Quantcast Hide Specific Notification - ESOUI
Thread Tools Display Modes
02/12/17, 05:57 PM   #1
Tierney11290
 
Tierney11290's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 250
Hide Specific Notification

With the new update, ZOS has changed something that makes a notification appear (shown below) when emotes cannot be performed at a certain time such as when the player is mounted, in the Crown Crate menu, or House editing.

Does anyone know what this element is actually called or how to hide it with that specific string? I searched the forums here, any databases we have, and even the zgoo interface, and all I can find is that it is Alert Text Notification. Thanks in advance!

EDIT: This post pertains to my addon Idle Animations, which performs specified emotes while the player isn't moving.


Last edited by Tierney11290 : 02/12/17 at 05:59 PM.
  Reply With Quote
02/12/17, 06:12 PM   #2
Randactyl
 
Randactyl's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 253
You could find the string id and then use safe update string to change it to ""
__________________
Randactyl | NA Megaserver | Blood for the Pact! | Sun's Death, Chrysamere Pact

My Addons
Beta Addons
Check out my GitHub repos to follow my latest changes and see some addons before they are released.
  Reply With Quote
02/12/17, 08:20 PM   #3
Ayantir
 
Ayantir's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 885
Just ask in no thank you addon..

You could find the string id and then use safe update string to change it to ""
tss no. so ugly. what about sound and other things?..
__________________
Obsessive Compulsive Coder

My little french Guild: Cercle de l'Eveil
  Reply With Quote
02/12/17, 08:35 PM   #4
Rhyono
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 236
Originally Posted by Ayantir View Post
Just ask in no thank you addon..
I'd settle for NTY being fixed for handling the new group check. :P
  Reply With Quote
02/12/17, 08:35 PM   #5
Randactyl
 
Randactyl's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 253
Originally Posted by Ayantir View Post
Just ask in no thank you addon..

tss no. so ugly. what about sound and other things?..
very true. that's why we brainstorm
__________________
Randactyl | NA Megaserver | Blood for the Pact! | Sun's Death, Chrysamere Pact

My Addons
Beta Addons
Check out my GitHub repos to follow my latest changes and see some addons before they are released.
  Reply With Quote
02/13/17, 09:29 PM   #6
Tierney11290
 
Tierney11290's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 250
Originally Posted by Randactyl View Post
very true. that's why we brainstorm
Actually, this would be a good quick fix. If I recall, there is no sound associated with the notification from what I can tell. While this is a good quick fix, it's not something permanent. I will find something that is a bit more streamlined, but it will work for now. Thanks all!

EDIT: I will of course check out the No, Thank You! addon for a solution as well.
  Reply With Quote
02/13/17, 11:10 PM   #7
Tierney11290
 
Tierney11290's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 250
So I figure now that I am making this possibly more difficult than it needs to be.

I was thinking about unregistering the function from the event "EVENT_MOUNTED_STATE_CHANGED ". Unfortunately, this only defines when the player either mounts or unmounts, not whether they are mounted or not. Is there a solution that anyone can think of to do it in this manner? I feel as thought this would be much simpler and less messy, but not sure if it's possible.
  Reply With Quote
02/14/17, 09:34 AM   #8
Sounomi
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 37
The function IsMounted() will tell you if the player is mounted or not. It is true though that if it can be helped, its much better to prevent the error from occurring instead of just suppressing it.


Originally Posted by Rhyono View Post
I'd settle for NTY being fixed for handling the new group check. :P
The issue lies in LibNotification. It wasn't updated (again) to support the new notification type. All the author has to do is update the constant variables that locally defined in ZOS's code in the lib code and everything will be peachy keen fine. I wound up making a fixed version of it for some guildies. So just install that if you don't wait for an official update to it.
  Reply With Quote
02/14/17, 11:19 AM   #9
sirinsidiator
 
sirinsidiator's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 891
Originally Posted by Sounomi View Post
The issue lies in LibNotification. It wasn't updated (again) to support the new notification type. All the author has to do is update the constant variables that locally defined in ZOS's code in the lib code and everything will be peachy keen fine. I wound up making a fixed version of it for some guildies. So just install that if you don't wait for an official update to it.
Sorry about that. I didn't have enough time for most of my addons this update. I just published a new version of the lib.
__________________
>siri.exe MyAddon
Does your addon work? [y/n] n
There is a typo in there.
  Reply With Quote
02/14/17, 08:49 PM   #10
Tierney11290
 
Tierney11290's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 250
Originally Posted by Sounomi View Post
The function IsMounted() will tell you if the player is mounted or not. It is true though that if it can be helped, its much better to prevent the error from occurring instead of just suppressing it.



The issue lies in LibNotification. It wasn't updated (again) to support the new notification type. All the author has to do is update the constant variables that locally defined in ZOS's code in the lib code and everything will be peachy keen fine. I wound up making a fixed version of it for some guildies. So just install that if you don't wait for an official update to it.
I did a ctrl+F for "mount" in the function section in the wiki and didn't find that. Guess I suck at ctrl+F. Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
02/14/17, 11:54 PM   #11
Tierney11290
 
Tierney11290's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 250
Easy peasy. IsMounted() worked with no issue. Thanks @Sounomi!
  Reply With Quote
02/15/17, 03:55 AM   #12
Baertram
 
Baertram's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,163
This is the link to the last posted ESOUI Documentation txt file that ZOS_ChipHilseberg posted for us:
http://www.esoui.com/forums/attachme...0&d=1485213982

Post:
http://www.esoui.com/forums/showpost...4&postcount=64

You can find the last posted files in the "Update threads", last active one:
http://www.esoui.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6711
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » Developer Discussions » Lua/XML Help » Hide Specific Notification

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off