Quantcast
Why is Minion not working AT ALL? - ESOUI
Thread Tools Display Modes
05/19/14, 03:04 AM   #1
perigorn
 
perigorn's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 6
Why is Minion not working AT ALL?

Ok so here's what happens: (see attached pic)

What's going on with Minion.

It won't go beyond checking for add-ons.....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Image1.jpg
Views:	1098
Size:	94.8 KB
ID:	238  
  Reply With Quote
05/19/14, 04:02 AM   #2
BornDownUnder
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 59
Originally Posted by perigorn View Post
Ok so here's what happens: (see attached pic)

What's going on with Minion.

It won't go beyond checking for add-ons.....
Unfortunately you have not posted much in the way of details for anybody to offer assistance, those details in terms of your OS version, system specs, your attempts at troubleshooting, etc.

My complete stab in the dark is you have recently downloaded Minion after you have already installed addons and for some reason Minion is hanging when it finds those addons, for some reason it cannot handle those addons being there, as Minion has not been used to install them (Don't quote me on that though as I am no coder/programmer) Lets try some quick troubleshooting attempts though:

Have you tried running Minion with Administrative Rights? It might be an permissions issue where Minion is being denied access to folders where you have your addons.

One thing you could try is to temporarily remove your addons folder from the file directory:
Libraries\Documents\Elder Scrolls Online\ (For Windows 7) or
C:\Users\<UserProfileName>\Documents\Elder Scrolls Online\ (Most other OS file structure)

Another quick troubleshooting attempt I may suggest is to delete the minion.xml file located:
C:\Users\<UserProfileName>\.minion\

If that fails, then I would suggest attempting to re-install Minion itself.

If none of those quick and easy troubleshooting attempts don't assist you, can you attach your minion.log file so others can try and assist further, generally that is the best method to get assistance with application issues of any kind.

Last edited by BornDownUnder : 05/19/14 at 04:07 AM. Reason: Edits here & there for faster reading.
  Reply With Quote
05/19/14, 09:47 AM   #3
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,211
That usually indicates a problem in your minion.xml

Can you post your minion.xml and minion0.log here? They are located in the windows user folder under the .minion folder. C:\Users\<your windows username>\.minion
  Reply With Quote
05/23/14, 12:50 AM   #4
perigorn
 
perigorn's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 6
Log file:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
<!DOCTYPE log SYSTEM "logger.dtd">
<log>
<record>
<date>2014-05-22T23:45:19</date>
<millis>1400827519143</millis>
<sequence>0</sequence>
<logger>com.zam.minion.Minion</logger>
<level>FINE</level>
<class>com.zam.minion.Minion</class>
<method>start</method>
<thread>14</thread>
<message>Font: Font[name=Interstate Mono, family=Interstate Mono, style=Regular, size=20.0]</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-05-22T23:45:19</date>
<millis>1400827519751</millis>
<sequence>1</sequence>
<logger>com.zam.minion.controller.MinionController</logger>
<level>FINE</level>
<class>com.zam.minion.controller.MinionController</class>
<method>initWindowControls</method>
<thread>14</thread>
<message>Controls initialized.</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-05-22T23:45:20</date>
<millis>1400827520825</millis>
<sequence>2</sequence>
<logger>com.zam.minion.controller.MinionController</logger>
<level>FINE</level>
<class>com.zam.minion.controller.MinionController</class>
<method>initBuildAndVersion</method>
<thread>14</thread>
<message>Build: a4eda34624173feaabb26e75cf18c5f968301fec</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-05-22T23:45:20</date>
<millis>1400827520826</millis>
<sequence>3</sequence>
<logger>com.zam.minion.controller.MinionController</logger>
<level>FINE</level>
<class>com.zam.minion.controller.MinionController</class>
<method>initBuildAndVersion</method>
<thread>14</thread>
<message>Version: 2.0.0-SNAPSHOT</message>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-05-22T23:45:23</date>
<millis>1400827523081</millis>
<sequence>4</sequence>
<logger>com.zam.minion.service.AddOnDetectionService</logger>
<level>SEVERE</level>
<class>com.zam.minion.service.AddOnDetectionService</class>
<method>getFilteredDirs</method>
<thread>31</thread>
<exception>
<message>java.nio.file.AccessDeniedException: C:\Documents and Settings</message>
<frame>
<class>sun.nio.fs.WindowsException</class>
<method>translateToIOException</method>
<line>83</line>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>sun.nio.fs.WindowsException</class>
<method>rethrowAsIOException</method>
<line>97</line>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>sun.nio.fs.WindowsException</class>
<method>rethrowAsIOException</method>
<line>102</line>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>sun.nio.fs.WindowsDirectoryStream</class>
<method>&lt;init&gt;</method>
<line>86</line>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>sun.nio.fs.WindowsFileSystemProvider</class>
<method>newDirectoryStream</method>
<line>510</line>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>java.nio.file.Files</class>
<method>newDirectoryStream</method>
<line>543</line>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>com.zam.minion.service.AddOnDetectionService</class>
<method>getFilteredDirs</method>
<line>511</line>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>com.zam.minion.service.AddOnDetectionService</class>
<method>checkSavedExist</method>
<line>113</line>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>com.zam.minion.service.AddOnDetectionService</class>
<method>access$000</method>
<line>65</line>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>com.zam.minion.service.AddOnDetectionService$1</class>
<method>call</method>
<line>83</line>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>com.zam.minion.service.AddOnDetectionService$1</class>
<method>call</method>
<line>79</line>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>javafx.concurrent.Task$TaskCallable</class>
<method>call</method>
<line>1259</line>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>java.util.concurrent.FutureTask</class>
<method>run</method>
<line>262</line>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor</class>
<method>runWorker</method>
<line>1145</line>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker</class>
<method>run</method>
<line>615</line>
</frame>
<frame>
<class>java.lang.Thread</class>
<method>run</method>
<line>724</line>
</frame>
</exception>
</record>
<record>
<date>2014-05-22T23:45:23</date>
<millis>1400827523083</millis>
<sequence>5</sequence>
<logger>com.zam.minion.controller.MinionController</logger>
<level>SEVERE</level>
<class>com.zam.minion.controller.MinionController$22$1</class>
<method>invalidated</method>
<thread>14</thread>
<message>AddOn Detection failed: java.lang.NullPointerException</message>
</record>

----------------------------------------------
XML File:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
<minion>
<version>2.0.0-SNAPSHOT</version>
<build>a4eda34624173feaabb26e75cf18c5f968301fec</build>
<client>
<concurrent-updates>2</concurrent-updates>
<game-scan-depth>4</game-scan-depth>
</client>
<user>
<ga-user-id>2f46e614-7ca5-45b4-aca0-8708039b11ca</ga-user-id>
<login-id>Guest</login-id>
</user>
<games>
<game addon-path="C:\Documents and Settings" auto-update="true" game-id="ESO" unique-game-id="ESO-1"/>
</games>
</minion>

-----------------------------------------

I have also attached these two files for download here.
Attached Files
File Type: log minion0.log (4.5 KB, 418 views)
File Type: xml minion.xml (523 Bytes, 414 views)
  Reply With Quote
05/23/14, 07:07 AM   #5
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,211
Hi perigorn,

Looking at your minion.xml you have a bad path in there. Easiest way to fix this is to delete your minion.xml and restart Minion.
  Reply With Quote
05/23/14, 09:19 AM   #6
Riannoc
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
I actually experienced the same problem after the last Minion update. Yesterday it seemed the same mods updated multiple times, then today Minion crashed my computer. When I rebooted I went into an endless loop of "there's a new version of Minion" notices and updates.

I uninstalled and reinstalled but couldn't get things working. Eventually I dug it out of my drive and got it reinstalled but found that it kept hanging on a specific update - InventoryInsight 0.5.1. It would not complete this update, so I exited and manually downloaded and installed it, then launched Minion and it recognized that the mod was now up to date. This update was part of the batch that kept getting stuck yesterday as well, so I think Minion is having a problem handling it for some reason.
  Reply With Quote
05/23/14, 01:29 PM   #7
tweva
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 4
My copy of Minion has worked well until yesterdays ESO patch.
Today, my copy of Minion works right up until it presents the 'Update All' button.

That button has worked before, but today it does nothing.
Individual 'update' buttons on the add-ons listed in the window also do nothing.
  Reply With Quote
05/23/14, 01:32 PM   #8
Cairenn
Credendo Vides
 
Cairenn's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 434
We pushed a release of Minion yesterday, have you updated it yet? If yes, dolby is going to want all the usual information, please - but in the meantime, go to the options tab, disable 'autoupdate' then you can go back to the installed tab and hit the individual update buttons.
__________________
Co-Founder & Admin: MMOUI
Avatar Image by RaffaeleMarinetti
  Reply With Quote
05/23/14, 05:36 PM   #9
perigorn
 
perigorn's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 6
Originally Posted by Dolby View Post
Hi perigorn,

Looking at your minion.xml you have a bad path in there. Easiest way to fix this is to delete your minion.xml and restart Minion.
OK so I got it to boot up and run, BUT now it's saying that it can't find any of my installed add-ons (sigh). I even told it where to find the add-on directory, etc. but it doesn't work. Why is it so freaking hard to get this program working, I mean seriously. I never had any problems with the Curse.com addon software when I was playing WOW, what gives?

Last edited by perigorn : 05/23/14 at 05:42 PM.
  Reply With Quote
05/23/14, 06:55 PM   #10
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 651
I haven't been having any issues with Minion.

Where did you tell it to find the AddOn directory? (Minion should have found it on its own.) You didn't set it to Documents and Settings again, did you?
  Reply With Quote
05/23/14, 07:46 PM   #11
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,211
Originally Posted by perigorn View Post
OK so I got it to boot up and run, BUT now it's saying that it can't find any of my installed add-ons (sigh). I even told it where to find the add-on directory, etc. but it doesn't work. Why is it so freaking hard to get this program working, I mean seriously. I never had any problems with the Curse.com addon software when I was playing WOW, what gives?
This is a beta test, its going to have bugs. I really appreciate your help in testing Minion and sorry its causing you frustration. Curse had years to grow and work the bugs out of their updater. Ours was released a few months ago. Not to mention WoW doesnt have multiple AddOn folders for regions. Just one folder for every one no matter what server you are on which makes things much more simple for an addon updater.

Can you post your new minion.xml and minion0.log so I can see what went wrong?

If you delete your minion.xml it should automatically detect both NA and EU on its own. You should not have to mess with any paths. Is that not happening? Once I see the 2 files it should give me an idea.

Last edited by Dolby : 05/23/14 at 07:52 PM.
  Reply With Quote
05/23/14, 08:33 PM   #12
HalloweenWeed
 
HalloweenWeed's Avatar
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 16
Having the same prob. By same, I mean Minion starts OK, updates my mods OK, but no effect in ESO game.
Checked my minion.xml, garbage pathname. Deleted xml, still garbage:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
<minion>
<config-version>2</config-version>
<version>2.0.0-SNAPSHOT</version>
<build>a4eda34624173feaabb26e75cf18c5f968301fec</build>
<client>
<concurrent-updates>2</concurrent-updates>
<game-scan-depth>4</game-scan-depth>
</client>
<user>
<ga-user-id>afc1cdab-400a-4e42-9705-73f21b1a97e7</ga-user-id>
<login-id>Guest</login-id>
</user>
<games>
<game addon-path="QzpcVXNlcnNcSm9oblxEb2N1bWVudHNcRWxkZXIgU2Nyb2xscyBPbmxpbmVcbGl2ZVxBZGRPbnM=" auto-update="false" display-name="Elder Scrolls Online" game-id="ESO" unique-game-id="ESO-1">
<addons>
<addon md5="0cc7a6e7c269eedbff025eddf8798079" ui-version="1.5.5" uid="206"/>
</addons>
</game>
</games>
</minion>


What is the pathname supposed to be? Ver 2.0.7 worked fine, until the ESO update.
Funny, in the interface it says:
PATH: C:\Users\[me]\Documents\Elder Scrolls Online\live\AddOns

Last edited by HalloweenWeed : 05/23/14 at 08:47 PM. Reason: Added: Ver 2.0.7 worked fine.
  Reply With Quote
05/23/14, 09:02 PM   #13
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,211
Minion utf8->base64's the path when it stores it in the minion.xml so that it can handle unicode paths. You can use this tool to decode it. http://www.base64decode.org/

C:\Users\John\Documents\Elder Scrolls Online\live\AddOns is the path its writing to. Are you on NA or EU mega server?
If you look in there does it show the addon folders?

Do you have "allow out of date addons" enabled in ESO? Many Addons wont load because of the latest patch until you enable the loading of out of date addons. Most addons still work but because of the patch are marked as outdated by ESO.

I wonder is that your problem perigorn? Did you not select to load out of date addons in game after the patch?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	outofdateaddons.jpg
Views:	412
Size:	306.8 KB
ID:	251  

Last edited by Dolby : 05/23/14 at 09:10 PM.
  Reply With Quote
05/23/14, 09:26 PM   #14
HalloweenWeed
 
HalloweenWeed's Avatar
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 16
Originally Posted by Dolby View Post
Minion utf8->base64's the path when it stores it in the minion.xml so that it can handle unicode paths. You can use this tool to decode it. http://www.base64decode.org/

C:\Users\John\Documents\Elder Scrolls Online\live\AddOns is the path its writing to. Are you on NA or EU mega server?
If you look in there does it show the addon folders?

Do you have "allow out of date addons" enabled in ESO? Many Addons wont load because of the latest patch until you enable the loading of out of date addons. Most addons still work but because of the patch are marked as outdated by ESO.
I am on NA.
Yes the add-ons show there. And I tried pasting in the path in the xml file, but Minion just kept detecting ESO setup forever; by that time you posted this and so I have restored the orig xml path string (after closing Minion). Reopened Minion, and restarted ESO, still mods don't work.

"Do you have "allow out of date addons" enabled in ESO?"
I'm sorry, but I don't see that option. Perhaps it was removed from 2.0.8? However, I do see this text:
"Addons Minion will ignore updates for:"
Nothing is listed.


Here are my log files:


minion0.log

Warning: Spoiler




minion1.log

Warning: Spoiler



minion0.log.lck = Empty.
__________________
Skyrim conquerer. Morrowind and Oblivion vet. Long-time single-player computer gamer W/custom-made hi-perf PC W/2 vid cards in Xfire. I just play ESO lately, used to play RTS and action games such as the Far Cry series.
Crappy satellite Internet very laggy pings 700-1000 not good for gaming, can't play most online games but ESO works good enough.
  Reply With Quote
05/23/14, 09:30 PM   #15
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,211
See the picture I attached. "allow out of date addons" is a setting inside the Elder Scrolls Online game. Has nothing to do with Minion.

This is something you will need to check in the Elder Scrolls Online game every time there is a major game update like the Craglorn update.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	outofdateaddons.jpg
Views:	431
Size:	306.8 KB
ID:	252  

Last edited by Dolby : 05/23/14 at 09:37 PM.
  Reply With Quote
05/23/14, 10:45 PM   #16
HalloweenWeed
 
HalloweenWeed's Avatar
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 16
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by Dolby View Post
See the picture I attached. "allow out of date addons" is a setting inside the Elder Scrolls Online game. Has nothing to do with Minion.

This is something you will need to check in the Elder Scrolls Online game every time there is a major game update like the Craglorn update.
Yup, that was it. Working now. Thanx Dolby. Now, if I can only remember to do this each time...
BTW Love minion. Great job guys! :thumbup
__________________
Skyrim conquerer. Morrowind and Oblivion vet. Long-time single-player computer gamer W/custom-made hi-perf PC W/2 vid cards in Xfire. I just play ESO lately, used to play RTS and action games such as the Far Cry series.
Crappy satellite Internet very laggy pings 700-1000 not good for gaming, can't play most online games but ESO works good enough.
  Reply With Quote
05/25/14, 02:49 PM   #17
perigorn
 
perigorn's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 6
Originally Posted by Dolby View Post
Can you post your new minion.xml and minion0.log so I can see what went wrong?

If you delete your minion.xml it should automatically detect both NA and EU on its own. You should not have to mess with any paths. Is that not happening? Once I see the 2 files it should give me an idea.
ok did that and It's still not working (I have always clicked on "load out of date add-ons" so that's not a problem).

So bottom line it's not finding add-ons because it's not looking for add-ons in the DEFAULT directory that ESO puts them in. Sounds retarded, why can't the program find them in the directory where they are easily found. This is incredibly frustrating.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Image1.jpg
Views:	448
Size:	150.1 KB
ID:	262  
Attached Files
File Type: xml minion.xml (812 Bytes, 460 views)
File Type: log minion0.log (14.1 KB, 556 views)
  Reply With Quote
05/25/14, 05:28 PM   #18
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,211
What is the location your addons are install in now? Minion is looking in C:\Users\Daniel\Documents\Elder Scrolls Online\live\AddOns for AddOns which is the default path for most systems.

This path can be changed under options in Minion if its different. If you do decide to change the path just make sure the correct path shows in the input box at the bottom of the window before you hit select.
  Reply With Quote
06/01/14, 02:26 AM   #19
perigorn
 
perigorn's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 6
Originally Posted by Dolby View Post
What is the location your addons are install in now? Minion is looking in C:\Users\Daniel\Documents\Elder Scrolls Online\live\AddOns for AddOns which is the default path for most systems.

This path can be changed under options in Minion if its different. If you do decide to change the path just make sure the correct path shows in the input box at the bottom of the window before you hit select.
Well DUH! That's where they ARE located , I even told Minion to point to that folder, just to be sure and no dice!

So any ideas why this isn't working?
  Reply With Quote
06/01/14, 09:37 AM   #20
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,211
Sorry I mis-understood. I thought you said you were using a different path than the default.

Can you show me a picture of the AddOn directory? Looking at the Minion log it says it can't detect any AddOns at that path.

Can you try installing a new addon and then attach the new mimion0.log? That will show me what is happening when it tries to read/write to that folder.
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » Site Forums » Minion » Why is Minion not working AT ALL?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off