Quantcast Hide Map Ping Texture, Please! - ESOUI
Thread Tools Display Modes
08/01/19, 12:11 PM   #1
amber1019
Addon Addict
 
amber1019's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 70
Angry Hide Map Ping Texture, Please!

Even after disabling all addons and libraries, and restarting the game, there's a blue map ping stuck on my map. (I had disabled everything to make sure it was in fact a base-game issue.)

I've tried disbanding my party and rejoining. The map ping disappears when not in a party, and reappears when I regroup.
It even moves for a few seconds if a party member pings somewhere else, but it always moves back into the same spot that it was in prior.

So, I've decided I'd rather not see map pings whatsoever. Never ever do I want to see one of these godforsaken map pings.

I've already googled my day away trying to find other fixes. Nothing is working for me.

My request is that someone makes an addon that makes the blue map ping invisible/hidden.
No mouse tooltip on the map for the ping. No compass information if I happen to look in the direction of a map ping.


OR...

Someone makes an addon that allows you to easily place and remove map pings, even map pings created by other players in your group.

I can supply an "invisible" texture, if it's needed.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/q7ape7orar...Blank.dds?dl=0
(Download from that dropbox link.)

Pictures in spoiler to further clarify the issue I'm having:
Warning: Spoiler


Thank you. This would be a big quality-of-life addon. This problem is really driving me nuts.
__________________
Warning: Spoiler
  Reply With Quote
08/01/19, 12:36 PM   #2
Baertram
 
Baertram's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2,426
I got this problem as well but wasn't able to rebuild it.
Good to know it's a vanilla game UI problem and not raised through an addon (or did you leave libraries like LibGPS or LibMapPIng enabled as you have tested it?)

Removing map pings in total wouldn't be nice as it would break addons :-) Maybe removing the texture will work but do you really want to hide them all?
I'd rather get ZOs fix this bug where the mapping texture show without reason and moves even though noone used and changed it.
  Reply With Quote
08/01/19, 12:52 PM   #3
sirinsidiator
 
sirinsidiator's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,282
What you see is very likely the group pings from addons that share data via pings. It's actually pretty easy to make an addon to permanently hide them. One would just need to call the SuppressPing function of LibMapPing and leave it like that. But that would hide ALL of them, even the ones that group members create by hand. A more proper solution would be to check if the ping is on the currently opened map in the BeforePingAdded callback and suppress or unsuppress as needed.
__________________
Like what I do? Support me on Patreon!
>siri.exe MyAddon
Does your addon work? [y/n] n
There is a typo in there.
  Reply With Quote
08/01/19, 01:06 PM   #4
amber1019
Addon Addict
 
amber1019's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 70
Thumbs up Hide Them Or Easily Remove Them As Needed. Either Works For Me.

Originally Posted by Baertram View Post
Good to know it's a vanilla game UI problem and not raised through an addon (or did you leave libraries like LibGPS or LibMapPIng enabled as you have tested it?)

Removing map pings in total wouldn't be nice as it would break addons :-) Maybe removing the texture will work but do you really want to hide them all?
Like I said, I disabled all addons and all libraries and the issue was still present. Even after completing restarting the game.

And to answer your other question, yes. I'd be perfectly happy with all of the blue map pings totally hidden. They're more of a problem than a feature.

As for what sirinsidiator said... most of that is gibberish to me since I know diddly squat about code/API things.
But, whatever would allow me to hide the blue map pings or easily remove them as they happen if they get stuck, I would be ecstatic about.
__________________
Warning: Spoiler
  Reply With Quote
08/01/19, 01:42 PM   #5
Baertram
 
Baertram's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2,426
Download and enable LibMapPing and try this in the chat if the blue player map pings are shown again (or maybe even before to never see them again):

Code:
/script LibMapPing:SuppressPing(MAP_PIN_TYPE_PING)
If you want to see them again use:
Code:
/script LibMapPing:UnsuppressPing(MAP_PIN_TYPE_PING)
You could try to add this to the small addon with the /slash command I had created for you.
Just define something like this:

Lua Code:
  1. local function togglePlayerMapPings(onOrOff)
  2.  if not LibMapPing then return end
  3.  if onOrOff then
  4.    LibMapPing:SuppressPing(MAP_PIN_TYPE_PING)
  5.  else
  6.    LibMapPing:UnsuppressPing(MAP_PIN_TYPE_PING)
  7.  end
  8. end

Then add something to the slash commands like a new line with your own / command you'd like to use for on and one for off.
Maybe /pmpon and /pmpoff
And for /pmpon use the function togglePlayerMapPings(true) and for the other one togglePlayerMapPings(false)

Last edited by Baertram : 08/01/19 at 02:27 PM.
  Reply With Quote
08/01/19, 01:57 PM   #6
amber1019
Addon Addict
 
amber1019's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 70
Exclamation Map Pings. Not Waypoints.

Originally Posted by Baertram View Post
Download and enable LibMapPing and try this in the chat if the blue player map pings are shown again (or maybe even before to never see them again):

Code:
/script LibMapPing:SuppressPing(MAP_PIN_TYPE_PLAYER_WAYPOINT)
If you want to see them again use:
Code:
/script LibMapPing:UnsuppressPing(MAP_PIN_TYPE_PLAYER_WAYPOINT)
Those scripts hide the waypoints you create by pressing "F" on the map. I don't want to hide waypoints.
I want to hide the blue map pings, like shown in the first post in the spoiler tag.

__________________
Warning: Spoiler
  Reply With Quote
08/01/19, 02:24 PM   #7
Baertram
 
Baertram's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2,426
Oh, replace this
Code:
MAP_PIN_TYPE_PLAYER_WAYPOINT
with this then and try if this works:
Code:
MAP_PIN_TYPE_PING
  Reply With Quote
08/01/19, 02:35 PM   #8
amber1019
Addon Addict
 
amber1019's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 70
Originally Posted by Baertram View Post
Oh, replace this
Code:
MAP_PIN_TYPE_PLAYER_WAYPOINT
with this then and try if this works:
Code:
MAP_PIN_TYPE_PING
/script LibMapPing:SuppressPing(MAP_PIN_TYPE_PING)
doesn't seem to do anything.

Thank you for the effort. Any other ideas?
__________________
Warning: Spoiler
  Reply With Quote
08/01/19, 02:39 PM   #9
Baertram
 
Baertram's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2,426
Nope, it's sirinsidiator's library. Maybe he got an idea or can help any further
  Reply With Quote
08/02/19, 07:21 AM   #10
sirinsidiator
 
sirinsidiator's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,282
Suppressing pings works on a per unit tag base for the group pings. You'd need to call it once for each possible group member like so:
Code:
/script for i=1, 24 do LibMapPing:SuppressPing(MAP_PIN_TYPE_PING, GetGroupUnitTagByIndex(i)) end
__________________
Like what I do? Support me on Patreon!
>siri.exe MyAddon
Does your addon work? [y/n] n
There is a typo in there.
  Reply With Quote
08/02/19, 08:47 AM   #11
amber1019
Addon Addict
 
amber1019's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 70
Originally Posted by sirinsidiator View Post
Suppressing pings works on a per unit tag base for the group pings. You'd need to call it once for each possible group member like so:
Code:
/script for i=1, 24 do LibMapPing:SuppressPing(MAP_PIN_TYPE_PING, GetGroupUnitTagByIndex(i)) end
Would the next member be i=2? Then i=3?
And how would I undo it? Change "SuppressPing" to "UnsuppressPing"?
__________________
Warning: Spoiler
  Reply With Quote
08/02/19, 10:45 AM   #12
Baertram
 
Baertram's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2,426
The for i=1,24 does this already in a loop from 1 to 24 for you.
So only call the script once and all possible 24 group members should be in.

Yep, as shown above change to UnsuppressPing.
  Reply With Quote
08/02/19, 02:05 PM   #13
amber1019
Addon Addict
 
amber1019's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 70
Thumbs up Cool. Thanks.

Originally Posted by Baertram View Post
The for i=1,24 does this already in a loop from 1 to 24 for you.
So only call the script once and all possible 24 group members should be in.

Yep, as shown above change to UnsuppressPing.
Okay. Thank you, Baertram and Sirinsidiator! I'll try this the next chance I get.

I still think an addon dedicated to toggling (suppressing & unsuppressing) the map pings would be great. I know people on Fyrakin's minimap comment page have complained about the map pings getting stuck (a lot of users probably thing it's their minimap addons causing the issue) and I read a handful of forums where people had map pings stuck on their map.

Sounds like a bug the addon author community is left with to fix on their own. And it sounds like either one of you could easily create such an addon.
__________________
Warning: Spoiler
  Reply With Quote
08/03/19, 04:23 AM   #14
Baertram
 
Baertram's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2,426
Nope, I don't get paid for ZOs job
Code is above, if it helps create your keybindings and release the addon.

But I'd recommend to post this with /bug ingame if it happens without addons as well.
I already had done this, maybe the more the better.
  Reply With Quote
08/03/19, 05:57 AM   #15
Baertram
 
Baertram's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2,426
Here is the code for the small SlashCommands addon I had created for you.
New slash commands are /mppon and /mppoff

SlashCommands v0.2

Last edited by Baertram : 08/05/19 at 11:00 AM.
  Reply With Quote
08/03/19, 10:46 AM   #16
amber1019
Addon Addict
 
amber1019's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 70
Originally Posted by Baertram View Post
Here is the code for the small SlashCommands addon I had created for you.
New slash commands are /mppon and /mppoff

SlashCommands v0.2
Thank you, Baertram.

Although, both of the new commands enable the player map pings.
Chat says "Player map pings enabled" with both /mppon and /mppoff.

Is this the problem?

Code:
	SLASH_COMMANDS["/mppon"] = function() toggle_MapPingFromPlayers(true) end
	SLASH_COMMANDS["/mppoff"] = function() toggle_MapPingFromPlayers(true) end
Should the 2nd part of the code say "(false)" instead of "(true)"?
I'm just taking a guess.
__________________
Warning: Spoiler
  Reply With Quote
08/03/19, 11:39 AM   #17
Baertram
 
Baertram's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2,426
Yes, copy & paste error...
True: enable
False: disable

/mppon toggle_MapPingFromPlayers(true)
/mppoff toggle_MapPingFromPlayers(false)
  Reply With Quote
08/03/19, 12:14 PM   #18
amber1019
Addon Addict
 
amber1019's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 70
Originally Posted by Baertram View Post
Yes, copy & paste error...
True: enable
False: disable

/mppon toggle_MapPingFromPlayers(true)
/mppoff toggle_MapPingFromPlayers(false)
I got this error when I tried to use /mppoff:

user:/AddOns/SlashCommands/SlashCommands.lua:23: function expected instead of nil
stack traceback:
user:/AddOns/SlashCommands/SlashCommands.lua:23: in function 'toggle_MapPingFromPlayers'
|caaaaaa<Locals> state = false, stateTexts = tbl, i = 1 </Locals>|r
user:/AddOns/SlashCommands/SlashCommands.lua:31: in function 'fn'
EsoUI/Ingame/SlashCommands/SlashCommands_Shared.lua:71: in function 'DoCommand'
|caaaaaa<Locals> text = "/mppoff", command = "/mppoff", arguments = "", fn = user:/AddOns/SlashCommands/SlashCommands.lua:31 </Locals>|r
EsoUI/Ingame/ChatSystem/SharedChatSystem.lua:1814: in function 'SharedChatSystem:SubmitTextEntry'
|caaaaaa<Locals> self = tbl, text = "/mppoff", valid = false, prefix = 47 </Locals>|r
EsoUI/Ingame/ChatSystem/SharedChatSystem.lua:2577: in function 'ZO_ChatTextEntry_Execute'
|caaaaaa<Locals> control = ud </Locals>|r
ZO_ChatWindowTextEntryEditBox_Enter:3: in function '(main chunk)'
|caaaaaa<Locals> self = ud </Locals>|r
(tail call): ?
(tail call): ?
__________________
Warning: Spoiler
  Reply With Quote
08/03/19, 03:56 PM   #19
Baertram
 
Baertram's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2,426
Oh, there is a typo, it should be Unsuppress instead of UNsuppress.
Corrected version:
SlashCommands v0.2

Last edited by Baertram : 08/05/19 at 11:01 AM.
  Reply With Quote
08/04/19, 08:17 PM   #20
amber1019
Addon Addict
 
amber1019's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 70
Unhappy Still Getting An Error

Originally Posted by Baertram View Post
Oh, there is a typo, it should be Unsuppress instead of UNsuppress.
Corrected version:
SlashCommands v0.2
Sorry to keep bothering you, but I tried /mppoff again tonight and I still got an error with the new version.

Lua Code:
  1. user:/AddOns/SlashCommands/SlashCommands.lua:25: operator .. is not supported for string .. nil
  2. stack traceback:
  3. user:/AddOns/SlashCommands/SlashCommands.lua:25: in function 'toggle_MapPingFromPlayers'
  4. |caaaaaa<Locals> toggleState = false, stateTexts = tbl </Locals>|r
  5. user:/AddOns/SlashCommands/SlashCommands.lua:31: in function 'fn'
  6. EsoUI/Ingame/SlashCommands/SlashCommands_Shared.lua:71: in function 'DoCommand'
  7. |caaaaaa<Locals> text = "/mppoff", command = "/mppoff", arguments = "", fn = user:/AddOns/SlashCommands/SlashCommands.lua:31 </Locals>|r
  8. EsoUI/Ingame/ChatSystem/SharedChatSystem.lua:1814: in function 'SharedChatSystem:SubmitTextEntry'
  9. |caaaaaa<Locals> self = tbl, text = "/mppoff", valid = false, prefix = 47 </Locals>|r
  10. EsoUI/Ingame/ChatSystem/SharedChatSystem.lua:2577: in function 'ZO_ChatTextEntry_Execute'
  11. |caaaaaa<Locals> control = ud </Locals>|r
  12. ZO_ChatWindowTextEntryEditBox_Enter:3: in function '(main chunk)'
  13. |caaaaaa<Locals> self = ud </Locals>|r
  14. (tail call): ?
  15. (tail call): ?

Any idea?
__________________
Warning: Spoiler
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » AddOns » AddOn Search/Requests » Hide Map Ping Texture, Please!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off