Quantcast Minion stuck scanning for games - ESOUI
Thread Tools Display Modes
03/04/15, 12:53 PM   #1
elessar13
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 9
Minion stuck scanning for games

I was hoping the recent update would fix my long-time problem of minion freezing while trying to load ESO addons, but not so. Now it freezes on "scan the following drives for supported games" before it shows any drives. Any ideas?

OSX 10.8.5, xml and log are attached.

Thank you!
Attached Files
File Type: log minion0.log (4.1 KB, 108 views)
File Type: xml minion.xml (703 Bytes, 126 views)
  Reply With Quote
03/04/15, 01:10 PM   #2
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,079
Hi elessar13,

My guess since its stopping at the drive selection is that its encountering a problem when trying to list the available drives on your system. Unfortunately it looks like the application freezes before it can write an error to the minion0.log.

If you have Java8 installed on your mac we could try and run Minion from command line and see if we get any better errors?

Open up your terminal window and type the following:
Code:
java -version
If it says you are running 1.8.xxxx you should be good. Now type the following in the terminal:
Code:
java -jar /Applications/Minion.app/Contents/Java/Minion-jfx.jar
Please copy and paste your terminal log here when it freezes.
  Reply With Quote
03/04/15, 01:48 PM   #3
elessar13
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 9
Thanks for the quick reply! The Java control panel (system prefs) says I have J SE Runtime 8, but terminal says 6 (tried opening it just in case):

user-MacBook-Pro:~ user$ java -version
java version "1.6.0_65"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_65-b14-462-11M4609)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 20.65-b04-462, mixed mode)
user:~ user$ java -jar /Applications/Minion.app/Contents/Java/Minion-jfx.jar
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/zam/minion/Minion : Unsupported major.minor version 52.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(ClassLoader.java:637)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:621)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:141)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:283)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:58)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:197)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)

will try restarting and trashing the xml and pref files again.
  Reply With Quote
03/04/15, 02:00 PM   #4
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,079
Yeah Minion wont load with Java6 which seems like what your terminal is set to use. This is only an issue when trying to run Minion from command line. When you launch Minion from the application icon it uses its own bundled version of java so its not an issue there.

What happens if you do the following?
Code:
echo $JAVA_HOME
Also

Code:
/usr/libexec/java_home -verbose

Last edited by Dolby : 03/04/15 at 02:04 PM.
  Reply With Quote
03/04/15, 02:18 PM   #5
elessar13
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 9
I think I fixed the java problem (had to install the developer's kit as well), but when it opens minion it's stuck at the same place.

That first command gives me nothing back, the second gives:
Matching Java Virtual Machines (3):
1.8.0_40, x86_64: "Java SE 8" /Library/Java/JavaVirtualMachines/jdk1.8.0_40.jdk/Contents/Home
1.6.0_65-b14-462, x86_64: "Java SE 6" /System/Library/Java/JavaVirtualMachines/1.6.0.jdk/Contents/Home
1.6.0_65-b14-462, i386: "Java SE 6" /System/Library/Java/JavaVirtualMachines/1.6.0.jdk/Contents/Home

But at least java now opens minion.

attached new xml and log just in case, don't know if anything's different.

Terminal log:

user:~ user$ java -jar /Applications/Minion.app/Contents/Java/Minion-jfx.jar
[2015-03-04 15:15:07.INFO com.zam.minion.Minion logSystemInformation os.name=Mac OS X
[2015-03-04 15:15:07.INFO com.zam.minion.Minion logSystemInformation os.version=10.8.5
[2015-03-04 15:15:07.INFO com.zam.minion.Minion logSystemInformation os.arch=x86_64
[2015-03-04 15:15:07.INFO com.zam.minion.Minion logSystemInformation java.runtime.version=1.8.0_40-b25
[2015-03-04 15:15:07.INFO com.zam.minion.Minion logSystemInformation java.class.path=/Applications/Minion.app/Contents/Java/Minion-jfx.jar
[2015-03-04 15:15:07.INFO com.zam.minion.Minion logSystemInformation java.library.path=/Users/andrewjp13/Library/Java/Extensions:/Library/Java/Extensions:/Network/Library/Java/Extensions:/System/Library/Java/Extensions:/usr/lib/java:.
[2015-03-04 15:15:07.INFO com.zam.minion.Minion logSystemInformation user.language=en
[2015-03-04 15:15:07.INFO com.zam.minion.Minion logSystemInformation user.home=/Users/user
[2015-03-04 15:15:10.FINE com.zam.minion.Minion start Font: Font[name=Interstate Mono, family=Interstate Mono, style=Regular, size=20.0]
[2015-03-04 15:15:12.FINE com.zam.minion.controller.MinionController initWindowControls Controls initialized.
[2015-03-04 15:15:12.FINE com.zam.minion.util.FeedClient checkNetworkConnections Starting network check ...
[2015-03-04 15:15:12.FINE com.zam.minion.util.FeedClient getRoutePlanner System Default Http Proxy.
[2015-03-04 15:15:13.FINE com.zam.minion.util.FeedClient$HeadThread run Ping Status for http://cdn.mmoui.com/: 200
[2015-03-04 15:15:13.FINE com.zam.minion.util.FeedClient$HeadThread run Ping Status for http://api.mmoui.com/: 200
[2015-03-04 15:15:14.FINE com.zam.minion.controller.MinionController initBuildAndVersion Build: b1ec8cf7d71f9b54fd00934e7b8302168abf4e32
[2015-03-04 15:15:14.FINE com.zam.minion.controller.MinionController initBuildAndVersion Version: 2.1.3pl-beta
[2015-03-04 15:15:15.WARNING com.sun.javafx.css.parser.CSSParser parse CSS Error parsing jar:file:/Applications/Minion.app/Contents/Java/Minion-jfx.jar!/com/zam/minion/style/combo.css: Expected LBRACE at [4,9]
[2015-03-04 15:15:15.FINE com.zam.minion.util.GameManager addGameConfig Adding new GameConfig: 'World of Warcraft'.
[2015-03-04 15:15:16.FINE com.zam.minion.util.GameManager addGameConfig Adding new GameConfig: 'Elder Scrolls Online'.
[2015-03-04 15:15:17.FINE com.zam.minion.controller.MinionController open Starting new Minion instance.
Exception in thread "JavaFX Application Thread" org.apache.commons.jxpath.JXPathInvalidSyntaxException: Invalid XPath: 'drive-configs/drive-config[@drive=\'/Volumes/Andrew\'s Macbook HD\']'. Syntax error after: 'drive-configs/drive-config[@drive=\''
at org.apache.commons.jxpath.ri.Parser.parseExpression(Parser.java:63)
at org.apache.commons.jxpath.ri.JXPathContextReferenceImpl.compileExpression(JXPathContextReferenceImpl.java:249)
at org.apache.commons.jxpath.ri.JXPathContextReferenceImpl.iteratePointers(JXPathContextReferenceImpl.java:616)
at org.apache.commons.jxpath.JXPathContext.selectNodes(JXPathContext.java:686)
at org.apache.commons.configuration.tree.xpath.XPathExpressionEngine.query(XPathExpressionEngine.java:183)
at org.apache.commons.configuration.HierarchicalConfiguration.fetchNodeList(HierarchicalConfiguration.java:958)
at org.apache.commons.configuration.AbstractHierarchicalFileConfiguration.fetchNodeList(AbstractHierarchicalFileConfiguration.java:439)
at org.apache.commons.configuration.HierarchicalConfiguration.configurationsAt(HierarchicalConfiguration.java:637)
at com.zam.minion.util.ConfigurationManager.getDriveScannable(ConfigurationManager.java:340)
at com.zam.minion.controller.cell.DriveScanListCell.updateItem(DriveScanListCell.java:34)
at com.zam.minion.controller.cell.DriveScanListCell.updateItem(DriveScanListCell.java:20)
at javafx.scene.control.ListCell.updateItem(ListCell.java:471)
at javafx.scene.control.ListCell.indexChanged(ListCell.java:330)
at javafx.scene.control.IndexedCell.updateIndex(IndexedCell.java:116)
at com.sun.javafx.scene.control.skin.VirtualFlow.setCellIndex(VirtualFlow.java:1950)
at com.sun.javafx.scene.control.skin.VirtualFlow.getCell(VirtualFlow.java:1790)
at com.sun.javafx.scene.control.skin.VirtualFlow.getCellLength(VirtualFlow.java:1872)
at com.sun.javafx.scene.control.skin.VirtualFlow.computeViewportOffset(VirtualFlow.java:2511)
at com.sun.javafx.scene.control.skin.VirtualFlow.layoutChildren(VirtualFlow.java:1189)
at javafx.scene.Parent.layout(Parent.java:1076)
at javafx.scene.Parent.layout(Parent.java:1082)
at javafx.scene.Parent.layout(Parent.java:1082)
at javafx.scene.Parent.layout(Parent.java:1082)
at javafx.scene.Parent.layout(Parent.java:1082)
at javafx.scene.Scene.doLayoutPass(Scene.java:552)
at javafx.scene.Scene$ScenePulseListener.pulse(Scene.java:2397)
at com.sun.javafx.tk.Toolkit.lambda$runPulse$30(Toolkit.java:314)
at com.sun.javafx.tk.Toolkit$$Lambda$144/1410474378.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at com.sun.javafx.tk.Toolkit.runPulse(Toolkit.java:313)
at com.sun.javafx.tk.Toolkit.firePulse(Toolkit.java:340)
at com.sun.javafx.tk.quantum.QuantumToolkit.pulse(QuantumToolkit.java:525)
at com.sun.javafx.tk.quantum.QuantumToolkit.pulse(QuantumToolkit.java:505)
at com.sun.javafx.tk.quantum.QuantumToolkit.lambda$runToolkit$400(QuantumToolkit.java:334)
at com.sun.javafx.tk.quantum.QuantumToolkit$$Lambda$41/1199055977.run(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.glass.ui.InvokeLaterDispatcher$Future.run(InvokeLaterDispatcher.java:95)

In case this helps, it used to freeze (before the last minion update) on "Loading ESO Addons".

Thanks again!
Attached Files
File Type: log minion0.log (2.3 KB, 94 views)
File Type: xml minion.xml (703 Bytes, 123 views)

Last edited by elessar13 : 03/04/15 at 02:29 PM.
  Reply With Quote
03/04/15, 02:28 PM   #6
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,079
Hi elessar13,

Thanks for posting this. This error is very helpful as it does indeed prove that Minion is having trouble pulling a drive list from your system. It looks to be choking on the parsing of the name of a drive, possibly the apostrophe in the name?

I'll get this over to our main Java guy to confirm and see how we can fix it.
  Reply With Quote
03/09/15, 02:49 PM   #7
elessar13
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 9
*bump* Any news?
  Reply With Quote
03/10/15, 10:41 AM   #8
votan
 
votan's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 394
I think the important thing is this:
Exception in thread "JavaFX Application Thread" org.apache.commons.jxpath.JXPathInvalidSyntaxException: Invalid XPath: 'drive-configs/drive-config[@drive=\'/Volumes/Andrew\'s Macbook HD\']'. Syntax error after: 'drive-configs/drive-config[@drive=\''
at org.apache.commons.jxpath.ri.Parser.parseExpression(Parser.java:63)

Because the yellow single quotes are intended to be part of the XPATH-Query and should not be escaped.
Otherwise quotes are missing and this is a syntax error.
I guess, you replace single quotes in the whole query instead of the values only.
__________________
@votan73 (EU - megaserver)
  Reply With Quote
03/10/15, 12:45 PM   #9
elessar13
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 9
Thanks for your reply! That makes sense, but I'm a complete java/programming noob - if that last bit is indeed a suggestion for a possible fix, could you translate it into a "go to this file and change this" format?
  Reply With Quote
03/10/15, 01:40 PM   #10
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,079
A fix is in this sprint and as soon as its pushed to master I'll make a patch release for it. So I'm hoping in a few days but worst case would be next week Wednesday.

Sadly this needs to be fixed inside Minion and its not something you can fix unless you want to rename your hard drive and remove the apostrophe but I do not recommend doing that.

Last edited by Dolby : 03/10/15 at 01:43 PM.
  Reply With Quote
03/10/15, 03:40 PM   #11
elessar13
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 9
No worries! Thanks for the update, I'm glad I was able to call to your attention something others are probably being frustrated by as well.

Cheers!
  Reply With Quote
03/13/15, 11:15 AM   #12
Runcajsz
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
Any ETA on a fix or workaround? I'm missing Minion so much...
  Reply With Quote
05/07/17, 08:13 PM   #13
FatKC
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1
Any News on this (After 3 years?)

Hey Guys,

My log file has the same entry and the apostrophe in the drive path.

Is there a fix for this yet?

Cheers

FatKC
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » Site Forums » Minion » Minion stuck scanning for games

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off