Thread Tools Display Modes
04/02/14, 03:55 PM   #1
JackyD
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 10
MalformedURLException:unknown protocol: socket

Hi there,

When launching Minion I get the splash screen and then I get following error after a while

Code:
java.net.MalformedURLException: unknown protocol: socket
	at java.net.URL.<init>(URL.java:592)
	at java.net.URL.<init>(URL.java:482)
	at java.net.URL.<init>(URL.java:431)
	at java.net.URI.toURL(URI.java:1096)
	at com.sun.deploy.net.proxy.DeployProxySelector.connectFailed(Unknown Source)
	at java.net.SocksSocketImpl.connect(SocksSocketImpl.java:415)
	at java.net.Socket.connect(Socket.java:579)
	at java.net.Socket.connect(Socket.java:528)
	at sun.net.NetworkClient.doConnect(NetworkClient.java:180)
	at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.openServer(HttpClient.java:432)
	at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.openServer(HttpClient.java:527)
	at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.<init>(HttpClient.java:211)
	at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.New(HttpClient.java:308)
	at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.getNewHttpClient(HttpURLConnection.java:1003)
	at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.plainConnect(HttpURLConnection.java:951)
	at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.connect(HttpURLConnection.java:850)
	at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.getInputStream(HttpURLConnection.java:1300)
	at javafx.scene.text.Font.loadFont(Font.java:367)
	at com.zam.minion.Minion.<clinit>(Minion.java:37)
	at sun.reflect.NativeConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance0(Native Method)
	at sun.reflect.NativeConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance(NativeConstructorAccessorImpl.java:57)
	at sun.reflect.DelegatingConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance(DelegatingConstructorAccessorImpl.java:45)
	at java.lang.reflect.Constructor.newInstance(Constructor.java:526)
	at com.sun.javafx.application.LauncherImpl.launchApplication1(LauncherImpl.java:276)
	at com.sun.javafx.application.LauncherImpl.access$000(LauncherImpl.java:47)
	at com.sun.javafx.application.LauncherImpl$1.run(LauncherImpl.java:115)
	at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:724)
I'm on Windows 8.1 running Java 7U54

If there's any more info I need to supply just go ahead and ask.
  Reply With Quote
04/02/14, 05:10 PM   #2
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,278
Hi JackyD,

Thanks for posting this error. Are you running on a proxy perchance?
  Reply With Quote
04/02/14, 05:25 PM   #3
ElisahDay
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3
Arrow same problem..

..ok the same pop up at me
but im using win 7 / java 7U51 and no proxy..

firefox 28.0 with and without noscript..

windows firewall and Avira Antivir on and off....

allways the pop up..

Last edited by ElisahDay : 04/02/14 at 05:32 PM.
  Reply With Quote
04/03/14, 10:54 AM   #4
JackyD
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 10
No I'm neither on a proxy nor on a VPN.

I ran a couple more tests today: cloned my machine and virtualised it, then I went ahead and disabled all security features and put the VM into a DMZ -> NOK the issue still persists

As I'm getting a Java error I then went ahead and wiped all traces of it from my PC using the MSICUU2.exe. I did this as I had previously installed Java 8.0 64bit as I was thinking that maybe some leftover from it could be causing the issue but still -> NOK

I scoured through Event Viewer but there are no events showing up for the time frame when I tested Minion.

I still might have an image lying around of my system prior to migrating to Windows 8. I will try and run a test on a VM of that one to see if the problem also occurs on Win7, aside from some software updates it is the exact same config as my current setup.

Security Software I'm running:

GData Antivirus
Malwarebytes Pro
Sophos Safeguard Encryption

I do use a VPN but it was disabled when I first got the error, I have since tried with the VPN enabled, even trying to launch the tool while connected to servers from around the globe (US, UK, Germany, Russia, Japan) without success.

Edit: does Minion create logs on either start up or crash to trace issues? If so which files do you need me to provide in order to investigate further?

Something I forgot to add is that I'm running some legacy DotNet features which I need for some of my Job related apps, I'm gonna disable these and will report back in with my findings

Last edited by JackyD : 04/03/14 at 11:05 AM.
  Reply With Quote
04/03/14, 11:05 AM   #5
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,278
Does IE have any proxy settings set? Java by default is set to listen to IE in windows for Network settings. So there are two things we can try here.

1. Make sure IE does not have any proxy settings enabled under Internet Options >> Connection >> LAN. (I attached a picture of my settings).

AND/OR

2. (If Java is installed) Go into the control panel, go to Java, go to Netwotk Settings... under the general tab. Change it to Direct Connection. (I attached a picture of my settings)

Please let me know if any of these options work. Also if you could let me know what it was set to previously so I possibly update minion to check for this and reproduce it on my end.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IE LAN Settings.PNG
Views:	1395
Size:	100.2 KB
ID:	55  Click image for larger version

Name:	Java Network Settings.PNG
Views:	1556
Size:	162.4 KB
ID:	57  

Last edited by Dolby : 04/03/14 at 11:13 AM.
  Reply With Quote
04/03/14, 11:21 AM   #6
JackyD
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 10
No proxy configured in either IE or FF, switching the Java Network settings to Direct Connection didn't change anything.

Java was configured to use browser settings.
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » Site Forums » Minion » MalformedURLException:unknown protocol: socket


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off