Thread Tools Display Modes
06/22/14, 03:38 PM   #1
katkat42
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 155
"Git" me outta here!

I'm trying to set up Git on my local machine so I can help out with a project. I've got the Windows GUI client installed, and it generated an ssh key for me, and I've uploaded my public key. Now I open the Git GUI, and say "Clone existing repository", and type "git://git.esoui.com/rift-SousChef-15.git", and type in my target directory, and hit Enter, and I get a fatal error.

What, exactly, should I type into the "source location" field? Do I need to specify a different protocol? Do I need my username in there somewhere? Help please?
  Reply With Quote
06/22/14, 06:15 PM   #2
Xrystal
caritas omnia vincit
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 369
I use the git bash to clone and it's not gone wrong yet. Just tried it now to see if I remembered how to do it since I started my addon and I couldn't see a clone option in the GUI side so used bash again.


Right click in folder and select 'Git Bash' option
git clone (path to remote as per the eso git control panel for the addon) (name of directory to create in the current directory)
enter password you set up for security
et voila a copy of your git repository on your computer.
  Reply With Quote
06/22/14, 06:15 PM   #3
Sasky
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 231
Yeah, just took a look and for some reason the git:// access doesn't work when tested in Git bash.

However, this does (and puts into folder SousChef):
Code:
git clone [email protected]:eso-SousChef-15 SousChef
If you're using the GUI, use this as the source:
Code:
[email protected]:eso-SousChef-15
I pulled this string from the 'Git Control Panel' tab under Author
  Reply With Quote
06/22/14, 06:39 PM   #4
Wobin
 
Wobin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 78
I recommend SourceTree as a good Windows git client =)
  Reply With Quote
06/22/14, 08:27 PM   #5
katkat42
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 155
And that worked. Thanks!

Now... who wants LAM2 for SousChef???
  Reply With Quote
11/30/18, 09:49 AM   #6
raycrios
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 5
Originally Posted by Wobin View Post
I recommend SourceTree as a good Windows git client =)
I second it. SourceTree is excellent.
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » Developer Discussions » Dev Tools » "Git" me outta here!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off