Quantcast Minion doesn't detect all addons - ESOUI
Thread Tools Display Modes
04/24/14, 10:13 AM   #1
Jeckll
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Minion doesn't detect all addons

Hi there,
I'm sorry if this issue was solved before but I have a hard time using the search function in this forum.

My Minion keeps detecting the same 4 AddOns (Esohead, Inventory Grid View, Research Assistant and SkyShards) while all the other AddOns I have installed do not show up in the "INSTALLED" Tab. I have cleared my AddOns Directory multiple times and reinstalled my AddOns via Minion but every time I restart the programm, the same 4 AddOns are getting detected while the rest is missing.

I already deinstalled Minion a few times, deleted the minion.xml and added the Game manually again in Minion.
I triple checked that the directory I'm installing AddOns in is in fact the directory I chose in the Minion options.

I'd be happy with any tip you might offer.

Thanks a lot,
Jeckll, EU
  Reply With Quote
04/24/14, 10:16 AM   #2
TheBelgarion
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 13
have kinda the same but opposite question.

If I delete the Folder with an AddOn .. Minion still says its installed.
  Reply With Quote
04/24/14, 10:23 AM   #3
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,188
Jeckll can you post your minion.xml? that file is used as a small database for installed addons. If there is something wrong with it and it can't write to the file to record the downloads or its deleted it will cause problems and require you to re-download addons for them to stay in Minion. So if you recently deleted your minion.xml yes you'll need to re-download some addons in Minion for them to stay showing but after that it should continue to remember them unless there is a problem with your minion.xml.

TheBelgarion, when you delete AddOns just use Minion to do it. Right click on the AddOn in the installed list and choose "Uninstall". Right now Minion doesn't do a sanity check for addons removed manually.

Last edited by Dolby : 04/24/14 at 10:28 AM.
  Reply With Quote
04/24/14, 03:06 PM   #4
TheBelgarion
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 13
Hey,

always wondered how to deinstall

I think "Uninstall" Button instead of disabled "installed" Button in the AddOns Page might be good.

thx
  Reply With Quote
04/24/14, 03:17 PM   #5
Cairenn
Credendo Vides
 
Cairenn's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 430
That might be an idea. Worth the team talking about, at the very least.
  Reply With Quote
04/25/14, 07:29 AM   #6
Permabad
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
I've never been able to get Minion to detect all of my add-ons, that's why I really don't use it. Here is my .xml
Attached Files
File Type: xml minion.xml (1.3 KB, 153 views)
  Reply With Quote
04/25/14, 07:38 AM   #7
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,188
Permabad, Minion will remember ones you've downloaded through Minion. So just re-download them (it wont mess with your addon settings) and Minion will start to track the AddOn and should continue to remember it. AddOns are very small so it won't take much of your bandwidth either.

Thanks for posting your minion.xml, everything looks good and it looks like it is already keeping track of 8 AddOns you've downloaded through Minion.

Code:
<addon md5="5e5d4b9c9adfd59509a23d47690d1106" ui-version="0.11b" uid="333"/>
<addon md5="f367807b16f1c15119da476ef789d144" ui-version="v0.9" uid="283"/>
<addon md5="f932b241ff58703995f9f53348cb5de3" ui-version="1.0" uid="141"/>
<addon md5="a00c533422dbc5568279a16db47d95bb" ui-version="0.2.1" uid="268"/>
<addon md5="3c2ca5141df695a860aea92f7534a717" ui-version="0.1.2" uid="335"/>
<addon md5="4dbbe731013fbee9b2c09839a222e20c" ui-version="1.0.6" uid="337"/>
<addon md5="54a0f6b2f56cd164a685999fc85e3135" ui-version="Version 0.02 beta" uid="312"/>
<addon md5="1f27338ff33200e8e5f2e1d58aaa4193" ui-version="0.6.4" uid="128"/>
We do have major improvements coming to Minion soon on addon detection. To better detect addons that have been manually installed.

Last edited by Dolby : 04/25/14 at 07:42 AM.
  Reply With Quote
04/27/14, 01:15 PM   #8
Shalazar
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Thought I'd just ask here instead of creating a new thread...


So Dolby, what you're saying is if Minion is not detecting an addon that was downloaded outside of minion, I can just install it through minion and it won't mess with any of the settings for the addon? Without uninstalling/deleting the folder that the addon is currently in?

I'm having this problem with about 7 of my addons (out of 12) and JUST got finished setting them all up in game and then I found Minion. I really don't want to have to do all that over again.

Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
04/27/14, 01:19 PM   #9
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,188
Originally Posted by Shalazar View Post
Thought I'd just ask here instead of creating a new thread...


So Dolby, what you're saying is if Minion is not detecting an addon that was downloaded outside of minion, I can just install it through minion and it won't mess with any of the settings for the addon? Without uninstalling/deleting the folder that the addon is currently in?

I'm having this problem with about 7 of my addons (out of 12) and JUST got finished setting them all up in game and then I found Minion. I really don't want to have to do all that over again.

Thanks!
Yes that is correct. AddOns save their settings in a different folder that Minion doesn't touch. AddOn settings are in the SavedVariables folder located in C:\Users\<windows user name\Documents\Elder Scrolls Online\live\SavedVariables . Infact AddOns are not allowed to write to their own AddOn folder. Only to their SavedVariable file that is stored in a different location.

That is why if your having a problem with an AddOn just re-installing the AddOn doesnt fix it. Usually its something wrong in the SavedVariable file.
  Reply With Quote
04/27/14, 01:20 PM   #10
Shalazar
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Ah, that makes sense!

Thanks for the quick reply!
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » Site Forums » Minion » Minion doesn't detect all addons

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off