Quantcast Minion won't start - Page 2 - ESOUI
Thread Tools Display Modes
04/29/19, 02:08 PM   #21
Lucifer66
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 20
OK, well I don't see an option to change to Latin characters anyways, so perhaps if that is necessary then you might need to provide a tutorial. However, I have had no problems with other programs like Nexus Addon Manager needing this done.

Also, Minion did work for me for like a week or so then stopped working. So I'm not entirely sure the whole Latin characters is the problem.
  Reply With Quote
04/29/19, 04:26 PM   #22
Baertram
 
Baertram's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2,267
Option to change to latin characters = Rename your username in windows control panel to a name only using latin characters.
If you got a name which does NOT contain ONLY latin chars it will fail. If it worked before you were lucky it did.

Edit, after reading your comments above and getting a bit angry about your nonsense answers about malware or whatever...
If you feel the software provided for free here is not the stuff you'd liek to use: Choose another one.
If you feel ppl ar enot heloing you here: Try to use other words and stop blaming them for their ideas.

Last edited by Baertram : 04/29/19 at 04:30 PM.
  Reply With Quote
04/29/19, 04:51 PM   #23
Dolby
Every day I'm shuffling
 
Dolby's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,184
Hi Lucifer66,

I believe it's a bug with the java runtime environment we are using or just something we are doing wrong when using the java_home variable in Minion. I would say most people are able to deal with it so it hasn't been given much priority. Hopefully it will be fixed the next time we upgrade the included JRE. As for the timeline on when that will happen, not sure.

Basically we are just saying Minion can't support langues with chinese, cyrillic, hebrew and emjoi at this time.

Last edited by Dolby : 04/29/19 at 04:53 PM.
  Reply With Quote
05/04/19, 10:23 AM   #24
LaRIC
Premium Member
Premium Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 14
Originally Posted by Dolby View Post
Hi Lucifer66,

I believe it's a bug with the java runtime environment we are using or just something we are doing wrong when using the java_home variable in Minion. I would say most people are able to deal with it so it hasn't been given much priority. Hopefully it will be fixed the next time we upgrade the included JRE. As for the timeline on when that will happen, not sure.

Basically we are just saying Minion can't support langues with chinese, cyrillic, hebrew and emjoi at this time.
Wouldn't it be a workaround to install the jar version with an up to date jre?
  Reply With Quote
05/05/19, 03:43 AM   #25
k1crawford
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 3
I am getting the same issues as described by many here
-Doesn't load
-Shows in Task Manager
-Changing Minion Versions 64bit/32bit,
-Uninstalling Java, Updating java
-Running as Administrator
-Changing program compatibility
and probably a couple of other things i've done but yeah, none of it is working. I think this new update from Java on the 16th April has caused issues. it just stopped working.

this is the only minion logs i could find

INFO 2019-05-05 18:53:06,704 [JavaFX Application Thread] gg.minion.Minion:start(43): Attempting to start Minion...
INFO 2019-05-05 18:54:29,095 [JavaFX Application Thread] gg.minion.Minion:start(43): Attempting to start Minion...
INFO 2019-05-05 18:55:04,586 [JavaFX Application Thread] gg.minion.Minion:start(43): Attempting to start Minion...
INFO 2019-05-05 18:55:25,363 [JavaFX Application Thread] gg.minion.Minion:start(43): Attempting to start Minion...

I don't know if there's some options to choose in the setup of Java's control panel...shouldn't have to anyway but yeah. This program has just suddenly stopped.
  Reply With Quote
05/11/19, 03:11 AM   #26
k1crawford
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 3
There must be an issue with the latest java update and people using Windows 7?
either way, i have tried all sorts of avenues including making a .bat file as the following

java -jar C:\Users\<Username of the PC>\AppData\Local\Minion\app\Minion-jfx.jar

and even that just hangs trying to launch it.

can we please have an idea as to a possible time frame as to when we may possibly get a fix?
this app is beautiful and not being able to update my 20+ addons by using Minion for the past month has started
to become somewhat........frustrating.
  Reply With Quote
05/20/19, 08:12 PM   #27
k1crawford
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 3
Any update as to what is going on in regards to this Thread topic? please?

Last edited by k1crawford : 05/24/19 at 08:21 AM.
  Reply With Quote
08/08/19, 08:11 PM   #28
Jamz
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 2
Any update

An update would be very nice. Minion wont work for me either nowadays. Was going to check out the updates in ESO, but since Minion wont run its a no go. Its been months, could we please get an update as to whats going on with Minion?
  Reply With Quote
08/09/19, 03:18 AM   #29
LaRIC
Premium Member
Premium Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 14
try to use with a standalone java version. It works perfectly for me then.
  Reply With Quote
08/12/19, 06:57 AM   #30
Jamz
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 2
Originally Posted by LaRIC View Post
try to use with a standalone java version. It works perfectly for me then.
Can you elaborate on how to do this? I tried the notepad thing, but it still does the same. Says its running in task manager, but never pops up.
  Reply With Quote
08/12/19, 07:07 AM   #31
Baertram
 
Baertram's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2,267
If it's running in the task manager and does not open you might check the Minion.log file with a text editor:
Either there is an addon name in there which is tried to be laoded but it cannot.
Delete your Minion.xml file then and remoev the addon and manually instal lit in your AddOns directory.

Or your antivirus, firewall is blocking the Minion server. Allow Minion to contact the servers by whitelisting it in your antiivirus/firewall.
Run Minion in 32bit mode and with priviledged rights (as administrator).
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » Site Forums » Minion » Minion won't start

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off