Thread Tools Display Modes
06/05/17, 11:05 PM   #1
Rhyono
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 659
[fixed] ResearchSmithingTrait

CraftStore has been using it forever, but after Morrowind people have been randomly having issues with it no longer working. I'm finally experiencing this issue myself.

I have the crafting station open.
I need prosperous for light legs and the game confirms this:


In my bank in slot #206, I have


Code:
/script d(GetItemInfo(2,206))


As you can see, it is not locked and (as already mentioned) the vanilla interface can find it.

I was using CS to try to do it and it wasn't working, so I went direct:

Code:
/script ResearchSmithingTrait(2,206)
I do not have ESO+ so we know for sure it is indeed BAG_BANK for me.

...and then nothing happens.

Last edited by Rhyono : 06/05/17 at 11:09 PM.
 
06/06/17, 04:04 PM   #2
ZOS_ChipHilseberg
ZOS Staff!
Premium Member
Yes this person is from ZeniMax!
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 551
Were you interacting with the crafting station when you ran the command?
 
06/06/17, 04:10 PM   #3
Rhyono
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 659
I had it open, but I wasn't doing anything. The way CS has always worked is that when you have a crafting station open, you can click on the + in the CS UI to initiate researching a trait with a single click. It worked for me normally for a different item out of the bank the day before this issue started (well after Morrowind came out). Yet for some items, it fails to execute, like this one.

I still haven't used my third research slot or that item. I'm not sure if you'd want to clone my character for a testing environment.

Last edited by Rhyono : 06/06/17 at 04:24 PM.
 
06/06/17, 08:26 PM   #4
Rhyono
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 659
I just started researching a sword from my bank and it worked flawlessly. Yet those breeches don't work.
 
06/07/17, 07:51 AM   #5
ZOS_ChipHilseberg
ZOS Staff!
Premium Member
Yes this person is from ZeniMax!
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 551
Is it only the pants that don't work? Do they work out of your inventory instead?
 
06/07/17, 09:10 AM   #6
Rhyono
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 659
Other banked clothing items have also not worked for me and banked items have been an issue for others. I haven't tried from my inventory since no one has reported any issues with researching from there.
 
06/08/17, 08:59 PM   #7
Rhyono
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 659


So today I decided I'd just research it through the vanilla interface because I'm missing out on these sick trait gainz. Well...THAT'S BROKEN TOO!

I didn't realize you guys use that function in the vanilla UI rather than something with different permissions. So yeah, I can not research these breeches in my bank by direct function call or vanilla UI.
 
06/10/17, 05:53 PM   #8
Rhyono
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 659
Today I tried researching them from my inventory: doesn't work either. Rather than it being a bank/specific item issue, I can no longer use my third clothier slot, it seems.

 
06/12/17, 11:15 PM   #9
votan
 
votan's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 577
I had a similar problem:
- You have two items with the same trait
- One is locked with build-in lock and one is not
- Both are not available for research.
In my case nirnhorned light shoes.

Unlocking the one item, both get listed for research. And can be researched.
 
06/13/17, 09:13 AM   #10
Rhyono
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 659
I'll check for that possibility tonight. Chip had said the lock issue was fixed internally, but I'm pretty sure I was still having this one more recently: http://www.esoui.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6912
 
06/13/17, 09:44 AM   #11
ZOS_ChipHilseberg
ZOS Staff!
Premium Member
Yes this person is from ZeniMax!
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 551
Originally Posted by votan View Post
I had a similar problem:
- You have two items with the same trait
- One is locked with build-in lock and one is not
- Both are not available for research.
In my case nirnhorned light shoes.

Unlocking the one item, both get listed for research. And can be researched.
This repro should be fixed in the next patch along with a number of improvements to locking and the crafting UIs.
 
06/13/17, 06:27 PM   #12
Rhyono
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 659
Nope. I do not have any other prosperous breeches. I can not research any of the other clothier items I've tried either, which makes me believe it is that my third slot is not working properly.
 
06/18/17, 06:51 PM   #13
Rhyono
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 659
Now that I can prove it: my third slot is busted. Those same breeches that haven't worked, worked the moment I researched them as my second slot, but now I can't put anything in my third (still).

All slots still work on Blacksmithing.

Last edited by Rhyono : 06/18/17 at 07:22 PM.
 
06/19/17, 06:40 PM   #14
Rhyono
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 659
If today's patch was supposed to do anything for me, it did not. Still have a broken 3rd clothing slot.
 
06/20/17, 11:05 AM   #15
ZOS_ChipHilseberg
ZOS Staff!
Premium Member
Yes this person is from ZeniMax!
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 551
Originally Posted by Rhyono View Post
If today's patch was supposed to do anything for me, it did not. Still have a broken 3rd clothing slot.
Can you post a video of the bug? We haven't been able to reproduce it.
 
06/20/17, 06:17 PM   #16
Rhyono
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 659
Here's an mp4 of it. At the end when the box closes, it's because I used E. Clicking it doesn't change anything. All addons were disabled as well. https://ufile.io/i117c
 
06/21/17, 09:20 AM   #17
ZOS_ChipHilseberg
ZOS Staff!
Premium Member
Yes this person is from ZeniMax!
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 551
Thanks for the video. I don't see any error message in the top right which is strange because any server error should be messaged there. So I can only guess the client is preventing or not sending the research request. I added a bunch of error output to the ResearchSmithingTrait API. Once that goes live you can try again and see if there is a specific error.

Last edited by ZOS_ChipHilseberg : 06/21/17 at 09:28 AM.
 
06/22/17, 06:17 PM   #18
Rhyono
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 659
When I had two researching, I couldn't research a third. Then one finished, I researched a second and then I researched a third. So as far as I can tell, I can research properly again.
 

ESOUI » Developer Discussions » Bug Reports » [fixed] ResearchSmithingTrait

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off