Quantcast
"Post Reply" doesn't have a full-feature editor anymore. - ESOUI
Thread Tools Display Modes
12/21/22, 08:09 PM   #1
NeuroticPixels
Addon Addict
 
NeuroticPixels's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 188
Question "Post Reply" doesn't have a full-feature editor anymore.

Why don't mod comment pages have the full editor any more? I've tried checking my account settings and using the "Switch Editor Mode" button, but can't seem to get all the buttons back.It used to be like the forums. Like this:


Now, it's like this:
  Reply With Quote
12/21/22, 08:24 PM   #2
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,252
If you look in your java script console is there anything being blocked from loading?

Nothing has changed code wise so possibly something is blocking our script from loading? A few other people have mentioned this happens to them but not all the time either.

If you follow this URL do you see any javascript? https://cdn-eso.mmoui.com/clientscri...it.js?v=3612.7

Last edited by Dolby : 12/21/22 at 08:29 PM.
  Reply With Quote
12/21/22, 08:38 PM   #3
NeuroticPixels
Addon Addict
 
NeuroticPixels's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 188
(I'm using Microsoft Edge browser.) I tried "InPrivate" mode, with no browser extensions, and I tried "Internet Explorer Mode". Neither solved the problem.
This is what the console shows me:


It seems it might be related? I'm not sure. Any ideas?
  Reply With Quote
12/21/22, 08:47 PM   #4
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,252
Hmm that is likely the cause or the result of the js not loading properly? I loaded the site up in the latest edge from win10 and do not get these errors. Very strange.

Can you think of any windows apps you might be running that interact with webpages?
  Reply With Quote
12/21/22, 08:59 PM   #5
NeuroticPixels
Addon Addict
 
NeuroticPixels's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 188
I wouldn't think so. It's a pretty new PC.
I have ESO, COD, Battle.net Launcher, Steam, Razer Synapse, iTunes, Nvidia GEForce Experience, Discord, and Notepad++ installed. That's pretty much it.

I also have off Windows Defender and the firewall, and all that.


Is Java and Javascript the same thing, or related? Because this PC doesn't have Java installed.
Should I go install it from Java | Oracle?
  Reply With Quote
12/21/22, 09:50 PM   #6
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,252
Javascript for websites is rendered by the browser. Different than java.

I'll continue to try and find something to reproduce it so I can try and fix it. I have pretty much the same things installed but windows defender & firewall is on.
  Reply With Quote
12/21/22, 11:10 PM   #7
NeuroticPixels
Addon Addict
 
NeuroticPixels's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 188
I also cleared out all of my cookies and browsing history and all of that browsing data stuff. I checked my browser's "site permissions" and javascript is allowed. I even tried a comment page with "use hardware acceleration" on and off. No difference. And I disabled any security options in the browser's settings. No change.

I'm stumped.
  Reply With Quote
12/21/22, 11:15 PM   #8
NeuroticPixels
Addon Addict
 
NeuroticPixels's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 188
Originally Posted by Dolby View Post
If you follow this URL do you see any javascript? https://cdn-eso.mmoui.com/clientscri...it.js?v=3612.7
I just saw your edit of this. I don't know what I'm looking for. It's just a wall of text/code.
  Reply With Quote
12/22/22, 04:27 AM   #9
Baertram
Super Moderator
 
Baertram's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4,439
I'm also using Edge and tried Firefox and Chrome, all browsers render the buttons well.
If I'm able to help here somehow, I'm up for it.

Are you using Windows 11 already NeuroticPixels?
Other usres reporting the missing buttons used Windows 7 afaik.
I'm using Win10.

Maybe it's Windows dependent, any update that Windows did and installed (or not installed on Win11 and Win7).
  Reply With Quote
12/22/22, 06:18 AM   #10
sirinsidiator
 
sirinsidiator's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,534
I'm having the same issue on Windows 11 22H2 with Firefox 108.0.1. I just did a bit of digging and it seems to be a server side issue.
When I compare the source coming from the server for a forum editor and a comment editor, the html elements for the editor buttons in questions are completely missing:
https://www.esoui.com/forums/newrepl...uote=1&p=46890
Code:
<td id="vB_Editor_001" class="vBulletin_editor" width="100%">
<div id="vB_Editor_001_controls" class="controlbar">
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0">
<tr>
<td><div class="imagebutton" id="vB_Editor_001_cmd_removeformat"><img src="//cdn-eso.mmoui.com/images/style_esoui/editor/removeformat.gif" width="21" height="20" alt="Remove Text Formatting" /></div></td>
<td><img src="//cdn-eso.mmoui.com/images/style_esoui/editor/separator.gif" width="6" height="20" alt="" /></td>
<td><div class="imagebutton" id="vB_Editor_001_popup_fontname" title="Fonts">
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0">
<tr>
<td class="popup_feedback"><div id="vB_Editor_001_font_out" style="width:91px">&nbsp;</div></td>
<td class="popup_pickbutton"><img src="//cdn-eso.mmoui.com/images/style_esoui/editor/menupop.gif" width="11" height="16" alt="" /></td>
</tr>
</table>
</div></td>
<td><div class="imagebutton" id="vB_Editor_001_popup_fontsize" title="Sizes">
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0">
<tr>
<td class="popup_feedback"><div id="vB_Editor_001_size_out" style="width:25px">&nbsp;</div></td>
<td class="popup_pickbutton"><img src="//cdn-eso.mmoui.com/images/style_esoui/editor/menupop.gif" width="11" height="16" alt="" /></td>
</tr>
</table>
</div></td>
https://www.esoui.com/downloads/addc...ent&fileid=695
Code:
<td id="vB_Editor_001" class="vBulletin_editor" width="100%">
<div id="vB_Editor_001_controls" class="controlbar">
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0">
<tr>
<td><div class="imagebutton" id="vB_Editor_001_cmd_removeformat"><img src="//cdn-eso.mmoui.com/images/style_esoui/editor/removeformat.gif" width="21" height="20" alt="Remove Text Formatting" /></div></td>
<td><img src="//cdn-eso.mmoui.com/images/style_esoui/editor/separator.gif" width="6" height="20" alt="" /></td>
<td><div class="imagebutton" id="vB_Editor_001_popup_smilie" title="Smilies">
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0">
<tr>
<td><img src="//cdn-eso.mmoui.com/images/style_esoui/editor/smilie.gif" alt="" width="21" height="20" /></td>
<td class="alt_pickbutton"><img src="//cdn-eso.mmoui.com/images/style_esoui/editor/menupop.gif" width="11" height="16" alt="" /></td>
</tr>
</table>
</div></td>
I also noticed that vBulletin is disabling the javascript console in vbulletin_global.js on line 1, unless console.firebug is set. Since firebug no longer exists, this means nobody will ever see any errors in case there are some. Not that there are any in this case.

Last edited by sirinsidiator : 12/22/22 at 06:20 AM.
  Reply With Quote
12/22/22, 01:00 PM   #11
NeuroticPixels
Addon Addict
 
NeuroticPixels's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 188
Originally Posted by Baertram View Post
Are you using Windows 11 already NeuroticPixels?
Windows 10.


Sirinsidiatorís post sounds interesting!
  Reply With Quote
12/22/22, 02:27 PM   #12
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,252
Yeah its certainly looks server side. I see the template vbulletin uses and the ones missing are wrapped in conditionals but when I trace down the variables on those conditionals they should be true for you guys. I went and just removed the conditionals so those template items display always no matter what editor you have selected. Let me know if the buttons show for you now?
  Reply With Quote
12/22/22, 02:43 PM   #13
NeuroticPixels
Addon Addict
 
NeuroticPixels's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 188
Buttons are back for me!
  Reply With Quote
12/22/22, 03:52 PM   #14
sirinsidiator
 
sirinsidiator's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,534
Works better, but I'm still missing the font options in the first row.
  Reply With Quote
12/22/22, 06:10 PM   #15
NeuroticPixels
Addon Addict
 
NeuroticPixels's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 188
Ah, yes. I have the same issue, I think.
I have the font options, but the actual dropdown menu gets mostly hidden after I click my mouse in the message box to start typing. After I interact with the message box, it gets mostly hidden, but I can still interact with the drop-down arrow to select fonts.
I hope that makes sense.


Before interaction with message box:

After clicking to get ready to type:
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » Site Forums » Site help, bugs, suggestions/questions » "Post Reply" doesn't have a full-feature editor anymore.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off