ESOUI

ESOUI (https://www.esoui.com/forums/index.php)
-   Minion (https://www.esoui.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=183)
-   -   MalformedURLException:unknown protocol: socket (https://www.esoui.com/forums/showthread.php?t=506)

JackyD 04/02/14 03:55 PM

MalformedURLException:unknown protocol: socket
 
Hi there,

When launching Minion I get the splash screen and then I get following error after a while

Code:

java.net.MalformedURLException: unknown protocol: socket
        at java.net.URL.<init>(URL.java:592)
        at java.net.URL.<init>(URL.java:482)
        at java.net.URL.<init>(URL.java:431)
        at java.net.URI.toURL(URI.java:1096)
        at com.sun.deploy.net.proxy.DeployProxySelector.connectFailed(Unknown Source)
        at java.net.SocksSocketImpl.connect(SocksSocketImpl.java:415)
        at java.net.Socket.connect(Socket.java:579)
        at java.net.Socket.connect(Socket.java:528)
        at sun.net.NetworkClient.doConnect(NetworkClient.java:180)
        at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.openServer(HttpClient.java:432)
        at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.openServer(HttpClient.java:527)
        at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.<init>(HttpClient.java:211)
        at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.New(HttpClient.java:308)
        at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.getNewHttpClient(HttpURLConnection.java:1003)
        at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.plainConnect(HttpURLConnection.java:951)
        at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.connect(HttpURLConnection.java:850)
        at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.getInputStream(HttpURLConnection.java:1300)
        at javafx.scene.text.Font.loadFont(Font.java:367)
        at com.zam.minion.Minion.<clinit>(Minion.java:37)
        at sun.reflect.NativeConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance0(Native Method)
        at sun.reflect.NativeConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance(NativeConstructorAccessorImpl.java:57)
        at sun.reflect.DelegatingConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance(DelegatingConstructorAccessorImpl.java:45)
        at java.lang.reflect.Constructor.newInstance(Constructor.java:526)
        at com.sun.javafx.application.LauncherImpl.launchApplication1(LauncherImpl.java:276)
        at com.sun.javafx.application.LauncherImpl.access$000(LauncherImpl.java:47)
        at com.sun.javafx.application.LauncherImpl$1.run(LauncherImpl.java:115)
        at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:724)

I'm on Windows 8.1 running Java 7U54

If there's any more info I need to supply just go ahead and ask.

Dolby 04/02/14 05:10 PM

Hi JackyD,

Thanks for posting this error. Are you running on a proxy perchance?

ElisahDay 04/02/14 05:25 PM

same problem..
 
..ok the same pop up at me
but im using win 7 / java 7U51 and no proxy..

firefox 28.0 with and without noscript..

windows firewall and Avira Antivir on and off....

allways the pop up..

JackyD 04/03/14 10:54 AM

No I'm neither on a proxy nor on a VPN.

I ran a couple more tests today: cloned my machine and virtualised it, then I went ahead and disabled all security features and put the VM into a DMZ -> NOK the issue still persists

As I'm getting a Java error I then went ahead and wiped all traces of it from my PC using the MSICUU2.exe. I did this as I had previously installed Java 8.0 64bit as I was thinking that maybe some leftover from it could be causing the issue but still -> NOK

I scoured through Event Viewer but there are no events showing up for the time frame when I tested Minion.

I still might have an image lying around of my system prior to migrating to Windows 8. I will try and run a test on a VM of that one to see if the problem also occurs on Win7, aside from some software updates it is the exact same config as my current setup.

Security Software I'm running:

GData Antivirus
Malwarebytes Pro
Sophos Safeguard Encryption

I do use a VPN but it was disabled when I first got the error, I have since tried with the VPN enabled, even trying to launch the tool while connected to servers from around the globe (US, UK, Germany, Russia, Japan) without success.

Edit: does Minion create logs on either start up or crash to trace issues? If so which files do you need me to provide in order to investigate further?

Something I forgot to add is that I'm running some legacy DotNet features which I need for some of my Job related apps, I'm gonna disable these and will report back in with my findings

Dolby 04/03/14 11:05 AM

2 Attachment(s)
Does IE have any proxy settings set? Java by default is set to listen to IE in windows for Network settings. So there are two things we can try here.

1. Make sure IE does not have any proxy settings enabled under Internet Options >> Connection >> LAN. (I attached a picture of my settings).

AND/OR

2. (If Java is installed) Go into the control panel, go to Java, go to Netwotk Settings... under the general tab. Change it to Direct Connection. (I attached a picture of my settings)

Please let me know if any of these options work. Also if you could let me know what it was set to previously so I possibly update minion to check for this and reproduce it on my end.

JackyD 04/03/14 11:21 AM

No proxy configured in either IE or FF, switching the Java Network settings to Direct Connection didn't change anything.

Java was configured to use browser settings.

Dolby 04/03/14 11:32 AM

Sent you a PM for some further testing when you get a chance I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks!

Dolby 04/03/14 11:34 AM

Minion does create logs but it probably won't have anything if you can't get past the splash screen. The log is located C:\Users\<windows user name>\.minion\minion0.log (mac: ~\.minion\minion0.log). But you're right we should check the logs just incase.

JackyD 04/03/14 12:37 PM

Code:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="windows-1252" standalone="no"?>
<!DOCTYPE log SYSTEM "logger.dtd">
<log>
<record>
  <date>2014-04-03T19:21:31</date>
  <millis>1396545691452</millis>
  <sequence>0</sequence>
  <logger>com.zam.minion.util.ConfigurationManager</logger>
  <level>SEVERE</level>
  <class>com.zam.minion.util.ConfigurationManager</class>
  <method>loadConfig</method>
  <thread>15</thread>
  <message>org.apache.commons.configuration.ConfigurationException: Error parsing file:/C:/Users/******/.minion/minion.xml</message>
</record>
<record>
  <date>2014-04-03T19:21:31</date>
  <millis>1396545691456</millis>
  <sequence>1</sequence>
  <logger>com.zam.minion.Minion</logger>
  <level>FINE</level>
  <class>com.zam.minion.Minion</class>
  <method>start</method>
  <thread>15</thread>
  <message>Font: null</message>
</record>
<record>
  <date>2014-04-03T19:21:31</date>
  <millis>1396545691928</millis>
  <sequence>2</sequence>
  <logger>com.zam.minion.controller.MinionController</logger>
  <level>FINE</level>
  <class>com.zam.minion.controller.MinionController</class>
  <method>initWindowControls</method>
  <thread>15</thread>
  <message>Controls initialized.</message>
</record>

These are the contents of minion0.log

the minion.xml file is empty as that is the file the error refers to.

JackyD 04/03/14 12:58 PM

Would it help if I try to do some debugging on my end?

I could prolly set something up using Eclipse, JD-Eclipse & Realignment fragment ...I haven't done any Java Programming in years tho and only thinking of messing with Java gives me the creeps but then again I want to get this thing working.

Are there any particular classes I should be looking for?

Dolby 04/03/14 12:59 PM

Try deleting your minion.xml and it should re-create it. Wonder if something is interrupting the minion.xml from being created though and that error is just a side effect.

Font: null also worries me.

JackyD 04/03/14 01:03 PM

minion.xml:

Code:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
<minion>
<version>2.0.0-SNAPSHOT</version>
<build>d374a00ba2b0f591fefa5691e5151774293cb352</build>
<client>
        <concurrent-updates>2</concurrent-updates>
        <game-scan-depth>4</game-scan-depth>
    </client>
<user>
<ga-user-id>d66e5152-f2e6-4536-ab13-f1d5bbd12100</ga-user-id>
</user>
</minion>

Well seems we're a step further, but I'm still getting the same error

On a side note the minion0.log.lck file is empty too but I suppose that's to be expected

The minion0.log still shows Font: null

Edit: Why does the *.xml file read "version 2.0.0-snapshot" whereas the installer reads 2.0.1? was there maybe a mixup and the frontpage DL link accidently pointed toward a beta/nightly build or w/e you wanna call them?

Dolby 04/03/14 01:06 PM

Can you post your error minion0.log again? It rewrites it every time you launch Minion and the lck is only removed when Minion exits. Thanks for all this great info.

JackyD 04/03/14 01:21 PM

Code:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="windows-1252" standalone="no"?>
<!DOCTYPE log SYSTEM "logger.dtd">
<log>
<record>
  <date>2014-04-03T21:01:20</date>
  <millis>1396551680723</millis>
  <sequence>0</sequence>
  <logger>com.zam.minion.util.ConfigurationManager</logger>
  <level>CONFIG</level>
  <class>com.zam.minion.util.ConfigurationManager</class>
  <method>loadConfig</method>
  <thread>15</thread>
  <message>Configuration file does not exist.  Creating ...</message>
</record>
<record>
  <date>2014-04-03T21:01:20</date>
  <millis>1396551680969</millis>
  <sequence>1</sequence>
  <logger>com.zam.minion.Minion</logger>
  <level>FINE</level>
  <class>com.zam.minion.Minion</class>
  <method>start</method>
  <thread>15</thread>
  <message>Font: null</message>
</record>

There you go new log.

Oh and no need to thank me. I work as a level 2 service desk agent so I'm rather happy to be on the other end of the stick for once :banana:

JackyD 04/03/14 01:39 PM

Ok I did another run, this time I didn't kill the process right away after the error popped up but kept it going until it stopped responding:

Code:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="windows-1252" standalone="no"?>
<!DOCTYPE log SYSTEM "logger.dtd">
<log>
<record>
  <date>2014-04-03T21:35:19</date>
  <millis>1396553719173</millis>
  <sequence>0</sequence>
  <logger>com.zam.minion.Minion</logger>
  <level>FINE</level>
  <class>com.zam.minion.Minion</class>
  <method>start</method>
  <thread>15</thread>
  <message>Font: null</message>
</record>
<record>
  <date>2014-04-03T21:35:19</date>
  <millis>1396553719652</millis>
  <sequence>1</sequence>
  <logger>com.zam.minion.controller.MinionController</logger>
  <level>FINE</level>
  <class>com.zam.minion.controller.MinionController</class>
  <method>initWindowControls</method>
  <thread>15</thread>
  <message>Controls initialized.</message>
</record>
<record>
  <date>2014-04-03T21:35:50</date>
  <millis>1396553750890</millis>
  <sequence>2</sequence>
  <logger>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</logger>
  <level>INFO</level>
  <class>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</class>
  <method>execute</method>
  <thread>30</thread>
  <message>I/O exception (java.net.SocketException) caught when processing request: Can't connect to SOCKS proxy:Connection timed out: connect</message>
</record>
<record>
  <date>2014-04-03T21:35:50</date>
  <millis>1396553750892</millis>
  <sequence>3</sequence>
  <logger>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</logger>
  <level>INFO</level>
  <class>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</class>
  <method>execute</method>
  <thread>30</thread>
  <message>Retrying request</message>
</record>


JackyD 04/03/14 01:44 PM

Yay found the issue ...it was proxy related although I do not have a proxy configured. I unticked the "autodetect proxy settings for this network" in FF and forced it to no proxy and magic it worked.

Although I am puzzled why my FF settings did override the IE settings in this case.

And why does it still use browser settings although I enabled direct connect in Java?

Dolby 04/03/14 01:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JackyD (Post 2557)
Yay found the issue ...it was proxy related although I do not have a proxy configured. I unticked the "autodetect proxy settings for this network" in FF and forced it to no proxy and magic it worked.

Although I am puzzled why my FF settings did override the IE settings in this case.

And why does it still use browser settings although I enabled direct connect in Java?

Thank you very much for figuring this out! It looks like Minion is using the proxy settings for what ever the default browser is set to. I'm going to ask our java programmer these questions and how we can better handle this.

JackyD 04/03/14 02:12 PM

Yes but still, I had no trouble connecting to the API through FF using the direct link you provided me in the PM while that setting was enabled...


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:16 AM.

vBulletin © 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd
© 2014 - 2022 MMOUI