Quantcast [Demo] ChatTabs Framework ... - ESOUI
Thread Tools Display Modes
04/04/14, 07:47 PM   #1
thelegendaryof
 
thelegendaryof's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 161
Post ChatTabs Manager ...

Edit:

Renamed from Framework to Manager (sounds better / more correct)

This is no longer a Demo but can already be used in your Plugins!

ChatTabs Manager:

http://www.esoui.com/downloads/info1...bsManager.html

Example Plugin to help you getting started:

http://www.esoui.com/downloads/info130.html

Last edited by thelegendaryof : 04/06/14 at 04:03 PM. Reason: Out of Demo - Release + Example Plugin
  Reply With Quote
04/05/14, 07:59 AM   #2
thelegendaryof
 
thelegendaryof's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 161
Added a new "intrusive" mode that hides all the default Chat-Elements,
even the EditBox (even when pressing enter it will not show up or register the inputs).



Edit: This is now the "default" mode.

Last edited by thelegendaryof : 04/06/14 at 04:08 PM.
  Reply With Quote
04/05/14, 01:37 PM   #3
Lyeos
 
Lyeos's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 6
This looks nice. I'll test this later
  Reply With Quote
04/06/14, 08:11 AM   #4
thelegendaryof
 
thelegendaryof's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 161
Yo I've edited my initial Topic - as it is no longer a Demo and can already be used in your Plugins!

And if anyone advanced could check my code I would really appreciated it . Lua is still a bit odd for me and I'm not sure if I'm doing stuff at the most straight and efficient way or if I'm running in circles instead. Poke me if you find any misstakes!

Many Thanks and Cheers!

Last edited by thelegendaryof : 04/06/14 at 04:07 PM.
  Reply With Quote
04/06/14, 06:56 PM   #5
zeakfury
 
zeakfury's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2
So couldn't get the control to show when clicking on the tab (with your new update 51). It looks like you are trying to use a table.variable in multiple functions, particularly the tab.control and tab.soft, but the "tab" table you are calling is not global. Thus these variables are nil.

In your previous one you linked everything to the object thus you could call the variables in all functions.

At least that is what I think, I'm new to Lua too so correct me if I am wrong.
  Reply With Quote
04/06/14, 07:24 PM   #6
thelegendaryof
 
thelegendaryof's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 161
Well I did something stupid in the last update (0.5.1).

I actually initialized my stuff in the OnPlayerActivated Event that gets called after every Loadingscreen and didn't unregister it after the first usage. And in return bugged stuff out badly by fixing what wasn't broken. I'll revert what I did - then everything should be fine again!

Last edited by thelegendaryof : 04/06/14 at 07:44 PM.
  Reply With Quote
04/06/14, 08:10 PM   #7
thelegendaryof
 
thelegendaryof's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 161
Updated to 0.5.2

Should be working as intended again.

Sorry for the inconveniences!
  Reply With Quote
04/07/14, 04:39 PM   #8
zeakfury
 
zeakfury's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2
Works amazingly well, thank you. Implementing it as we speak.

Two things to consider though:

1) Use SetDrawLevel(3) on the content window so that it will show up above the chat window (just found this out). Couldn't use my buttons when I parented the window and this was the cause.

2) Might want to add a tab tracker that saves the name of the created tab to a list then searches for that name to try to find the tab.index or something.

Right now if you change the position of the tab it will still associate the old tab.index with it. So moving tab 2 to tab 5, the new tab 2 will still open up the old tab 2's content.
  Reply With Quote
04/08/14, 10:39 AM   #9
StealthStalker
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 69
So this could theoretically be used to combine all the different "window" addons I have?

eg:

CLS, Dragonloot, etc?

Provided those authors implemented support... hm
  Reply With Quote
04/08/14, 06:41 PM   #10
thelegendaryof
 
thelegendaryof's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 161
Yep. Its only 1-2 lines in addition to their usual code and could be completely optional i. e. for providing an undock-option.

@zeakfury:

Glad you like it. I've noticed that too - thanks for the DrawLevel suggestion I'll add that right now.

For the second one - yea haven't really gotten around it reimplementing it yet. I had that function before in the Demo it just was made for a single static instance and I was to lazy to rewrite it yet. I'll do that when I'll add the Garbage Collector that automatically deletes unused Tabs (f. e. when someone undocks or disables his Plugin).

Last edited by thelegendaryof : 04/08/14 at 06:45 PM.
  Reply With Quote
04/08/14, 06:52 PM   #11
Xrystal
caritas omnia vincit
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 369
sounds similar to the infopanel plugins that were created in nUI addon for wow. Was a very handy utility to have. Information at your finger tips but inobtrusive when not required.
  Reply With Quote
04/09/14, 06:36 AM   #12
thelegendaryof
 
thelegendaryof's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 161
I see that zeak managed to get it implemented. Seems like i need to add a better version check and documentation.
Ill try to push that out soon together with the Garbage Collector.

Seeing that there is a new neat Lib out I feel like that this should have a smiliar naming convention like
LibChatTabs to keep it more clear to the Enduser and the Developer alike.

Oh sometimes I really hate naming something (goes for Characternames as well).

Last edited by thelegendaryof : 04/09/14 at 09:00 AM.
  Reply With Quote
04/09/14, 12:36 PM   #13
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 651
Originally Posted by thelegendaryof View Post
Ill try to push that out soon together with the Garbage Collector.
??? Again, you shouldn't have to be messing with the garbage collector. Especially using this version of Lua.
  Reply With Quote
04/09/14, 02:16 PM   #14
thelegendaryof
 
thelegendaryof's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 161
Originally Posted by Seerah View Post
??? Again, you shouldn't have to be messing with the garbage collector. Especially using this version of Lua.
Ah no don't misunderstand that. I mean writing an OWN Garbage Collector just for the Chat Tabs that just removes unused Tabs (as in triggering the intended API-Functions for that). Not forcing "the" native garbagecollector of Lua itself to collect my stuff. I fully understood that it isn't good to use the native one as ESO has it 's own internal way of handling the garbage itself.

Last edited by thelegendaryof : 04/09/14 at 02:22 PM.
  Reply With Quote
04/09/14, 05:05 PM   #15
thelegendaryof
 
thelegendaryof's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 161
My update on CTM has been pushed back in favor of FastReport:

http://www.reddit.com/r/elderscrolls...leporthackers/

http://www.esoui.com/downloads/info181-FastReport.html
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » AddOns » Alpha/Beta AddOns » [Demo] ChatTabs Framework ...

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off