Quantcast 2.7 Update - Page 6 - ESOUI
Thread Tools Display Modes
02/11/17, 11:21 AM   #101
manavortex
 
manavortex's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 85
Go to non-primary residence?

Hey there,
I've wondered whether there's a way to travel to a player's non-primary residence.
My use case, as always:
My husband and I have two couples in RP, one house is on his account, one on mine. However, due to the fact that I'm GM, I'm also hosting our guild residence, which is for that reason the primary residence.
This is resulting in my husband not being able to get to the house his character shares with mine unless I am there first for him to travel on me.

Is there a way, or if not, could you implement one, Chip? I'd love to have either a secondary residence, or just

JumpToHouse(string displayName, string ownerDisplayName)
Thanks! awesome work!
  Reply With Quote
02/11/17, 11:49 AM   #102
Agathorn
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 7
So I don't know if this is a bug or just a bad decision on how to categorize data, but..

I am the author of SmarterAutoLoot which allows you to auto loot with defined filters, so you only get items you want rather than filling your bag with everything. For Homestead I am trying to update my AddOn to allow filtering furniture crafting materials.

At first I assumed that either 1) They would simply fall under the existing ITEMTYPE filters for the appropriate craft skills such as Blacksmith or Woodworker, or 2) There would be a new ITEMTYPE for them.

Truth is neither, they are actually marked as ITEMTYPE_INGREDIENT which is the same ITEMTYPE used for cooking ingredients and spices. I found this very annoying as one of the main reasons I even wrote SmarterAutoLoot in the first place was to let me filter out ingredients!

So I kept digging trying to find a way to differentiate these from cooking ingredients. I stumbled across a function GetItemLinkRecipeCraftingSkillType(link) which sounded like my savior. If I can check that and it returns that the ingredient is actually used for say Woodworking then I can probably safely assume it is for furniture crafting.

But in my tests so far, these all return CRAFTING_TYPE_INVALID!

EDIT: Hmm... I think the bug might be on my side. Even normal ingredients for cooking are showing as CRAFTING_TYPE_INVALID.

I am getting it this way:
Code:
local lootId,name,icon,quantity,quality,value,isQuest, isStolen = GetLootItemInfo(i)
local link = GetLootItemLink(lootId)
local tradeskill = GetItemLinkRecipeCraftingSkillType(link)

Last edited by Agathorn : 02/11/17 at 12:04 PM.
  Reply With Quote
02/11/17, 12:27 PM   #103
Rhyono
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 327
Here's why they are all prov ingredients:
Originally Posted by Sounomi View Post
They made them all provisioning ingredients because the alchemy and enchanting ones weren't displaying the tooltips properly, so I guess they went with the easy route.
As for why your code isn't working: not sure. Based on the API (and me not being home to test it): it looks like it should be straightforward.
  Reply With Quote
02/11/17, 04:07 PM   #104
Agathorn
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 7
Originally Posted by Rhyono View Post
Here's why they are all prov ingredients:


As for why your code isn't working: not sure. Based on the API (and me not being home to test it): it looks like it should be straightforward.
Yeah I can't find any bug in my code. Every item just returns as CRAFTING_TYPE_INVALID. The only option I can see is maybe it doesn't actually take a link string despite it saying it does? I printed out my link in debug just to verify it, and it is correct.
  Reply With Quote
02/11/17, 04:13 PM   #105
Rhyono
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 327
Wait a minute...I bet that only works on recipes, not ingredients? Unless someone else proposes something clever: There aren't (currently) many things in this special non-category so I would filter them by ID. Check if ingredient, then check if it matches the handful of furnishing ingredient IDs.

Last edited by Rhyono : 02/11/17 at 04:27 PM.
  Reply With Quote
02/11/17, 05:13 PM   #106
Agathorn
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 7
Originally Posted by Rhyono View Post
Wait a minute...I bet that only works on recipes, not ingredients? Unless someone else proposes something clever: There aren't (currently) many things in this special non-category so I would filter them by ID. Check if ingredient, then check if it matches the handful of furnishing ingredient IDs.
Yeah there is a facepalm moment. Did I see one that worked for ingredients and just get my wires crossed? Have to look again.

Are their not tiers for these furniture materials? If they are all the same then yeah that might be easy.
  Reply With Quote
02/11/17, 05:20 PM   #107
Rhyono
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 327
So far, there's just one for each skill. Mundane rune is the only enchanting one I'm aware of, for example.
  Reply With Quote
02/11/17, 11:38 PM   #108
Rhyono
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 327
A low level pretended to be tank to get into a dungeon (after he got into the dungeon, he removed the role). This is nonsense so I left the group. I had the customary penalty time and once it expired (a little extra time passed before I actually checked), I had this message:

.

That is absurd and excessive punishment.

Another queue issue: complete a dungeon, "activity complete." Good. Now queue again, it'll find people, form group and...nope, no one gets teled to dungeon. You have to do it manually.

Another queue issue: after getting in (while standing in an overland area), it decided we weren't in the correct instance, kicked us from the dungeon and then did not move us into a new one.

Last edited by Rhyono : 02/13/17 at 09:28 PM.
  Reply With Quote
02/14/17, 09:43 AM   #109
Sounomi
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 42
To assist with the need for a secure PostHook function and the continued lack of an official one, I figured out a bit of a hack to pull it off.

Code:
function SecurePostHook(object, funcName, hookFunc)
	local function Hook(...)
		local args = {...}
		zo_callLater(function() hookFunc(unpack(args)) end, 10)
	end
	
	ZO_PreHook(object, funcName, Hook)
end
This uses the existing ZO_PreHook function and injects a zo_callLater to call the code you want to be executed after the hooked function 10 ms later. From my testing, just about any function you'd want to hook into would be done by that point and its still short enough of a time that the user won't notice. I've tested it fairly extensively with a personal add-on of mine that hooks into the inventory lists with it and haven't run into any problems with it thus far.
  Reply With Quote
02/14/17, 10:55 AM   #110
sirinsidiator
 
sirinsidiator's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 971
You don't have to worry about calling it too soon with zo_callLater.
Lua is singlethreaded and there are no interrups, which means the function you call later will always run after the current call stack finished executing.
The only problem I see compared to a real post hook is that you cannot guarantee that no other functions run in the meantime.
__________________
>siri.exe MyAddon
Does your addon work? [y/n] n
There is a typo in there.
  Reply With Quote
02/14/17, 10:04 PM   #111
Rhyono
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 327
Another queue issue: After completing the dungeon, I left the group, was removed from the dungeon. Then I everyone in the group was pulled back into the group and instantly thrown into a new instance of the dungeon. When we left, we received the customary 15 minute penalty for leaving.
  Reply With Quote
02/14/17, 10:58 PM   #112
Ayantir
 
Ayantir's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 983
I've added http://wiki.esoui.com/Houses to the wiki and on its main page.
__________________
Obsessive Compulsive Coder

My little french Guild: Cercle de l'Eveil
  Reply With Quote
02/15/17, 09:09 AM   #113
ZOS_ChipHilseberg
ZOS Staff!
Premium Member
Yes this person is from ZeniMax!
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 464
Originally Posted by manavortex View Post
Hey there,
I've wondered whether there's a way to travel to a player's non-primary residence.
My use case, as always:
My husband and I have two couples in RP, one house is on his account, one on mine. However, due to the fact that I'm GM, I'm also hosting our guild residence, which is for that reason the primary residence.
This is resulting in my husband not being able to get to the house his character shares with mine unless I am there first for him to travel on me.

Is there a way, or if not, could you implement one, Chip? I'd love to have either a secondary residence, or just



Thanks! awesome work!
This is doable. We'd like to have some way to expose this as part of the stock UI, but at the very least we can add a new function that takes the player name and the house id.
  Reply With Quote
02/15/17, 10:52 AM   #114
manavortex
 
manavortex's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 85
Originally Posted by ZOS_ChipHilseberg View Post
This is doable. We'd like to have some way to expose this as part of the stock UI, but at the very least we can add a new function that takes the player name and the house id.
I love you.

I suppose that giving another player co-ownership is something that's more difficult? For shared houses and stuff.

Edit: While I am at it - I am finding ON_ACTION_LAYER_PUSHED a little aggressive. I cancel a trade when I switch cursor mode. Any chance of taking care of that, too, while you are at it?

Thanks for all you do.

Last edited by manavortex : 02/15/17 at 04:34 PM.
  Reply With Quote
02/15/17, 01:20 PM   #115
ZOS_ChipHilseberg
ZOS Staff!
Premium Member
Yes this person is from ZeniMax!
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 464
Originally Posted by manavortex View Post
I love you.

I suppose that giving another player co-ownership is something that's more difficult? For shared houses and stuff.
Yes, that would be a substantial system change.
  Reply With Quote
02/15/17, 08:56 PM   #116
Rhyono
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 327
Another queue issue: stuck in "forming group" stage. I can't leave the queue.
  Reply With Quote
02/16/17, 07:17 AM   #117
manavortex
 
manavortex's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 85
Originally Posted by ZOS_ChipHilseberg View Post
Yes, that would be a substantial system change.
Would it be possible to let a decorator retrieve and place items that are not bound? It would make everyone's life easier.
  Reply With Quote
02/19/17, 05:02 PM   #118
Rhyono
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 327
Another queue issue: after getting into a group, it told me the group wasn't viable. It did not remove me from the group and we completed the dungeon without an issue. Instead, it merely kept asking me if I was ready to join the group...the entire dungeon. I had to logoff to resolve it.
  Reply With Quote
02/28/17, 03:27 PM   #119
Dolgubon
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 191
Originally Posted by manavortex View Post
Would it be possible to let a decorator retrieve and place items that are not bound? It would make everyone's life easier.
Or even another level of decorator permissions. That way, there's still a 'safer' option for people to choose.
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » Developer Discussions » Tutorials & Other Helpful Info » 2.7 Update

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off