Quantcast Minion very very slow - ESOUI
Thread Tools Display Modes
05/03/14, 03:18 PM   #1
OlliSaa
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 10
Minion very very slow

Hello,

a friend of mine has severe problems with Minion under Windows Vista.
Unfortunately he does not speak English, so he asked me to write this posting for him.

He installed Minion in Windows Vista Home Premium (German).
When he starts Minion, the splash screen with the Minion logo is shown several minutes.
Then Minion detects installed Add-ons, this also takes 15 minutes now and the animated progress bar is still shown.

On my system (Windows 7) Minion works normally so I know how fast minion is.
Detecting my installed Add-ons takes just a view seconds.

What could be the problem here?
In the firewall settings of Windows Vista Minion has the permission (at startup of Minion after 10 minutes there is an "new version of Minion" message).

Thank you!

Greetings

OLLI
  Reply With Quote
05/03/14, 03:22 PM   #2
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,191
Can you have him post his minion.xml and minion0.log, that may help us determine the problem? They are located in the windows user profile directory.

C:\Users\<windows username>\.minion\
  Reply With Quote
05/03/14, 03:40 PM   #3
OlliSaa
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 10
Hello,

I attached the two files from his computer (thanks TeamViewer done very quickly).

Greetings

OLLI
Attached Files
File Type: xml minion.xml (895 Bytes, 230 views)
File Type: log minion0.log (11.0 KB, 171 views)
  Reply With Quote
05/03/14, 04:01 PM   #4
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,191
Looks like in his minion.xml he has a game addon folder pointed to C:\Dokumente und Einstellungen which would trip up Minion. It would make Minion search through every sub folder in that location looking for AddOns.

Follow these steps and it should get him back up and running and hopefully faster.

1. Delete the minion.xml

2. Restart Minion and it will eventually prompt you asking to add a game

3. Select the game Elder Scrolls Online and a file browser window will open

4. Make sure C: is selected in red on the left

5. Find the folder named "Users" and click the triangle next to it to expand it.

6. Now find the folder with your windows user name and expand that

7. Find the folder named "Documents" OR "Dokumente" (NOT My Documents, just Documents) and expand that.

8. Find the folder named "Elder Scrolls Online" and expand it.

9. Find the folder named "liveeu" ("live" if on NA server) and expand it

10. Find the "AddOn" Folder and click on it. The path will show up at the bottom as C:\Users\<your windows username>\Documents\Elder Scrolls Online\liveeu\AddOns

11. Press the select button

12. Close Minion and open it back up again.

13. Use Minion to install AddOns and everything should be happy.

I also notice his windows username uses some unicode characters so I'm interested to see what happens there. Please let me know if this works. After you preform this and still have trouble please post the minion.xml and minion0.log so I can see what happened.

Thanks!

Last edited by Dolby : 05/03/14 at 04:09 PM.
  Reply With Quote
05/03/14, 04:14 PM   #5
OlliSaa
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 10
Hello,

I deleted the minion.xml and restarted Minion.
Same procedure as before.
Minion freezes....

OLLI
  Reply With Quote
05/03/14, 04:16 PM   #6
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,191
Ugh sorry to hear.

Can you post the new minion.xml and minion0.log?

I am wondering if Minion is tripping up on that unicode character in his/her username now. If so we have a fix for that coming, we don't have an eta as we wanted to release it 2 weeks ago now but keep finding this rabbit hole is never ending. I'm hopeing very soon(tm).

Thanks

Last edited by Dolby : 05/03/14 at 04:19 PM.
  Reply With Quote
05/03/14, 04:21 PM   #7
OlliSaa
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 10
Hello,

the two files are attached.

I had to kill the Minion process because it is freezing.
So the XML contains just some lines.
But in the LOG there are some exceptions.

Greetings

OLLI
Attached Files
File Type: xml minion.xml (408 Bytes, 237 views)
File Type: log minion0.log (11.0 KB, 202 views)
  Reply With Quote
05/03/14, 04:27 PM   #8
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,191
I think the error log is an old one. references C:\Dokumente und Einstellungen and thats no longer in the minion.xml.

Where is it freezing? Are you able to get to the EULA, login screen, etc?
  Reply With Quote
05/03/14, 04:32 PM   #9
OlliSaa
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 10
When he starts Minion, he sees the splash screen for 5 minutes (with the Minion Logo).
Then we see the login screen and log in as guest.
Then Minion tells me that there is an update available, but we skip that (we downloaded and installed Minion today).
Then there is a progress bar shown detecting the existing add-ons.

My friend told me that he had Minion installed before and at the first start it was working normally.
At the second start it took such a long time.
Then he un-installed it.
This was about 4 weeks ago.
Today we installed it...
  Reply With Quote
05/03/14, 04:37 PM   #10
OlliSaa
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 10
Very strange is that Minion will install in the following directory:
C:\Users\Hölle\AppData\Local\Minion

But even if I un-install it and re-install it in "C:\Program Files" the splash screen is shown after one minute.

Last edited by OlliSaa : 05/03/14 at 04:41 PM.
  Reply With Quote
05/03/14, 04:42 PM   #11
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,191
Originally Posted by OlliSaa View Post
Very strange is that Minion will install in the following directory:
C:\Users\Hölle\AppData\Local\Minion

But even if I un-install it and re-install it in "C:\Program Files" the splash screen is shown after one minute.
Thats normal for Java apps.
  Reply With Quote
05/03/14, 04:43 PM   #12
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,191
If its sitting at the splash screen for a long time its trying to connect to the internet. Is it possible your friends connection to our servers is really slow right now? Minion does use some internet settings from what ever default browser you have installed. Are there any proxy plugins so you can watch videos from other counties installed and enabled?
  Reply With Quote
05/03/14, 04:45 PM   #13
OlliSaa
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 10
The splash screen shows the following text:

Initializing Window controls.
Fetching Global Configuration.
Loading ESO game data.

If I ping your server from his computer I get:

C:\Users\Hölle>ping www.esoui.com

Ping wird ausgeführt für esoui.com [184.172.12.15] mit 32 Bytes Daten:
Antwort von 184.172.12.15: Bytes=32 Zeit=148ms TTL=52
Antwort von 184.172.12.15: Bytes=32 Zeit=147ms TTL=52
Antwort von 184.172.12.15: Bytes=32 Zeit=147ms TTL=52
Antwort von 184.172.12.15: Bytes=32 Zeit=147ms TTL=52

Ping-Statistik für 184.172.12.15:
Pakete: Gesendet = 4, Empfangen = 4, Verloren = 0 (0% Verlust),
Ca. Zeitangaben in Millisek.:
Minimum = 147ms, Maximum = 148ms, Mittelwert = 147ms

Looks good
  Reply With Quote
05/03/14, 04:54 PM   #14
OlliSaa
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 10
I saw that while the splash screen was showing "Loading ESO game data." that the selection of the game was in the background.
I saw this accidental by pessing ALT-TAB.
I added ESO and selected the correct Add-on folder.
Minion detected the installed Add-ons.

Then I closed Minion and started it.
But the splash screen is still shown for a very ling time.
Then I saw the question with the update for minion and I clicked on "Now".
After 2 minutes the progress bar is still empty.

It looks like a very slow connection to your servers.
But the ping was OK.
  Reply With Quote
05/03/14, 05:06 PM   #15
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,191
Oh is it having trouble downloading the update? That is served off our CDN cdn.mmoui.com. The API Minion communicates with mmoui.com over port 443.

Is it possible there is a malware scanner or firewall blocking those domains?
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » Site Forums » Minion » Minion very very slow

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off