store only.
  Reply With Quote
04/17/18, 08:26 AM   #3
ZOS_ChipHilseberg
ZOS Staff!
Premium Member
Yes this person is from ZeniMax!
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 551
Most of you should already have Summerset access from the Morrowind PTS, but if any active addon author needs it they can message me.
  Reply With Quote
04/17/18, 11:31 AM   #4
Rhyono
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 659
I was given Morrowind access, but maybe I'm doing it wrong for Summerset? When clicking the wayshrine it tells me to upgrade.
  Reply With Quote
04/18/18, 09:07 AM   #5
ZOS_ChipHilseberg
ZOS Staff!
Premium Member
Yes this person is from ZeniMax!
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 551
Originally Posted by Rhyono View Post
I was given Morrowind access, but maybe I'm doing it wrong for Summerset? When clicking the wayshrine it tells me to upgrade.
There were some issues with access flags initially. Can you get in today?
  Reply With Quote
04/18/18, 12:39 PM   #6
ZOS_ChipHilseberg
ZOS Staff!
Premium Member
Yes this person is from ZeniMax!
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 551
Here's the UI documentation.
Attached Files
File Type: txt ESOUIDocumentationP18 2.txt (632.4 KB, 1421 views)
  Reply With Quote
04/18/18, 02:27 PM   #7
Weolo
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 79
Thanks for the file
  Reply With Quote
04/19/18, 09:01 AM   #8
Uesp
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 15
What's going on with the skills/ability data? Previously when you used the function GetSpecificSkillAbilityInfo() for an active/ultimate ability you would get 12 different ability IDs for all the morph/rank choices. Now, however, it seems it only returns 3 different ability IDs (one for each morph) and the same abilities for all 4 ranks of each morph. Further, it seems the previous rank 2-4 abilities no longer exist and some rank 1 abilities have new IDs.

I was hoping to find some new skill related functions in the API but I can't seem to find any. Is this an on-purpose change in the skill API or is there something buggy going on the current PTS?


This seems to affect a bunch of skill API functions (only checked a few):
  • GetSpecificSkillAbilityInfo() -- Only returns the same ability for all ranks of a morph.
  • GetAbilityProgressionAbilityId() -- Returns the same ability ID regardless of rank.
  • GetAbilityProgressionXPInfoFromAbilityId() -- Doesn't return the correct morph.
  • GetSpecificSkillAbilityKeysByAbilityId() -- Returns the correct morph but the incorrect rank (always 2).
  Reply With Quote
04/20/18, 08:00 AM   #9
ZOS_ChipHilseberg
ZOS Staff!
Premium Member
Yes this person is from ZeniMax!
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 551
Originally Posted by Uesp View Post
What's going on with the skills/ability data? Previously when you used the function GetSpecificSkillAbilityInfo() for an active/ultimate ability you would get 12 different ability IDs for all the morph/rank choices. Now, however, it seems it only returns 3 different ability IDs (one for each morph) and the same abilities for all 4 ranks of each morph. Further, it seems the previous rank 2-4 abilities no longer exist and some rank 1 abilities have new IDs.

I was hoping to find some new skill related functions in the API but I can't seem to find any. Is this an on-purpose change in the skill API or is there something buggy going on the current PTS?


This seems to affect a bunch of skill API functions (only checked a few):
  • GetSpecificSkillAbilityInfo() -- Only returns the same ability for all ranks of a morph.
  • GetAbilityProgressionAbilityId() -- Returns the same ability ID regardless of rank.
  • GetAbilityProgressionXPInfoFromAbilityId() -- Doesn't return the correct morph.
  • GetSpecificSkillAbilityKeysByAbilityId() -- Returns the correct morph but the incorrect rank (always 2).
The active skills were changed into single abilities with scaling behavior based on rank. This was to help with updating and maintaining these skills. I'll need to think about what it would mean to target specific ranks of these through APIs. I think it might mean adding rank parameters to a lot of the ability APIs. Which APIs are you using?
  Reply With Quote
04/20/18, 11:06 AM   #10
Uesp
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 15
Originally Posted by ZOS_ChipHilseberg View Post
The active skills were changed into single abilities with scaling behavior based on rank. This was to help with updating and maintaining these skills. I'll need to think about what it would mean to target specific ranks of these through APIs. I think it might mean adding rank parameters to a lot of the ability APIs. Which APIs are you using?
Yah, that's what I assumed was going on. It makes sense as it reduces the number of active skills you have to maintain by a factor x4.

As for adding the skill rank to API functions, it would be any of the GetAbility....() where the value might change between ranks. A few ones I can think of would include:
  • GetAbilityDescription()
  • GetAbilityCost()
  • GetAbilityDuration()
  • GetAbilityCastInfo()
  • GetAbilityRange()
  • GetAbilityRadius()

Unsure if those last few ever change for different ranks. At the very least the description which would let us mine the skill coefficients for all 4 ranks.

I would assume you were thinking of changing the API to something like:
Code:
GetAbilityDescription( *integer* abilityId, *integer:nilable* _rankIndex_)
Returns: *string* _description_
or you could do:
Code:
GetAbilityDescription( *integer* abilityId)
Returns: *string* _desc1_, *string:nilable* _desc2_, *string:nilable* _desc3_, *string:nilable* _desc4_
I assume that at the moment the GetAbilityDescription(abilityId) and similar functions return values for the current rank of the character correct?

Last edited by Uesp : 04/20/18 at 11:08 AM.
  Reply With Quote
04/20/18, 07:43 PM   #11
ArtOfShred
 
ArtOfShred's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 103
Originally Posted by ZOS_ChipHilseberg View Post
The active skills were changed into single abilities with scaling behavior based on rank. This was to help with updating and maintaining these skills. I'll need to think about what it would mean to target specific ranks of these through APIs. I think it might mean adding rank parameters to a lot of the ability APIs. Which APIs are you using?
This is actually super helpful for me. Makes it way less difficult to do things like custom auras for ground abilities. Although - a method to pull the duration differences between ranks when relevant might be helpful in certain cases.

Also, Chip, would you be able to pass a suggestion along to the development team? Currently there's an inconsistency between ability names for "Off Balance" and "Off-Balance." Might be a good idea to do a pass on it and normalize it in all ability's as well as tooltips (I think tooltips might all say "Off Balance" now but I haven't check every single one). Thanks!

Last edited by ArtOfShred : 04/21/18 at 06:07 AM.
  Reply With Quote
04/21/18, 05:23 AM   #12
Letho
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 238
Originally Posted by ZOS_ChipHilseberg View Post
The active skills were changed into single abilities with scaling behavior based on rank. This was to help with updating and maintaining these skills. I'll need to think about what it would mean to target specific ranks of these through APIs. I think it might mean adding rank parameters to a lot of the ability APIs. Which APIs are you using?
This is the best change that has ever been made since I was coding addons, awesome! It will make addon development so much easier for me. There is just one little grain of salt left: Can you add a field or a function that contains info wether the ability is a 'player owned' ability and additonally the base morph, morph a, morph b relations (e.g. 30244 being morph b, it should contain some info on which ability id is morph a and the base morph).
  Reply With Quote
04/21/18, 06:07 AM   #13
ArtOfShred
 
ArtOfShred's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 103
Originally Posted by Letho View Post
This is the best change that has ever been made since I was coding addons, awesome! It will make addon development so much easier for me. There is just one little grain of salt left: Can you add a field or a function that contains info wether the ability is a 'player owned' ability and additonally the base morph, morph a, morph b relations (e.g. 30244 being morph b, it should contain some info on which ability id is morph a and the base morph).
Morphs still have a different ID I believe. Just rank 1-4 for each were compressed into single id's.
  Reply With Quote
04/21/18, 07:01 AM   #14
Letho
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 238
Originally Posted by ArtOfShred View Post
Morphs still have a different ID I believe. Just rank 1-4 for each were compressed into single id's.
Yep, I understood that, makes sense since there are boss abilities, that do not have morphs ^^

What I meant is, that I'd like to have a field that allows me to link a specific abilityId to it's (base)-morph(s) IF it is morphable (= player owned?).
  Reply With Quote
04/23/18, 04:03 AM   #15
g4rr3t
 
g4rr3t's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 5
The unification of ability IDs is certainly useful for my application. Makes things much more streamlined only having to register callbacks or monitoring for a quarter of the number of IDs, but I can see how it may introduce a little more work for those who use the unique ranks in more meaningful ways. I'm a fan.

Can confirm that stack IDs (à la Grim Focus) also maintain the Rank I IDs. Haven't tested all ranks for any "gotchas" but at least all the ones I've tested have stacked against the Rank I ID.

Cheers.
G
  Reply With Quote
04/23/18, 08:16 AM   #16
ZOS_ChipHilseberg
ZOS Staff!
Premium Member
Yes this person is from ZeniMax!
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 551
You can use GetSpecificSkillAbilityInfo to link up the morphs.
  Reply With Quote
04/26/18, 12:55 AM   #17
Letho
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 238
Originally Posted by ZOS_ChipHilseberg View Post
You can use GetSpecificSkillAbilityInfo to link up the morphs.
I see, thanks! As you said, all player ability ranks have been merged. How about boss abilities? There were some encounters (especially light guy and shadow dude [don't remember their names right now] in vMoL) where some buffs of the same type and name are given to different players using different abilityIDs. Have those use cases' ability ids been merged, too?
  Reply With Quote
04/24/18, 10:31 AM   #18
Gandalf
 
Gandalf's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 28
Post

On PTS the handling of buffs(effects) has changed.
The effent EVENT_EFFECT_CHANGED and ESO client BUFF&DEBUFF option don't show:

- RAPID_MANEUVER_ABILITY
- RETREATING_MANEUVER_ABILITY
- CHARGING_MANEUVER_ABILITY

anymore, instead the resulting buffs

- MAJOR_GALLOP
- MAJOR_EVASION

will be shown.

Is the this change on purpose and permanent?
  Reply With Quote
04/25/18, 03:55 PM   #19
ZOS_ChipHilseberg
ZOS Staff!
Premium Member
Yes this person is from ZeniMax!
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 551
Originally Posted by Gandalf View Post
On PTS the handling of buffs(effects) has changed.
The effent EVENT_EFFECT_CHANGED and ESO client BUFF&DEBUFF option don't show:

- RAPID_MANEUVER_ABILITY
- RETREATING_MANEUVER_ABILITY
- CHARGING_MANEUVER_ABILITY

anymore, instead the resulting buffs

- MAJOR_GALLOP
- MAJOR_EVASION

will be shown.

Is the this change on purpose and permanent?
Yes, these were unified into specific buff types.
  Reply With Quote
04/30/18, 01:17 PM   #20
sirinsidiator
 
sirinsidiator's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,578
I tried to update Circonian's LibNotifications and noticed that NOTIFICATION_TYPE_GIFT is not defined, but is used in notifications_gamepad.lua and notifications_keyboard.lua. Not sure why it doesn't throw a lua error there, but when I copy the table into LibNotifications, it does exactly that:
Code:
user:/AddOns/LibNotification/LibNotification/LibNotification.lua:25: table index is nil
stack traceback:
    user:/AddOns/LibNotification/LibNotification/LibNotification.lua:25: in function '(main chunk)'
@Chip is this entry unused and should be removed, or is the constant just missing? And could you please make these tables global? The lib breaks on almost every update because it relies on the data in these two files.
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » Developer Discussions » Tutorials & Other Helpful Info » Update 4.0

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off