Thread Tools Display Modes
08/02/15, 03:49 PM   #1
QuadroTony
Banned
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 828
Bug with Latency settings

i thnk this need to be fixed and added to this addon

http://www.esoui.com/downloads/info9...O-UIFixes.html

how to reproduce:

go to Settings - > Interface and turn latency OFF

relog to other hero where latency ON

relog to first one - latency will be On too

tested many times, without addons too
  Reply With Quote
08/02/15, 08:51 PM   #2
circonian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 613
I looked for it, but I couldn't find this one. It may be in code we do not have access to or I just overlooked it.

So only thing I can think of would be to save the setting in saved vars whenever it gets changed then reload the setting when needed.
Lua Code:
  1. -- On setting change save the new value in saved vars:
  2. local function OnsettingChanged(eventCode, system, settingId)
  3.     if system ~= SETTING_TYPE_UI then return end
  4.    
  5.     if settingId == UI_SETTING_SHOW_FRAMERATE or setingId == UI_SETTING_SHOW_LATENCY then
  6.         local newVal = GetSetting_Bool(system, settingId)
  7.        
  8.         -- save it in saved vars:
  9.         someSavedVars[settingId] = newVal
  10.     end
  11. end
  12. EVENT_MANAGER:RegisterForEvent(ADDON_NAME, EVENT_INTERFACE_SETTING_CHANGED, OnsettingChanged)
  13.  
  14. -- Reload the saved settings:
  15. local function OnPlayerActivated()
  16.     local frameRateSetting  = someSavedVars[UI_SETTING_SHOW_FRAMERATE]
  17.     local latencySetting    = someSavedVars[UI_SETTING_SHOW_LATENCY]
  18.    
  19.     SetSetting(SETTING_TYPE_UI, UI_SETTING_SHOW_FRAMERATE, tostring(frameRateSetting))
  20.     SetSetting(SETTING_TYPE_UI, UI_SETTING_SHOW_LATENCY, tostring(latencySetting))
  21. end
  22. EVENT_MANAGER:RegisterForEvent(ADDON_NAME, EVENT_PLAYER_ACTIVATED, OnPlayerActivated)
  Reply With Quote
08/03/15, 02:47 AM   #3
QuadroTony
Banned
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 828
solution but not a fix - turn OFF iton all heroes
  Reply With Quote
08/03/15, 06:04 AM   #4
merlight
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 671
Some settings are bugged since a year ago. For example I have to turn off follower tags every time I do a quest with followers.
  Reply With Quote
08/03/15, 09:03 PM   #5
QuadroTony
Banned
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 828
and no way to fix it by addon's way?
  Reply With Quote
08/04/15, 06:00 AM   #6
Baertram
Super Moderator
 
Baertram's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4,979
You could finally start to learn lua, read the eso source codes like circonian already did and then find the error and fix it.

As workaround you could finally learn addon development and use the workaround that circonian wrote above to build your own "fix my sh**" addon.
  Reply With Quote
08/04/15, 06:21 AM   #7
Wandamey
Guest
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by Baertram View Post
You could finally start to learn lua, read the eso source codes like circonian already did and then find the error and fix it.

As workaround you could finally learn addon development and use the workaround that circonian wrote above to build your own "fix my sh**" addon.
OMG its seem like you're having rough nights and an overgrown sense of priorities those days... should we say congrats for something?
  Reply With Quote
08/04/15, 06:26 AM   #8
Ayantir
 
Ayantir's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,019
Sorry, but I'm 400% agree with Baertram

@New authors, just look Quadro's posts & requests
  Reply With Quote
08/04/15, 06:30 AM   #9
Baertram
Super Moderator
 
Baertram's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4,979
Originally Posted by Wandamey View Post
OMG its seem like you're having rough nights and an overgrown sense of priorities those days... should we say congrats for something?
Did it sound that rude? I only got to the point directly
Nah, I only try to force him to understand that his requests will need time to accomplish, and that he got all answers already in his trhread (like they often are there but get ignored until someone finally does the job for him).
He could easily learn it himself, or just try to. Maybe it is fun for him at least. And if not: He will finally realize that ppl spend their free time to do this and it is "a lot" of time (where he is ingame earning some virtual gold or playing dungeons or whatever).

Originally Posted by Ayantir View Post
Sorry, but I'm 400% agree with Baertram

@New authors, just look Quadro's posts & requests
Thanks
  Reply With Quote
08/04/15, 06:35 AM   #10
Wandamey
Guest
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by Baertram View Post
Nah, I only try to force him to understand that his requests will need time to accomplish, and that he got all answers already in his trhread (like they often are there but get ignored until someone finally does the job for him).
He could easily learn it himself, or just try to. Maybe it is fun for him at least. And if not: He will finally realize that ppl spend their free time to do this and it is "a lot" of time (where he is ingame earning some virtual gold or playing dungeons or whatever).
Ow, i just suspected a Baercubtram in the mix...Ok you're just pissed.
Nothing to justify about what you said to QuadroTony. He has such an horrible comment/upload quota.
  Reply With Quote
08/04/15, 06:50 AM   #11
QuadroTony
Banned
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 828
he is so pissed so he decide even do not add a features i ask, but also do not fix errors i found long ago

look at the DoItAll with FCO support comments

this is so ridiculous

Last edited by QuadroTony : 08/04/15 at 06:53 AM.
  Reply With Quote
08/04/15, 06:54 AM   #12
Wandamey
Guest
Posts: n/a
nobody owes anything to anybody here. If he doesn't see this error with the addons he uses and the way he uses his addon himself then making a fix is a pure loss of time for him.
better ask nicely or do it yourself.
  Reply With Quote
08/04/15, 07:01 AM   #13
QuadroTony
Banned
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 828
enough to pursue me
don't speak to me what should I do and I won't tell you where you must to go
  Reply With Quote
08/04/15, 07:04 AM   #14
Wandamey
Guest
Posts: n/a
i'm gonna add :

you think you're helping with your intensive "testing" and whining? The bugs, they're gonna be found eventually, with or without you.

What you do that nobody else does, is driving authors and potential authors away...

go, tell me.
  Reply With Quote
08/04/15, 07:19 AM   #15
QuadroTony
Banned
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 828
orly?

if there is a search on the info pages of addons you will see how many "thank you" from differents authors i got

atm i remember only FilterIt and GSA, but there is alot more

Last edited by QuadroTony : 08/04/15 at 07:45 AM.
  Reply With Quote
08/04/15, 08:36 AM   #16
ZOS_DanBatson
ZOS Staff!
 
ZOS_DanBatson's Avatar
Yes this person is from ZeniMax!
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 181
This is the same as other SavedVars issues. A bug had been reported and has been fixed internally, which will be in the next PTS build. Please see this post (mainly the end) for reference.

http://www.esoui.com/forums/showthre...2359#post22359
  Reply With Quote
08/04/15, 09:09 AM   #17
merlight
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 671
Originally Posted by ZOS_DanBatson View Post
This is the same as other SavedVars issues. A bug had been reported and has been fixed internally, which will be in the next PTS build.
I don't think this is the same, as it has nothing to do with SavedVars. UI settings are not even saved on the client, afaict.
  Reply With Quote
08/04/15, 09:24 AM   #18
ZOS_DanBatson
ZOS Staff!
 
ZOS_DanBatson's Avatar
Yes this person is from ZeniMax!
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 181
You're right, these used to use SavedVars but they got moved to server settings. Only the position uses SavedVars now. In that case the setting should be the same across characters. If one turns it on, all turn it on.

In the first post, did you turn it OFF on character A, switch to B and it was ON? Or did you turn it OFF on A, switch to B and turn it ON, then switch back to A and it was still ON?
  Reply With Quote
08/04/15, 09:34 AM   #19
QuadroTony
Banned
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 828
Originally Posted by ZOS_DanBatson View Post
it was OFF on A, switch to B and turn it ON, then switch back to A and it was become ON?
this one

Last edited by QuadroTony : 08/04/15 at 09:39 AM.
  Reply With Quote
08/04/15, 09:41 AM   #20
merlight
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 671
login character #3
turn Indicators>Followers OFF
turn Performance>Latency OFF
/camp

login character #2
both settings are OFF, good
/camp

login character #3
both settings are OFF, good
/quit

login character #3
Indicators>Followers is ON, bad
Performance>Latency is OFF, good

So far I wasn't able to reproduce with the Latency setting, but the Followers have been reverting to ON for a looooong time, I wasn't exaggerating when I said a year ago
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » Developer Discussions » General Authoring Discussion » Bug with Latency settings


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off