Quantcast Minion doesn't start - ESOUI
Thread Tools Display Modes
05/08/17, 02:23 AM   #1
essi2
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 7
Exclamation Minion doesn't start

Hello,

Minion does not startup anymore after updating to Win10 Creators.

I've tried running as admin and reinstalling just throws up an elevation error.
It runs/seems to run on Win startup, but disappears when I interact with it.

I also don't think this is a path issue.

F:\Applications\Minion

EDIT:

New path: C:\Users\EspenHansen\AppData\Local\Minion

Last edited by essi2 : 05/11/17 at 01:26 AM. Reason: New application PATH
  Reply With Quote
05/08/17, 07:26 AM   #2
Baertram
 
Baertram's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,214
If you updated to Windows 10:
Did you try to remvoe the old minion.xml file to reset the settings (before Minion starts)?
Did you search the forum for Minion and Windows 10 ("OneDrive" problem)?
  Reply With Quote
05/08/17, 07:41 AM   #3
essi2
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 7
Deleting minion.xml changes nothing, it doesn't even get far enough to recreate the .xml

Default save location is set to LocalDocs, so OneDrive shouldn't be an issue.
  Reply With Quote
05/10/17, 12:15 PM   #4
essi2
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 7
I have removed every trace of Minion from my PC and reinstalled, and the application still refuses to run.
  Reply With Quote
05/10/17, 01:26 PM   #5
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,098
I'm running it myself on latest version of win10 (Creators)

So you're able to install it but when you start to run it the main window never shows?

Are you running any security programs that might be preventing the application from launching?

Can you open a cmd and do the following:

java -jar C:\Users\EspenHansen\AppData\Local\Minion\app\Minion-jfx.jar

paste any errors here...
  Reply With Quote
05/10/17, 02:40 PM   #6
essi2
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 7
Minion log

https://1drv.ms/f/s!Ao5bmv6vBg78gtou0AXStupfufGV_g


Minion seems to run fine when started via cmd, starting using the shortcut or exe still doesn't work.


The only active security I have is MSSE(or whatever they are calling it now)

Last edited by essi2 : 05/12/17 at 01:37 AM. Reason: Added hs_err_pid logs and replaced file link with a folder link
  Reply With Quote
05/10/17, 09:33 PM   #7
BIZZnice
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 6
I am new to installing minion, but I recently had these updates to Windows 10 as well.

Minion seems to be installing fine, when I try to launch it though after install nothing happens, if I find the app in the start menu to launch it nothing happens. I can't seem to launch at all after install.

I don't believe I have any anti-virus installed so that shouldn't be blocking this.
  Reply With Quote
05/10/17, 09:47 PM   #8
BIZZnice
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 6
I have attached some error files that I found in the app folder, I've installed and uninstalled several times so I just don't know if these are multiple occurrences

Edit- just found my local/app data folder and I have 8 more of these error files

the 2564 is my latest error log, this log is giving us the exact spot in the memory that is causing the issue but I'm not sure how to fix it, do I need to install an older version of Java?
Attached Files
File Type: log hs_err_pid2564.log (25.5 KB, 16 views)
File Type: log hs_err_pid12460.log (25.4 KB, 8 views)
File Type: log hs_err_pid3348.log (25.4 KB, 9 views)
File Type: log hs_err_pid12896.log (25.5 KB, 9 views)

Last edited by BIZZnice : 05/10/17 at 10:16 PM.
  Reply With Quote
05/11/17, 02:48 PM   #9
BIZZnice
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 6
Any updates? still can't get this to work however I am able to download it on my other laptop so now I am trying to share the files across my network
  Reply With Quote
05/11/17, 08:20 PM   #10
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,098
BIZZnice, your problem although on the surface may have the same result of the client not loading after win10 being upgraded I believe your problem is different than OP's and would be best served in its own thread. I've been waiting to hear back from essi2 on the information I requested. Running the minion jar from command line may give more insight on his problem.

Your problem I'm not 100% sure, its the first time I've seen that issue. Although your OS is 64bit can you try uninstalling Minion and download the 32bit client and see if it runs? The logs you posted hint at some issue with 64bit.
  Reply With Quote
05/11/17, 08:36 PM   #11
BIZZnice
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 6
Okay, haven't thought of that, I will give it a try.

I will create a separate thread as well. my update will be with the 32 bit app.

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
05/11/17, 08:40 PM   #12
BIZZnice
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 6
Hahahahaha!! Thanks Dolby great suggestion, it worked in one try! I've wasted a whole day installing ESO and Minion on my laptop when I just needed to try the 32 bit version....

very good suggestion, thanks for the help!
  Reply With Quote
05/12/17, 01:44 AM   #13
essi2
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 7
I've updated my post with hs_err_pid logs.

Beyond this and what I have already posted I'm not sure I can be of much help, unless you have further instructions.


I might also add just for clarity, the minion main window never shows up as you guessed, but also Minion never shows in processes or in the tray either, when run from the shortcut or exe.
  Reply With Quote
05/26/17, 10:06 PM   #14
essi2
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 7
Installed Minion 32-bit, launches as it should from shortcuts.
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » Site Forums » Minion » Minion doesn't start

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off