Thread Tools Display Modes
04/07/24, 10:03 AM   #1
xX_BadBoyQc_Xx
Join Date: Apr 2024
Posts: 3
Cant use minion..

first of all im french so sorry for the potential error..

i tried to install minion bcs it wanst working anymore, now he just dont open at all.

i dont know how to make my Minion work again.. i allready uninstall it all, (configuration directory include).

i wansnt aware that i need to keep the configuration directory intact.. is there a solution? im not really a pro with that kind of thing so please be precise
  Reply With Quote
04/07/24, 12:52 PM   #2
Baertram
Super Moderator
 
Baertram's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 5,094
https://i.imgur.com/UzpkvxL.png

Please follow the sticky troubleshooting guide, it contains most information what to do, and how to do it.

And if that does not help please read the "If posting Bug reports or requesting help...." sticky thread and post us your Minion log and xml files (if they are too big zip them and attach them to your post).

Thank you
  Reply With Quote
04/07/24, 04:29 PM   #3
xX_BadBoyQc_Xx
Join Date: Apr 2024
Posts: 3
it didnt help...

the app is not even showing in the panel manager,

were is supose to be the log files and the XML??

https://imgur.com/a/lO6X50z

sorry im a beginer.. dont really know what to do
  Reply With Quote
04/07/24, 04:37 PM   #4
Baertram
Super Moderator
 
Baertram's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 5,094
The log and xml files are in the folder that is described in the sticky thread named "If Posting Bug Reports or requesting help (attaching Minon.log/Minion.xml)", which is located at the top of this forum here where you posted your forum thread, as I explained already and showed via the screenshot in my first answer?

-> Here is the link to the sticky thread:
https://www.esoui.com/forums/showthread.php?t=236
Usually the log and xml files are in c:\users\<your windows username>\.Minion


If the minion.xml and minion.log are missing there:

1. What version of Minion did you install after you uninstalled the old version?
Please download the newest Minion version, 32bit, from here: www.minion.gg (top right corner, green "Download" button -> Then choose the Windows line and click on "32bit download"
2. Uninstall any other Minion version you got installed
3. Install this version which you downloaded at point 1
And then allow that installed file in your Antivirus tools like Microsoft Defender or whatever Antivirus and Antimalware tools you got installed and active!
All described here in the already linked "troubleshooting guide": https://www.esoui.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8082

4. Start the installed Minion version from your Startenu afterwards
5. What does happen then? Does it shart and asks you to select the addons folder? Then do so and select the addons folder where your addons are located (e.g. c:\users\your windows username>\documents\Elder Scrolls Online\live\AddOns

If it does not show you must send us the log files please!

And then it should work again

Last edited by Baertram : 04/07/24 at 04:45 PM.
  Reply With Quote
04/07/24, 05:33 PM   #5
rbpaiett
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Minion working when I use the Java version

I got minion to work with Java. I had to install Java for windows first. The only thing is when I assign the extension to the java software, I can only get it to work by right clicking and doing "open with". Doing 'open' or clicking on it just makes the window open and close very fast. What gives?
  Reply With Quote
04/07/24, 05:42 PM   #6
Baertram
Super Moderator
 
Baertram's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 5,094
@rbpaiett: Please do not post in any thread and ask for your own new issue, create a new thread!
And provide the log files or we cannot answer your questions -> Read the sticky threads and follow them please!

Especially if the original poster's issue was not resolved yet.

btw: Minion.exe is using Java internally so running i via Java or directly via Windows makes no difference. The included Java Runtime Environment was tested properly with Minion so using the provided exe file should be more compatible than just trying it with any other JRE.
  Reply With Quote
04/07/24, 06:21 PM   #7
xX_BadBoyQc_Xx
Join Date: Apr 2024
Posts: 3
heyy thanks for helping me,

i did all what you said and did not open again.. there is no logs folder or XML..

i did download the 32 bit version. i search for the folder in my computer in c:\users\Propriétaire\Minion but nothing show..

tried to install it again and same thing..

i ask my antivirus to analyse it, nothing again..

https://imgur.com/a/asHwX7u

here the picture.. hope u can help me
  Reply With Quote
04/07/24, 06:25 PM   #8
Baertram
Super Moderator
 
Baertram's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 5,094
Maybe you need to allow the Minion "setup file" and the "Minion installed files" in the BitDefender software:
https://www.bitdefender.com/consumer.../answer/13427/



And I also asked you: Please read the troubleshooting " [!!! Troubleshooting guide for Minion - Read before post !!!]" guide which is sticky at the top (3 times meanwhile)
-> https://www.esoui.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8082

It tells you:
Code:
3: Check if your username contains any non-latin characters (e.g. kyrillic)! If so rename your windows username to only contain latin chars as Minion won't support non-latin chars in the windows username! You could also create a new windows user with admin rights and after updating the addons copy them over to the other windows user you actually play with.
Your username "Propriétaire" does contain a special non-latin character with accent aigu (é).
Please rename that Windows user to only use latin characters, no speical characters!
Or install Minion on another user with only latin characters, update the addons there and copy them afterwards each time manually over to your username "Propriétaire"'s folder c:\users\Propriétaire\documents\elder scrolls online\live\AddOns



If that has worked before updating Minion, I'm somehow puzzled how? As this always was a problem.
Maybe you switched the windows user name too?

Last edited by Baertram : 04/07/24 at 06:31 PM.
  Reply With Quote
04/09/24, 09:11 PM   #9
rbpaiett
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
My solution to installing Minion

Ok, I got chided for not making my own post because I equally said I can't get minion started but I brought up a problem that is on a different path. I apologize for that.

I would like to share my solution since I have found one recently:

As far as I know, only the Java is working as of this post. All are welcome to refute this.

Download Minion for Java.
Install java for Windows.
Make a shortcut to desktop for Minion (minion-jfx.jar) by right clicking and selecting "send to" and select for Desktop (or wherever you want it).
Right click on the shortcut and go into properties.
Look at the "Target" window and add the following to the FRONT (before the quotes) of the target path: "javaw.exe -jar" (not the quotes) and click "Apply".
This will also make it so you can add to the taskbar if you wish.

The following video also explains it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=21pYkVGabwQ

I hope this helps those who can't get Minion working

If this is posted in the wrong part of the forums, it was not intentional
  Reply With Quote
04/10/24, 03:02 AM   #10
Baertram
Super Moderator
 
Baertram's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 5,094
Thanks for the info, but this is not correct:
As far as I know, only the Java is working as of this post. All are welcome to refute this.
Minion Windows is working fine for thousands of user too.

Minion MacOS currently got an issue as it seems, but not on all machines/all MacOS versions.


And your HowTo + manual link change to run javaw.exe was described at the troubleshooting guide, below, Java, already:
https://www.esoui.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8082

It just describes it by using
java -jar ~/Documents/Minion3.0.12-java/Minion-jfx.jar
directly, without creating a link.

Code:
If you cannot get the Minion exe (Windows) or dmg (Mac) executable to work you could also install the Java JRE from Sun (Mac/windows/Linux: https://www.java.com/en/download/hel...ptions_de.html)
and download Mionion's Java file (https://www.minion.gg/?download -> Java) and extract it to your documents folder.
Afterwards
run this command
java -jar ~/Documents/Minion3.0.12-java/Minion-jfx.jar
(where ~/Documents/Minion3.0.12-java is the path where you have extracted the Minion Java files to. On Windows this would be e.g. c:\users\yourWindowsUserName\documents\...)
to execute the base Java jar file of Minion, instead of the executable wrapper around it.
I'll add your link idea there.

Last edited by Baertram : 04/10/24 at 03:07 AM.
  Reply With Quote
04/13/24, 05:34 AM   #11
DaveReed
Join Date: Apr 2024
Posts: 5
Now that I found the correct forum, i got exactly the same issue - and a potential solution for it.

https://esoui.com/forums/newreply.ph...wreply&p=49810
"I ran into a little problem.

In Germany we use very often ö, ä and ü in usernames, so the user-path of windows contains these characters, too.
Your application does not support these characters. "Jürgen" is modified to "JÄ%rgen" and the application is unable to start.

Can you please add UTF-8 support to your application to fix this issue?"

Same goes for french and other languages, there is no UTF-8 support - so the user-folder is not to be found by minion if the name of the folder contains any special characters.
  Reply With Quote
04/13/24, 07:05 AM   #12
Baertram
Super Moderator
 
Baertram's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 5,094
Minion devs are aware of the problem but there is no easy fix at the moment, so please read the sticky Minion troubleshooting guide point 3. for a solution.
e.g. rename your windows user Jürgen to Juergen
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » Site Forums » Minion » Cant use minion..

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off