Quantcast
Hanging at splash screen (not load progress) screen - ESOUI
Thread Tools Display Modes
06/03/14, 09:45 AM   #1
BlackBear
 
BlackBear's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 27
Exclamation Hanging at splash screen (not load progress) screen

The program is stuck on loading screen.

I have tried re-installing, launching as admin and checked that I have terminated all other instances of minion.exe before I opened it up again but it is still stuck on loading.

I play ESO on the EU server and I have checked that the addon folder is placed correctly.

Any solution?

EDIT: XML and LOG

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
<minion>
<version>2.0.0-SNAPSHOT</version>
<build>5c59675783f8c363bb0ea514033e4d14e89b65d6</build>
<client>
<concurrent-updates>2</concurrent-updates>
<game-scan-depth>4</game-scan-depth>
</client>
<user>
<ga-user-id>aecaf15f-6e20-48ac-9a61-26376c392a73</ga-user-id>
<access-token>6441edc1c401aaf3050e198083bbc9544d556efd</access-token>
<refresh-token>bc8f0c835f0bb08d6e0bed1d330f16af7aaa9ae6</refresh-token>
<login-id>[email protected]</login-id>
</user>
<games>
<game addon-path="C:\Users\BBC\Documents\Elder Scrolls Online\liveeu\AddOns" auto-update="false" game-id="ESO" unique-game-id="ESO-1">
<addons>

<addon md5="fcfe317e963c5551afbc9883ea700268" ui-version="1.1.3" uid="80"/>
<addon md5="94c189520b60b73df42526dc5b7a4ee5" ui-version="1.3" uid="25"/>
<addon md5="a2d6446f674de3d2db3d6392397325db" ui-version="1.8" uid="106"/>
<addon md5="b468fdba25f2cd1d5ff32b85ec40cfa8" ui-version="1.02" uid="210"/>
<addon md5="364e3d6de58d07c020cc01f1d888b52e" ui-version="0.2.4" uid="286"/>
<addon md5="3c334303615d17f7e50d105c388a5b0e" ui-version="1.22" uid="189"/>
<addon md5="901c241c263a5912965e21ce15a35345" ui-version="0.4.4" uid="81"/>
<addon md5="728f4901c0ff3682b04e240f027d7ddc" ui-version="1.2" uid="131"/>
<addon md5="2bd097addadcf4c47b513287b7955960" ui-version="1.2" uid="151"/>
<addon md5="283895b65b06a883971e6e0e3db3631e" ui-version="0.1.8" uid="2"/>
<addon md5="e6311ea220f2d809a14d3f56aa70f2e1" ui-version="0.4.1b" uid="245"/>
<addon md5="95a582c51fe4b8b40853e4d0fdeac453" ui-version="1.0a1" uid="63"/>
<addon md5="4369d54d20896c9225cbb6d9d2ffb6fd" ui-version="1.0.2" uid="39"/>
<addon md5="d20fd08d1147bc22ebcffd965240a6dc" ui-version="1.1.0b" uid="65"/>
</addons>
</game>
</games>
</minion>
Attached Files
File Type: log minion0.log (506.2 KB, 356 views)
__________________
"BUT THE WILL OF A TEMPLAR IS STRONGER" - Jondarr

Last edited by BlackBear : 06/03/14 at 09:52 AM.
  Reply With Quote
06/03/14, 10:08 AM   #2
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,211
Hello there your log and minion.xml show you are running Minion 2.0.7. Try uninstalling Minion, download the latest version 2.0.9 from http://minion.mmoui.com and install it. If you still have problems please post your new minion.log, version 2.0.9 has greatly increased the error logging so we can better tell what is going on.
  Reply With Quote
06/06/14, 07:27 AM   #3
BlackBear
 
BlackBear's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 27
Hello sorry for the late reply

I have uninstalled the old version and installed the new following your link.

The problem persists. I can't find it on the program list but I can find minion.exe under processers.

I can't find the .minion folder any more either. I guess it is because I can't start up the program.
__________________
"BUT THE WILL OF A TEMPLAR IS STRONGER" - Jondarr

Last edited by BlackBear : 06/06/14 at 07:52 AM.
  Reply With Quote
06/06/14, 10:36 AM   #4
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,211
So you dont get the loading progress window any more when you click the Minion icon? Do you get any errors?

Were there any errors during install? Did the install get to the last screen where it asks you if you would like to start up Minion?
  Reply With Quote
06/07/14, 06:35 AM   #5
BlackBear
 
BlackBear's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 27
I don't get any loading progress it is stuck on the start up screen.

I get no errors, but when I re-installed it, it gave me an error type. It asks me if I cant to install VC++ redistributable package and I click yes.

I install it in my folder:
C:\Users\"USER"\AppData\Local\Minion

It gives me the error code:

PLEASE RESOLVE THE FOLLOWING
A newer version of Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable has been detected on the machine.

I continue to install anyway and nothing happens.
I'll try and update the visual package.

EDIT: Does it mean I have to uninstall any Visual C++ after 2010?
__________________
"BUT THE WILL OF A TEMPLAR IS STRONGER" - Jondarr

Last edited by BlackBear : 06/07/14 at 06:38 AM.
  Reply With Quote
06/09/14, 06:07 AM   #6
Aluluei
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
I am having the exact same problem, including the message about Visual C++ versions. Tried uninstalling/reinstalling/running as admin, but the infinite loading screen persists.
  Reply With Quote
06/09/14, 08:56 AM   #7
MorganaBelladonna
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
I'm also having the same exact issue. It's rather annoying.
  Reply With Quote
06/09/14, 09:16 AM   #8
nightcrawler913
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Same problem

My cousin has a exactly the same problem on his laptop.

Any info on a fix.

Originally Posted by Aluluei View Post
I am having the exact same problem, including the message about Visual C++ versions. Tried uninstalling/reinstalling/running as admin, but the infinite loading screen persists.

PLEASE RESOLVE THE FOLLOWING
A newer version of Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable has been detected on the machine.

Last edited by nightcrawler913 : 06/09/14 at 09:19 AM.
  Reply With Quote
06/09/14, 09:58 AM   #9
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,211
Sounds like you have a corrupt install of the Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable.

Go into add /remove programs and uninstall all Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable. Then uninstall Minion if its installed. Then reinstall Minion.
  Reply With Quote
06/09/14, 07:22 PM   #10
devilwoman85
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 6
Originally Posted by Dolby View Post
Sounds like you have a corrupt install of the Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable.

Go into add /remove programs and uninstall all Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable. Then uninstall Minion if its installed. Then reinstall Minion.
hello, ive the same problem as everyone else in this thread. i have uninstalled minion, reinstalled it and it is stuck on load screen. when i open windows task manager minion does not appear in the applications tab, but it does appear in the processes tab. to stop the stuck program i have to right click and end process tree.
I have also followed your above advice and uninstalled both minion and microsoft visual C++2010 (there was a *64 and *86 version of it and i uninstalled both.) then i reinstalled minion, which reinstalled microsoft visual C++ 2010 *64 version....i started up minion and was yet again stuck on the load screen.

please advise us on what we can try next?

thanks in advance
  Reply With Quote
06/09/14, 08:03 PM   #11
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,211
Originally Posted by devilwoman85 View Post
hello, ive the same problem as everyone else in this thread. i have uninstalled minion, reinstalled it and it is stuck on load screen. when i open windows task manager minion does not appear in the applications tab, but it does appear in the processes tab. to stop the stuck program i have to right click and end process tree.
I have also followed your above advice and uninstalled both minion and microsoft visual C++2010 (there was a *64 and *86 version of it and i uninstalled both.) then i reinstalled minion, which reinstalled microsoft visual C++ 2010 *64 version....i started up minion and was yet again stuck on the load screen.

please advise us on what we can try next?

thanks in advance
Sounds like your issue is a little different, this thread has changed from the original post. Can you post your minion.xml and minion0.log in a new thread please? That helps me determine what the issue may be.

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
06/10/14, 06:58 AM   #12
BlackBear
 
BlackBear's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 27
I have uinstalled the Visual package for 2010 only as you suggested and reinstalled minion but to no avail. I am still stuck on the loading screen.

EDIT: I have the same issue as devilwomen85 it seems. Doesn't show in applications tab for me either but in process tree.
__________________
"BUT THE WILL OF A TEMPLAR IS STRONGER" - Jondarr

Last edited by BlackBear : 06/10/14 at 07:05 AM.
  Reply With Quote
06/10/14, 09:33 AM   #13
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,211
When you explain its stuck on the load screen is it stuck on the splash screen with the Minion logo on it? Or is it stuck on the Loading progress screen with the progress bar?

Can you attach a new minion0.log? We have added a lot more logging in the 2.0.9 version of Minion. Hoping that might have something useful to figure out the problem.

Thanks for sticking with me.

Last edited by Dolby : 06/10/14 at 09:52 AM.
  Reply With Quote
06/10/14, 09:54 AM   #14
BlackBear
 
BlackBear's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 27
Yes, it is stuck on the splash screen with the logo on.

I can't attach the .log file since I don't have any .minion folder. I don't know why, maybe it is because I haven't succesfully started the app?

EDIT: And thank you for all the help so far
__________________
"BUT THE WILL OF A TEMPLAR IS STRONGER" - Jondarr
  Reply With Quote
06/10/14, 10:00 AM   #15
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,211
I have a strange question but what is your default web browser?

Also..

Normally Minion does not require java to be installed on the system but there is a way to launch Minion using the current installed version of Java7.

If you Java7 installed on your system please try this:

1. Go to the install folder for Minion (default C:\Users\<your username>\AppData\Local\Minion\)
2. find the "app" folder and open it
3. find "Minion-jfx.jar" and right click on it. Choose "open with" and select Java.

Does Minion load?
  Reply With Quote
06/10/14, 02:56 PM   #16
BlackBear
 
BlackBear's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 27
I have the newest Java version, I tried updating it again but it said that Old file could not be found.

I tried doing as you said and I get the same splash screen as before.

My default webbrowser is google chrome.
__________________
"BUT THE WILL OF A TEMPLAR IS STRONGER" - Jondarr
  Reply With Quote
06/10/14, 03:35 PM   #17
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,211
Very strange.

I've reached out to our java programmer explaining where Minion is getting stuck for you to get a better understanding on what Minion is doing at that point so we can trouble shoot further.

Thanks for hanging in there.
  Reply With Quote
06/11/14, 02:48 AM   #18
BlackBear
 
BlackBear's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 27
Wow, thanks a lot!

I really hope it will work out because the app is such a splendid feature to have Makes it so easier to play with addons.

Thanks for all your help so far and sorry it is such a hassle.
__________________
"BUT THE WILL OF A TEMPLAR IS STRONGER" - Jondarr
  Reply With Quote
06/16/14, 09:19 AM   #19
Arythmic
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Hello,
While following the process outlined by Dolby on 06/09/14, I noticed that on the installation screen the version to be installed is listed as 2.0. Perhaps this is just a simple editing error or perhaps the wrong version is up for download? I just downloaded minion this morning.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	minion 2.09 install screen.png
Views:	458
Size:	188.3 KB
ID:	308  
  Reply With Quote
06/16/14, 11:52 AM   #20
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,211
Originally Posted by Arythmic View Post
Hello,
While following the process outlined by Dolby on 06/09/14, I noticed that on the installation screen the version to be installed is listed as 2.0. Perhaps this is just a simple editing error or perhaps the wrong version is up for download? I just downloaded minion this morning.
Yeah it just lists the generic version 2.0 in that description text. It says that for any 2.x version. Our deployment processes doesn't edit that text yet.

Our java programmer is investigating splash screen issue some of you are experiencing and hopefully we will have a solution soon for you all.

Last edited by Dolby : 06/16/14 at 12:24 PM.
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » Site Forums » Minion » Hanging at splash screen (not load progress) screen

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off