Quantcast Minion can't connect to Internet - ESOUI
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
06/09/14, 12:15 PM   #1
HalloweenWeed
 
HalloweenWeed's Avatar
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 16
Unhappy Minion can't connect to Internet

I'm getting the following error message with Minion 2.0.9a-beta:
"Minion is unable to connect to the Internet. Please check your firewall, security, and proxy settings."
I had a similar problem with the installation, that I fixed by adding an exception to my Norton 360. I also added firewall exception to Minion.exe in my users\[username]\AppData\Local\Minion folder, and a "SONAR" exception to the entire directory, and the users\[username]\.minion folder. I set Minion.exe (same folder) to "run as administrator" across all users (there is only 1 user). Still, Minion can't connect to Internet error. I did this all after uninstalling v2.0.8. I also tried disabling Norton's "smart firewall," and antivirus autoprotect, still can't connect. Obviously I am connected as I posted this. The only setting I changed on install was I put the startmenu item in the Minion folder instead of Zamxxxx.

Also, when I installed 2.0.9a-beta it wanted to update C++ redistributable, but after the files downloaded an error came up that I already have a newer version installed, and that portion of the install was aborted. Minion installer should detect this ahead of time.


I didn't have these problems W/v2.0.8. For now, I am reverting to v2.0.8. Windows 7-64 sp1 v6.1.7601 build 7601. 32 bit DX 11 ver 6.01.7601.17514. 64 bit DX 11 ver 6.01.7601.17514. Norton 360 Premier edition.

Satellite Internet (Wildblue) 400KB/sec (KBytes) measured download speed, 3Mbps (Mbits) officially, upload speed is 1/4 download speed. Ping times are around 1000ms to anywhere, 800-900 if lucky. It takes time for the radio signals to get to/from the Satellite (at the speed of light). Could be latency issues, lots of latency in Satellite Internet.


C:\Users\[username]\.minion\minion.xml
Warning: Spoiler


C:\Users\[username]\.minion\minion0.log
Warning: Spoiler



Edited 6/10 to correct: "DirectX" changed to "C++ redistributable."
__________________
Skyrim conquerer. Morrowind and Oblivion vet. Long-time single-player computer gamer W/custom-made hi-perf PC W/2 vid cards in Xfire. I just play ESO lately, used to play RTS and action games such as the Far Cry series.
Crappy satellite Internet very laggy pings 700-1000 not good for gaming, can't play most online games but ESO works good enough.

Last edited by HalloweenWeed : 06/10/14 at 07:16 AM.
  Reply With Quote
06/09/14, 12:41 PM   #2
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,191
Hi HalloweenWeed,

Minion does not install DirectX, it does however install Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable 2010, is that maybe what you are talking about?

The log shows something blocking Minion from connecting to the internet. In Norton 360 can you look in your activity log and see if its blocking connections to api.mmoui.com (port 443) or cdn.mmoui.com (port 80) for Minion? When Minion starts it checks to see if it can read the headers from those two places and if it can't it displays that error. I'm guessing Norton white listed Minion 2.0.8 but when you re-installed with 2.0.9 it probably got blacklisted or the domains api.mmoui.com, cdn.mmoui.com some how got blocked?

Also why did you re-install Minion if I can ask? Minion self updates. Did you have trouble with Minion self updating so you tried to re-install to get the update?

Thank you for providing all this great info!

Last edited by Dolby : 06/09/14 at 12:49 PM.
  Reply With Quote
06/10/14, 06:53 AM   #3
Rattlesnake
 
Rattlesnake's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Same Problem

Hey

I got the same problem, so i don't create a new topic for this.
"Minion is unable to connect to the Internet. Please check your firewall, security, and proxy settings."
That's the message i got after opening Minion.
I don't know if it's nessasary but i also got an error during the installation with the Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redisputable. It told me i got a newer version of it even after deleting my version before installing.

BTT: I disabled my Firewalls, the one from ESET and also the one from my router. After it didn't work i disabled every security i got on my pc. Deinstalled Minion and Re-Installed it, surely with Admin-rights. The problem maintains. I'm really clueless what blocks Minions' Connection.
I hope someone can tell me, and how to solve it too.

Greetz

Attached is the minion0.txt file and here is the xml

Warning: Spoiler
Attached Files
File Type: log minion0.log (10.5 KB, 530 views)
  Reply With Quote
06/10/14, 07:47 AM   #4
HalloweenWeed
 
HalloweenWeed's Avatar
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 16
Originally Posted by Dolby View Post
Hi HalloweenWeed,

Minion does not install DirectX, it does however install Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable 2010, is that maybe what you are talking about?

The log shows something blocking Minion from connecting to the internet. In Norton 360 can you look in your activity log and see if its blocking connections to api.mmoui.com (port 443) or cdn.mmoui.com (port 80) for Minion? When Minion starts it checks to see if it can read the headers from those two places and if it can't it displays that error. I'm guessing Norton white listed Minion 2.0.8 but when you re-installed with 2.0.9 it probably got blacklisted or the domains api.mmoui.com, cdn.mmoui.com some how got blocked?

Also why did you re-install Minion if I can ask? Minion self updates. Did you have trouble with Minion self updating so you tried to re-install to get the update?

Thank you for providing all this great info!
I checked the Norton logs for the time that Minion attempted to access the Internet recently, and I see where Norton detected Minion "preparing to connect to the Internet" and took no action. That is the only log entry at that minute, there are other entries for Windows host processes doing the same within a few minutes of that entry, but again Norton took no action; they are just "detected" entries. I see nothing in the logs within a few minutes of running Minion that says anything about blocking any web addresses (URL nor IP addresses). Did you see that I had tried turning off Norton protection and still had the same prob? And BTW, the error doesn't come up until the main interface opens, then the error on top of that instantly. When opening Minion, I get the small "splash screen" window, and it persists for about a full minute or more (has taken more like 5min in the past W/older versions) before the interface opens - seems like it takes a long time, but it has always behaved this way for me even with past versions.

The bottom line is that the old version or Minion worked for me, and the new one doesn't. So I will use the old version. The old version 2.0.8 beta works just fine, so I'll let you guys just fix the new version, I have done my part of the diagnosis, if you can't see that the new version is flawed I can't make you see it, GL to you.
__________________
Skyrim conquerer. Morrowind and Oblivion vet. Long-time single-player computer gamer W/custom-made hi-perf PC W/2 vid cards in Xfire. I just play ESO lately, used to play RTS and action games such as the Far Cry series.
Crappy satellite Internet very laggy pings 700-1000 not good for gaming, can't play most online games but ESO works good enough.

Last edited by HalloweenWeed : 06/10/14 at 08:39 AM.
  Reply With Quote
06/10/14, 09:30 AM   #5
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,191
When opening Minion, I get the small "splash screen" window, and it persists for about a full minute or more (has taken more like 5min in the past W/older versions) before the interface opens - seems like it takes a long time, but it has always behaved this way for me even with past versions.
Thank you, this helps. We have a timeout of 30sec which may be too short for slow connections? We will revisit how an outage is detected.
  Reply With Quote
06/10/14, 10:39 AM   #6
HalloweenWeed
 
HalloweenWeed's Avatar
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 16
Originally Posted by Dolby View Post
Thank you, this helps. We have a timeout of 30sec which may be too short for slow connections? We will revisit how an outage is detected.
When I login to ESO I sometimes get logged in to the character page on the first try, but it takes on the average about 6 tries before it works. Sometimes it takes 20 or more tries. When it fails, I get Error 200, login failed, exactly 5sec. after the login attempt is submitted. So I know that sometimes my lag for new connections is around 5sec. I wouldn't imagine that it would ever take 30sec, unless your program is waiting for multiple connection events. Some complex web pages such as US Cellular account logins take more than 2 minutes to load the page for me. But most fast sites like google, and google mail, load in less than 30sec. complete.





Just in case it gives you some help, here are the files from Minion 2.0.8 today, for comparison:
C:\Users\[username]\.minion\minion.xml
Warning: Spoiler


C:\Users\[username]\.minion\minion0.log
Warning: Spoiler
__________________
Skyrim conquerer. Morrowind and Oblivion vet. Long-time single-player computer gamer W/custom-made hi-perf PC W/2 vid cards in Xfire. I just play ESO lately, used to play RTS and action games such as the Far Cry series.
Crappy satellite Internet very laggy pings 700-1000 not good for gaming, can't play most online games but ESO works good enough.

Last edited by HalloweenWeed : 06/10/14 at 02:58 PM. Reason: Added Minion 2.0.8 files
  Reply With Quote
06/14/14, 10:50 PM   #7
Antibak
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Same exact error: cannot connect to the internet

I am also using windows 7 64 home and get the same exact "cannot connect to the internet" error message when I open Minion.

Log file:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
<!DOCTYPE log SYSTEM "logger.dtd">
<log>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:38</date>
<millis>1402806698980</millis>
<sequence>0</sequence>
<logger>com.zam.minion.Minion</logger>
<level>INFO</level>
<class>com.zam.minion.Minion</class>
<method>logSystemInformation</method>
<thread>14</thread>
<message>**********************************************************************</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:39</date>
<millis>1402806699014</millis>
<sequence>1</sequence>
<logger>com.zam.minion.Minion</logger>
<level>INFO</level>
<class>com.zam.minion.Minion</class>
<method>logSystemInformation</method>
<thread>14</thread>
<message>* os.name=Windows 7</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:39</date>
<millis>1402806699016</millis>
<sequence>2</sequence>
<logger>com.zam.minion.Minion</logger>
<level>INFO</level>
<class>com.zam.minion.Minion</class>
<method>logSystemInformation</method>
<thread>14</thread>
<message>* os.version=6.1</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:39</date>
<millis>1402806699017</millis>
<sequence>3</sequence>
<logger>com.zam.minion.Minion</logger>
<level>INFO</level>
<class>com.zam.minion.Minion</class>
<method>logSystemInformation</method>
<thread>14</thread>
<message>* os.arch=amd64</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:39</date>
<millis>1402806699018</millis>
<sequence>4</sequence>
<logger>com.zam.minion.Minion</logger>
<level>INFO</level>
<class>com.zam.minion.Minion</class>
<method>logSystemInformation</method>
<thread>14</thread>
<message>* java.runtime.version=1.7.0_40-b43</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:39</date>
<millis>1402806699019</millis>
<sequence>5</sequence>
<logger>com.zam.minion.Minion</logger>
<level>INFO</level>
<class>com.zam.minion.Minion</class>
<method>logSystemInformation</method>
<thread>14</thread>
<message>* java.class.path=C:\Games\Minion\app\Minion-jfx.jar</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:39</date>
<millis>1402806699019</millis>
<sequence>6</sequence>
<logger>com.zam.minion.Minion</logger>
<level>INFO</level>
<class>com.zam.minion.Minion</class>
<method>logSystemInformation</method>
<thread>14</thread>
<message>* java.library.path=C:\Games\Minion\app\</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:39</date>
<millis>1402806699021</millis>
<sequence>7</sequence>
<logger>com.zam.minion.Minion</logger>
<level>INFO</level>
<class>com.zam.minion.Minion</class>
<method>logSystemInformation</method>
<thread>14</thread>
<message>* user.language=en</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:39</date>
<millis>1402806699022</millis>
<sequence>8</sequence>
<logger>com.zam.minion.Minion</logger>
<level>INFO</level>
<class>com.zam.minion.Minion</class>
<method>logSystemInformation</method>
<thread>14</thread>
<message>* user.home=C:\Users\Randy Harris</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:39</date>
<millis>1402806699023</millis>
<sequence>9</sequence>
<logger>com.zam.minion.Minion</logger>
<level>INFO</level>
<class>com.zam.minion.Minion</class>
<method>logSystemInformation</method>
<thread>14</thread>
<message>* Documents Directory=Documents</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:39</date>
<millis>1402806699024</millis>
<sequence>10</sequence>
<logger>com.zam.minion.Minion</logger>
<level>INFO</level>
<class>com.zam.minion.Minion</class>
<method>logSystemInformation</method>
<thread>14</thread>
<message>**********************************************************************</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:39</date>
<millis>1402806699612</millis>
<sequence>11</sequence>
<logger>com.zam.minion.Minion</logger>
<level>FINE</level>
<class>com.zam.minion.Minion</class>
<method>start</method>
<thread>14</thread>
<message>Font: null</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:40</date>
<millis>1402806700254</millis>
<sequence>12</sequence>
<logger>com.zam.minion.controller.MinionController</logger>
<level>FINE</level>
<class>com.zam.minion.controller.MinionController</class>
<method>initWindowControls</method>
<thread>14</thread>
<message>Controls initialized.</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:40</date>
<millis>1402806700255</millis>
<sequence>13</sequence>
<logger>com.zam.minion.util.FeedClient</logger>
<level>FINE</level>
<class>com.zam.minion.util.FeedClient</class>
<method>checkNetworkConnections</method>
<thread>14</thread>
<message>Starting network check ...</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:40</date>
<millis>1402806700257</millis>
<sequence>14</sequence>
<logger>com.zam.minion.util.FeedClient</logger>
<level>FINE</level>
<class>com.zam.minion.util.FeedClient</class>
<method>getRoutePlanner</method>
<thread>14</thread>
<message>System Default Http Proxy.</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:40</date>
<millis>1402806700383</millis>
<sequence>15</sequence>
<logger>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</logger>
<level>INFO</level>
<class>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</class>
<method>execute</method>
<thread>22</thread>
<message>I/O exception (java.net.SocketException) caught when processing request: Invalid argument: connect</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:40</date>
<millis>1402806700387</millis>
<sequence>16</sequence>
<logger>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</logger>
<level>INFO</level>
<class>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</class>
<method>execute</method>
<thread>22</thread>
<message>Retrying request</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:40</date>
<millis>1402806700389</millis>
<sequence>17</sequence>
<logger>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</logger>
<level>INFO</level>
<class>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</class>
<method>execute</method>
<thread>22</thread>
<message>I/O exception (java.net.SocketException) caught when processing request: Invalid argument: connect</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:40</date>
<millis>1402806700391</millis>
<sequence>18</sequence>
<logger>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</logger>
<level>INFO</level>
<class>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</class>
<method>execute</method>
<thread>22</thread>
<message>Retrying request</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:40</date>
<millis>1402806700394</millis>
<sequence>19</sequence>
<logger>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</logger>
<level>INFO</level>
<class>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</class>
<method>execute</method>
<thread>22</thread>
<message>I/O exception (java.net.SocketException) caught when processing request: Invalid argument: connect</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:40</date>
<millis>1402806700396</millis>
<sequence>20</sequence>
<logger>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</logger>
<level>INFO</level>
<class>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</class>
<method>execute</method>
<thread>22</thread>
<message>Retrying request</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:40</date>
<millis>1402806700398</millis>
<sequence>21</sequence>
<logger>com.zam.minion.util.FeedClient</logger>
<level>WARNING</level>
<class>com.zam.minion.util.FeedClient$HeadThread</class>
<method>run</method>
<thread>22</thread>
<message>IOException: Invalid argument: connect</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:40</date>
<millis>1402806700472</millis>
<sequence>22</sequence>
<logger>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</logger>
<level>INFO</level>
<class>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</class>
<method>execute</method>
<thread>23</thread>
<message>I/O exception (java.net.SocketException) caught when processing request: Invalid argument: connect</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:40</date>
<millis>1402806700474</millis>
<sequence>23</sequence>
<logger>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</logger>
<level>INFO</level>
<class>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</class>
<method>execute</method>
<thread>23</thread>
<message>Retrying request</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:40</date>
<millis>1402806700476</millis>
<sequence>24</sequence>
<logger>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</logger>
<level>INFO</level>
<class>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</class>
<method>execute</method>
<thread>23</thread>
<message>I/O exception (java.net.SocketException) caught when processing request: Invalid argument: connect</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:40</date>
<millis>1402806700478</millis>
<sequence>25</sequence>
<logger>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</logger>
<level>INFO</level>
<class>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</class>
<method>execute</method>
<thread>23</thread>
<message>Retrying request</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:40</date>
<millis>1402806700480</millis>
<sequence>26</sequence>
<logger>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</logger>
<level>INFO</level>
<class>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</class>
<method>execute</method>
<thread>23</thread>
<message>I/O exception (java.net.SocketException) caught when processing request: Invalid argument: connect</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:40</date>
<millis>1402806700482</millis>
<sequence>27</sequence>
<logger>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</logger>
<level>INFO</level>
<class>org.apache.http.impl.execchain.RetryExec</class>
<method>execute</method>
<thread>23</thread>
<message>Retrying request</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-06-14T21:31:40</date>
<millis>1402806700484</millis>
<sequence>28</sequence>
<logger>com.zam.minion.util.FeedClient</logger>
<level>WARNING</level>
<class>com.zam.minion.util.FeedClient$HeadThread</class>
<method>run</method>
<thread>23</thread>
<message>IOException: Invalid argument: connect</message>
</record>
</log>



XML file:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
<minion>
<config-version>2</config-version>
<version>2.0.0-SNAPSHOT</version>
<build>5396e5acaa5d032d981a97f5063e9a1ca7e05fec</build>
<client>
<concurrent-updates>2</concurrent-updates>
<game-scan-depth>4</game-scan-depth>
</client>
<user>
<ga-user-id>44020f23-86f2-43ae-949c-6468574fe686</ga-user-id>
</user>
</minion>


I turned off Microsoft Security essentials "real time protection" with no change.
Run as administrator= no change

Thanks for your help!!
  Reply With Quote
06/14/14, 11:38 PM   #8
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,191
Thanks for posting your log.

Are you using an internet proxy? Maybe even a browser plugin to watch region locked video?

What is your default web browser?

Do you have a Bigfoot killer Nic?

Code:
<message>Font: null</message>
Tells me Minion can't even connect to our server to download the font it uses.

Last edited by Dolby : 06/14/14 at 11:41 PM.
  Reply With Quote
07/01/14, 03:37 AM   #9
N0madS0uL
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
Funnily enough I have the same issue happening lately to me, I have the latest version of minion and it works but often first time I open it, it gives me that error that it can't connect to the internet. I relaunch it and then usually the second time around it does work.

Today however was the first time I had multiple crashes with this error but in the time it took to find this thread I tried again and it worked, I am not sure why this happens though. I am not sure if this has any baring on this fault but I have had issues with connection to the game and some other applications also.

I have a feeling it is a port issue, e.g. I could log into ESO and get to the character selection screen but then on the loading after that it would crash with an unknown error, I have had my skype also do this last night, connects etc but soon as I try and make a call it doesnt connect. I seems that its a port or range of ports that get blocked, I also had the issue with bit torrent.

Only reason I mention this is if it may be related to a port or range of ports, refreshing etc of those ports i dont know. I have flushed the dns of my PC and restarted the router and PC and sometimes it works other times well it just starts to work randomly, though I can surf the web otherwise fine during these "down times" I am wondering if an application is causing this, so far the only common thread I have here to you folks are that I use minion and play ESO also. I have no idea if there is a connection here but maybe this will give some perspective to you smarter folks out there.

Also I am running AVG Internet Security, Win7 64bit Ent Ed. I also have swapped out my routers and the fault still happens.

Last edited by N0madS0uL : 07/01/14 at 03:39 AM.
  Reply With Quote
07/01/14, 12:02 PM   #10
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,191
N0madS0uL Minion only uses standard web browsing ports. Port 80 and Port 443 (SSL).

When you have a connection issue again with Minion can you post your minion0.log? It is located here.
  Reply With Quote
07/24/14, 07:29 AM   #11
fierikit
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2
Windows 8 ESO unabl to connect to internet

Hi
i've the same problem with my win8 pc
here are the log files
tks
Attached Files
File Type: xml minion.xml (408 Bytes, 423 views)
File Type: log minion0.log (10.3 KB, 556 views)
  Reply With Quote
07/24/14, 10:45 AM   #12
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,191
Hi fierikit,

Something is preventing Minion from accessing your network. What security software do you have installed? Do you have Bigfoots Killer Network manager installed?

Are you running ipv6?

Last edited by Dolby : 07/24/14 at 10:51 AM.
  Reply With Quote
07/26/14, 03:55 AM   #13
fierikit
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2
Red face unable to connect to the internet

I had IPV6 active, now i've unchecked but nothing change (after reconnecting)
I've a wireless connection with my router
I've Kaspersky version 10, tried to disable firewall, also windows firewall but nothing change
other background sofware are:
- dropbox: as in my work PC with Win7 (I've tried...) where Minion works
- google drive: as in my work PC with Win7 where Minion works
- steam client: as in my work PC with Win7 where Minion works
- here i also have NVIDIA client
Tks
  Reply With Quote
07/26/14, 10:46 AM   #14
Sol62287
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Exclamation Same Problem :-/

I'm having the same issue.. I posted a seperate thread, which I will copy here, that has more detail in it.. if any can help me I'd be forever grateful. After reading some of the replies on this thread I feel I should state that I DO have "Bigfoot Killer Network Manager". Dunno if that makes a difference or if that's issue, but admins asked other people if they do so I figured I'd mention that I do. If that's the issue, what I do with it to fix the issue? Thank you for taking the time to listen and assist. My Minion.xml and Log are both attached on the original thread I posted, linked below:

http://www.esoui.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2023

Original Thread Content(Details of my issue):
Hi! When I first tried to run minion Windows firewall asked me if I wanted to allow access, so I clicked allow access. I'm operating on a Windows 7 system. I use to not be able to get minion to open at all before this until I uninstalled and reinstalled this new version after waiting a while.. I think for some reason an older version just wasn't compatible with my machine. Now it works fine, except not being able to connect to the internet, which notifies me of it not being able to connect.. then goes ahead and closes it down when I hit ok. So, it's a step in the right direction from it's performance for me before.. but I'm still hitting a road block. I even temporarily disabled all my avast firewalls and tried it with them disabled, but still no cigar. Could anyone please help me? I'll be sure to attach logs etc.

It probably is less a bug and more user error, but I know I'm not the only person having issues. :-/

I use Avast Anti-Virus and MalwareBytes Anti-Malware as my virus and malware protection. Only Avast runs constantly in the backround(I don't have the paid version of MBAM) As well as the typical built in windows 7 firewall etc.

Hope to hear from someone soon with a fix! Thank you in advance for you time and any help you can give me! I need it to work for me so I don't have to manually update all my ESO mods.... cause doing that really really blows.

-Zack

Last edited by Sol62287 : 07/26/14 at 10:58 AM. Reason: More info.
  Reply With Quote
07/27/14, 04:21 PM   #15
Roderick
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Same problems

Yep, the newest version gives me a Java Error, so I went back to the older version and I get this issue as well.
Attached Files
File Type: log minion0.log (10.4 KB, 416 views)
File Type: xml minion.xml (408 Bytes, 400 views)
  Reply With Quote
07/27/14, 06:03 PM   #16
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,191
Originally Posted by Roderick View Post
Yep, the newest version gives me a Java Error, so I went back to the older version and I get this issue as well.
Thanks, However I need a little more details like the others have posted. Do you have Killer Network Manager on your system? Are you using a browser plugin to bypass region locked videos? What security / firewall / malware software are you running?

  Reply With Quote
07/29/14, 05:17 AM   #17
Roderick
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Same problems

I dont have that Killer software thing I think. Never even heard of it before so who knows really. I use Webroot antivirus and the only browser plugin I use is Adblock I believe.
  Reply With Quote
08/05/14, 10:16 AM   #18
Spartakus
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 4
I have the same issue, but I have been having it for several months now. I regularily check these forums in the hope that one day this will be solved so I can actually use the program. But so far, no one has been able to help me. I'm thinking that this is something that will never be solved, i'm losing hope.
  Reply With Quote
08/05/14, 10:25 AM   #19
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,191
With out people posting their minion0.log's and a information on what firewall, antivirus, if killer network manger is installed, etc its going to be difficult to track down since we aren't able to reproduce it. Maybe we can find a pattern in peoples logs. In fact you may have a different problem the only way to confirm is post your minion.xml and minion0.log here

http://www.esoui.com/forums/showthread.php?t=236

Last edited by Dolby : 08/05/14 at 10:29 AM.
  Reply With Quote
08/05/14, 11:07 AM   #20
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,191
Another thing that would be helpful is if you could open a terminal window and type...

Code:
netstat -o -n -a | findstr 0.0:80
and

Code:
netstat -o -n -a | findstr 0.0:443
What do you get in return? If nothing (should be nothing) let me know too.
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » Site Forums » Minion » Minion can't connect to Internet

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off