Quantcast [open] RefreshAddon(AddonName) - ESOUI
Thread Tools Display Modes
11/26/17, 03:26 AM   #1
manavortex
 
manavortex's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 89
[open] RefreshAddon(AddonName)

Hey there,
since a loading screen that doesn't gobble up chat messages seems to be difficult, could we perhaps have a way to reload a single addOn without reloading the entire UI? Is that even possible?

For clarification: Reloading UI will refresh the entire content of the AddOns-directory, including all subdirectories. What I'd like is to be able to trigger that specific process for just one subfolder in AddOns of my choice.

I'd love to be able to code while I'm chatting. :P

regards and goats,
~mana

Last edited by manavortex : 11/27/17 at 04:10 AM. Reason: clarification
  Reply With Quote
11/26/17, 05:04 AM   #2
Dolgubon
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 204
Maybe some kind of short term chat log which logs a minute of chat even if the UI is off?
  Reply With Quote
11/26/17, 10:04 AM   #3
Rhyono
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 342
I don't care about talking to commoners while I'm coding; I simply don't like waiting so long between reloads. It would certainly speed things up.
  Reply With Quote
11/26/17, 10:27 AM   #4
Baertram
 
Baertram's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,324
I like the fast reloads if I disable nearly all addons, so a possibility to reload only one addon's code would be really great.

But I agree: I'd like to be able to see that chat contents of my guild mates that happend during the reloadui too!
  Reply With Quote
11/27/17, 03:19 AM   #5
Ayantir
 
Ayantir's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 994
What is an addon and what can he do ?

If I reload one of my addon which alter part of the core UI, should it be available while reload ui?
If I reload my chat addon which alter the chat, should the chat be available while reloading ?


__________________
Obsessive Compulsive Coder

My little french Guild: Cercle de l'Eveil
  Reply With Quote
11/27/17, 04:08 AM   #6
manavortex
 
manavortex's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 89
The process of reloading the UI will re-read the entire Add-Ons directory. It would be glorious to be able to trigger this process manually for just a single subdirectory.
  Reply With Quote
11/27/17, 04:21 AM   #7
sirinsidiator
 
sirinsidiator's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 974
How is reloading one addon without destroying the Lua VM supposed to work? You can't just load it again and hope for the best. Imagine you hook some api function and then reload it and it hooks the same function again. The old hook is still there - it doesn't just disappear. You'd need to somehow undo everything it has done so far, or you are in for some real trouble. It's the same problem that LibStub libraries face. That's why they have load and unload functions and still they have bugs here and there that come from multiple versions getting loaded one after another.

Besides what you are asking for is basically what "/st isolate <addonName>" in sidTools does. It unloads all addons except for the one you specify (and sidTools so you can undo it later) and then you can "RefreshAddon" just that addon via reloadui. Once you are finished working on it you just use "/st restore" and everything is back to how it was.

Delivering chat messages that happened during loading screens after they finished sounds great though! Would certainly welcome that.
__________________
>siri.exe MyAddon
Does your addon work? [y/n] n
There is a typo in there.
  Reply With Quote
11/27/17, 05:15 AM   #8
Dolgubon
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 204
Yeah I doubt it is possible to reload just one add-on -itd be all or nothing. Also, what if an add-on used a library used by other addons? That would also be an issue.

I think the main thing you want is the chat during reloadui though right? Otherwise as Siri said, just deselect most addons and it'll be a very quick reload time anyway.
  Reply With Quote
11/29/17, 02:40 AM   #9
Baertram
 
Baertram's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,324
But incoming messages at the reload time (even if its quick) are not shown afterwards, right?
It would be awesome if the chat somehow would be able to "cache" incoming messages during reloadui and present them afterwards (regardless of the reload time that is needed).
  Reply With Quote
11/29/17, 03:19 AM   #10
Ayantir
 
Ayantir's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 994
pChat! *auto advertising*

I could also write a whishlist for chat system for Mr Chip
__________________
Obsessive Compulsive Coder

My little french Guild: Cercle de l'Eveil
  Reply With Quote
11/29/17, 02:32 PM   #11
Baertram
 
Baertram's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,324
pChat is doing this? I thought it is only able to show chat messages that came in BEFORE the reloadui, not "during" the reloadui time?
  Reply With Quote
11/30/17, 04:00 AM   #12
Ayantir
 
Ayantir's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 994
When you reload :

EVENT_PLAYER_DEACTIVATED > EVENT_ADD_ON_LOADED > EVENT_PLAYER_ACTIVATED

pChat intercepts everything between EVENT_ADD_ON_LOADED > EVENT_PLAYER_ACTIVATED

That's this period which is increased due to addons.
__________________
Obsessive Compulsive Coder

My little french Guild: Cercle de l'Eveil
  Reply With Quote
11/30/17, 04:55 AM   #13
Dolgubon
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 204
Yes but it doesn't intercept everything between
EVENT_PLAYER_DEACTIVATED > EVENT_ADD_ON_LOADED , and that is the issue that we're having/want changed.
  Reply With Quote
11/30/17, 06:02 AM   #14
sirinsidiator
 
sirinsidiator's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 974
Originally Posted by Dolgubon View Post
Yes but it doesn't intercept everything between
EVENT_PLAYER_DEACTIVATED > EVENT_ADD_ON_LOADED , and that is the issue that we're having/want changed.
Just a dumb question. Has anyone ever actually tested this, or is it just an asumption because the messages between EVENT_ADD_ON_LOADED and EVENT_PLAYER_ACTIVATED get discarded? It could very well be that the chat events already get delivered when the loading screen disappears.
__________________
>siri.exe MyAddon
Does your addon work? [y/n] n
There is a typo in there.
  Reply With Quote
11/30/17, 02:50 PM   #15
Baertram
 
Baertram's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,324
I haven't enabled pChat to store messages after logout etc. as I had several problems with blown up savedvars files etc.

So no, I haven't tested it yet as I thought it's not working for a reloadui and incoming messages.
Will test it in the future, maybe it works.
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » Developer Discussions » Wish List » [open] RefreshAddon(AddonName)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off