Thread Tools Display Modes
08/11/16, 03:06 AM   #1
decklar
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 5
Minion unable to start (macOS)

Hi There,

I'm having to force close Minion after start up. The icon appears in the dock but the window never appears. The app goes unresponsive about 15 seconds after launching.

I am using latest beta version of El Capitan (10.11.6). I cannot recall if Minion was working before or after upgrading from 10.11.5 to 10.11.6. I haven't played in a while.

minion.xml

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
<minion>
<config-version>2</config-version>
<version>3.0.0</version>
<build>478c77c3480e29b83f348ffcd13ad6cdb33073a6</build>
<libs-build>b63f4538ee74377f336d4f636ad7da84f9b5ab53</libs-build>
<client>
        <concurrent-updates>2</concurrent-updates>
        <game-scan-depth>4</game-scan-depth>
    </client>
<user>
<ga-user-id>aabdae2d-5386-492f-af1d-2aeaa8ced6a2</ga-user-id>
</user>
</minion>
minion0.log
Aug 11, 2016 9:54:25 AM gg.minion.Minion logSystemInformation
INFO: os.name=Mac OS X
Aug 11, 2016 9:54:25 AM gg.minion.Minion logSystemInformation
INFO: os.version=10.11.6
Aug 11, 2016 9:54:25 AM gg.minion.Minion logSystemInformation
INFO: os.arch=x86_64
Aug 11, 2016 9:54:25 AM gg.minion.Minion logSystemInformation
INFO: java.runtime.version=1.8.0_92-b14
Aug 11, 2016 9:54:25 AM gg.minion.Minion logSystemInformation
INFO: java.class.path=/Applications/Minion.app/Contents/Java/Minion-jfx.jar:lib/httpclient-4.5.2.jar:lib/httpcore-4.4.4.jar:lib/commons-logging-1.2.jar:lib/commons-codec-1.9.jar:lib/commons-configuration-1.10.jar:lib/commons-lang-2.6.jar:lib/commons-jxpath-1.3.jar:lib/commons-collections-3.2.2.jar:lib/jackson-mapper-asl-1.9.13.jar:lib/jackson-core-asl-1.9.13.jar:lib/junrar-0.7.jar:lib/commons-logging-api-1.1.jar:lib/commons-vfs2-2.0.jar:lib/maven-scm-api-1.4.jar:lib/plexus-utils-1.5.6.jar:lib/maven-scm-provider-svnexe-1.4.jar:lib/maven-scm-provider-svn-commons-1.4.jar:lib/regexp-1.3.jar:lib/kefirbb-1.1.jar:lib/commons-io-2.4.jar:lib/jsr305-3.0.1.jar:lib/junique-1.0.4.jar:lib/jregex-1.2_01.jar:lib/controlsfx-8.40.10.jar:lib/log4j-api-2.5.jar:lib/log4j-core-2.5.jar
Aug 11, 2016 9:54:25 AM gg.minion.Minion logSystemInformation
INFO: java.library.path=/Applications/Minion.app/Contents/Java:/Applications/Minion.app/Contents/MacOS
Aug 11, 2016 9:54:25 AM gg.minion.Minion logSystemInformation
INFO: user.language=en
Aug 11, 2016 9:54:25 AM gg.minion.Minion logSystemInformation
INFO: user.home=/Users/me
Aug 11, 2016 9:54:26 AM gg.minion.controller.MinionController initWindowControls
FINE: Controls initialized.
Aug 11, 2016 9:54:26 AM gg.minion.util.FeedClient checkNetworkConnections
FINE: Starting network check ...
Aug 11, 2016 9:54:26 AM gg.minion.util.FeedClient getRoutePlanner
FINE: System Default Http Proxy.
Aug 11, 2016 9:54:26 AM gg.minion.util.FeedClient$HeadThread run
FINE: Ping Status for http://cdn.mmoui.com/: 200
Aug 11, 2016 9:54:27 AM gg.minion.util.FeedClient$HeadThread run
FINE: Ping Status for http://api.mmoui.com/: 200
Aug 11, 2016 9:55:07 AM gg.minion.MinionShutdownHook run
FINE: Shutdown hook called.
Java version installed: Java 8 Update 101 (Latest as of now)

Troubleshooting methods taken:
  • Reinstall
  • Delete ~/.minion and then reinstall
  • Scrub system of Minion install including ~/.minion then installed freshly downloaded version

Not sure what else to provide to assist, Mac logs don't turn up much (system.log etc).

Lastly, having to update a few plugins manually showed me how valuable your work, the Minion app, is! Great, great work!

Last edited by decklar : 08/11/16 at 03:08 AM. Reason: Privacy
  Reply With Quote
08/11/16, 05:43 PM   #2
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,276
Do you have a minion.log? The minion0.log is for the old version of Minion. I'm running 10.11.6 on a MBP and its running fine here so I don't think its due to 10.11.6. Hopefully you have a minion.log and there is an error to go by.

You could try starting Minion from command line and see if there is an error in your terminal...

Code:
open /Applications/Minion.app
If nothing happens there try loading it from java maybe?

Code:
java -jar /Applications/Minion.app/Contents/Java/Minion-jfx.jar

Last edited by Dolby : 08/11/16 at 05:48 PM.
  Reply With Quote
08/12/16, 05:56 AM   #3
decklar
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 5
Some Progress

Hi Dolby,

Thank for assisting.

I forgot to mention, I rolled back to an old img I had, 3.0.0, for testing. Hence the minion0.log.

Anyways, removed 3.0.0 and reinstalled 3.0.4. Unfortunately when opening via Applications or via terminal produces the same problem and as the app is launched, the execution of the command completes and no error is sent to stdout or stderr.

I get the same result in the log:
INFO 2016-08-12 12:44:52,029 [JavaFX Application Thread] gg.minion.Minion:start(43): Attempting to start Minion...
INFO 2016-08-12 12:44:52,822 [JavaFX Application Thread] gg.minion.Minion:logSystemInformation(127): os.name=Mac OS X
INFO 2016-08-12 12:44:52,823 [JavaFX Application Thread] gg.minion.Minion:logSystemInformation(128): os.version=10.11.6
INFO 2016-08-12 12:44:52,823 [JavaFX Application Thread] gg.minion.Minion:logSystemInformation(129): os.arch=x86_64
INFO 2016-08-12 12:44:52,823 [JavaFX Application Thread] gg.minion.Minion:logSystemInformation(130): java.runtime.version=1.8.0_92-b14
INFO 2016-08-12 12:44:52,823 [JavaFX Application Thread] gg.minion.Minion:logSystemInformation(131): java.class.path=/Applications/Minion.app/Contents/Java/Minion-jfx.jar:lib/httpclient-4.5.2.jar:lib/httpcore-4.4.4.jar:lib/commons-logging-1.2.jar:lib/commons-codec-1.9.jar:lib/commons-configuration-1.10.jar:lib/commons-lang-2.6.jar:lib/commons-jxpath-1.3.jar:lib/commons-collections-3.2.2.jar:lib/jackson-mapper-asl-1.9.13.jar:lib/jackson-core-asl-1.9.13.jar:lib/junrar-0.7.jar:lib/commons-logging-api-1.1.jar:lib/commons-vfs2-2.0.jar:lib/maven-scm-api-1.4.jar:lib/plexus-utils-1.5.6.jar:lib/maven-scm-provider-svnexe-1.4.jar:lib/maven-scm-provider-svn-commons-1.4.jar:lib/regexp-1.3.jar:lib/kefirbb-1.1.jar:lib/commons-io-2.4.jar:lib/jsr305-3.0.1.jar:lib/junique-1.0.4.jar:lib/jregex-1.2_01.jar:lib/controlsfx-8.40.10.jar:lib/log4j-api-2.5.jar:lib/log4j-core-2.5.jar
INFO 2016-08-12 12:44:52,823 [JavaFX Application Thread] gg.minion.Minion:logSystemInformation(132): java.library.path=/Applications/Minion.app/Contents/Java:/Applications/Minion.app/Contents/MacOS
INFO 2016-08-12 12:44:52,823 [JavaFX Application Thread] gg.minion.Minion:logSystemInformation(133): user.language=en
INFO 2016-08-12 12:44:52,823 [JavaFX Application Thread] gg.minion.Minion:logSystemInformation(134): user.home=me (removed for privacy)
DEBUG 2016-08-12 12:44:55,509 [JavaFX Application Thread] gg.minion.controller.MinionController:initWindowControls(504): Controls initialized.
DEBUG 2016-08-12 12:44:55,512 [JavaFX Application Thread] gg.minion.util.FeedClient:checkNetworkConnections(106): Starting network check ...
DEBUG 2016-08-12 12:44:55,513 [JavaFX Application Thread] gg.minion.util.FeedClient:getRoutePlanner(61): System Default Http Proxy.
DEBUG 2016-08-12 12:44:56,169 [Thread-9] gg.minion.util.FeedClient:run(159): Ping Status for http://api.mmoui.com/: 200
DEBUG 2016-08-12 12:44:56,177 [Thread-10] gg.minion.util.FeedClient:run(159): Ping Status for http://cdn.mmoui.com/: 200
DEBUG 2016-08-12 12:46:11,318 [Thread-7] gg.minion.MinionShutdownHook:run(21): Shutdown hook called.
Note: The shutdown hook is called when I force close

Opening via Java however worked. minion.xml populated with correct addons and settings and the GUI launched.

Closed the GUI and reopened via terminal and Applications only to have the same result. Icon appearing in dock, no window, just menu bar until I need to force close it.

My JDK version is 8u102 (This worked when opening without the bundled JVM)
My JRE is 8u102.
  Reply With Quote
08/12/16, 07:57 AM   #4
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,276
It seems to be stopping before getting to creating a new Minion instance. I'm confirming with our java developer but I believe it binds to localhost so Minion can tell if another instance of Minion is running. So if there is something weird in your hosts file it might mess Minion up? It's been so long since I've come across this issue I'm waiting to hear back from our java developer to make sure it still works like this.

Does your /etc/hosts file have the following line?
127.0.0.1 localhost
  Reply With Quote
08/12/16, 08:05 AM   #5
decklar
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 5
Hi Dolby,

Hosts file only contained my added hostname for my dev vm on localhost. I commented it out and only have ipv4 and ipv6 localhost left.

Any verbose debugging parameters I can enable when starting it?

Edit: Running as root or as a newly created user doesn't make a difference.

Last edited by decklar : 08/12/16 at 08:08 AM.
  Reply With Quote
08/12/16, 09:37 AM   #6
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,276
Sorry there isn't a command for more detailed logging at the moment.

When you load Minion from the app icon it loads Minion inside our own JVM with our own version of java. The JVM is loading Minion to a point as we are getting some logging and then something happens. If the JVM was failing outright we wouldn't have anything in the minion.log.

Loading it directly from Java bypasses the Java Virtual Machine and loads Minion natively and for some reason that works for you. So that tells me its something to do with the JVM environment.

Is there something on your osx machine like a security app that maybe doesn't like the version of Java that is included in our JVM and possibly halting things? Do you have any 3rd party security apps installed (not even sure there are any for osx).

Can you think of anything else on your system that might interfere with a virtualized environment?

Sorry I don't have much for you, I've been talking to jwood our java dev and we haven't come up with anything more for you to try at the moment.
  Reply With Quote
08/12/16, 03:13 PM   #7
Corysia
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2
I can confirm Minion is running fine on:

OSX 10.11.6
Minion.app (standalone) 3.0.4

I've had a similar problem the OP describes in the past once or twice, but a system restart has always resolve it. The only other similar situation I had was with high packet loss on my network (>10%)
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » Site Forums » Minion » Minion unable to start (macOS)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off