Quantcast Minion won't start - ESOUI
Thread Tools Display Modes
10/22/18, 07:43 PM   #1
iKhriz
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 1
Minion won't start

My minion won't start.
It's installing to the appdata/local/minion folder by default.
.minion doesn't exist in my %userprofile%, so there's no log or xml file.
I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling, installing the 32bit version, starting it as an admin and allowing the minion.exe in Windows Defender, still nothing.
All it does is momentarily show the blue loading circle and then nothing. It doesn't show up in my task manager at all, or in the system tray.
I'm running Windows 10, fully updated.

Plz send help.
  Reply With Quote
10/24/18, 02:32 AM   #2
Baertram
 
Baertram's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2,079
Sounds like the java engine is not able to do anything at all.
Maybe check if any java update is available for your system.

Is your windows username containing non-latin characters? Minion is not working with this! Please install it elsewhere and/pr change your windows username to only use latin characters.
  Reply With Quote
12/08/18, 12:19 PM   #3
Enemy9991
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 4
Same problem here, minion wont start under any circumstances... downloaded both versions, changed my user name, changed the installation folder, updated java and way more... Win 7. Any solutions? otherwise my fate is to update 20+ addons manually
  Reply With Quote
12/15/18, 11:59 AM   #4
marlonbrando
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 5
Originally Posted by Enemy9991 View Post
Same problem here, minion wont start under any circumstances... downloaded both versions, changed my user name, changed the installation folder, updated java and way more... Win 7. Any solutions? otherwise my fate is to update 20+ addons manually
Is the symptom that you click on Minion and nothing seems to happen? If so, is there an icon on your
bottom bar? If there is then I've found that selecting that icon, hitting <alt><space>, selecting
"move" from the menu, hitting the right arrow a few times and then moving the mouse brings the window,
on screen from the left.

I don't know if this is just something unique to my installation but I wanted to mention it regardless.
  Reply With Quote
12/22/18, 04:44 AM   #5
Enemy9991
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 4
Originally Posted by marlonbrando View Post
Is the symptom that you click on Minion and nothing seems to happen? If so, is there an icon on your
bottom bar? If there is then I've found that selecting that icon, hitting <alt><space>, selecting
"move" from the menu, hitting the right arrow a few times and then moving the mouse brings the window,
on screen from the left.

I don't know if this is just something unique to my installation but I wanted to mention it regardless.
Nope, no icon anywhere... the only thing you can do is to kill minion through the task manager and that doesnt fix the problem. The process itself uses 0 % of RAM, HDD etc... it seems like something is blocking it or I dunno, but my antivirus seems to be okey with minion and all of my other software dont have such possibilities. There is also a problem with "sound mixer" but I cant fix it as it appears again and again after recommended repair, can it be the problem? I found out that it only shows the error message so I dont really know if it can block minion.

EDIT: Yes, the symptom is that after the execution nothing happens =P
  Reply With Quote
12/22/18, 10:28 AM   #6
Baertram
 
Baertram's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2,079
Send us your Minion.log file then.
Or check it yourself. In there you can see "how far" Minion gets. Normally, as you do not see anything, an antivirus or a firewall is blocking the contact to the Minion server. Or you are using a proxy server which is not defined properly.
  Reply With Quote
01/16/19, 08:33 AM   #7
RossT
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
This worked for me

Originally Posted by marlonbrando View Post
Is the symptom that you click on Minion and nothing seems to happen? If so, is there an icon on your
bottom bar? If there is then I've found that selecting that icon, hitting <alt><space>, selecting
"move" from the menu, hitting the right arrow a few times and then moving the mouse brings the window,
on screen from the left.

I don't know if this is just something unique to my installation but I wanted to mention it regardless.
Thanks, that worked!
  Reply With Quote
02/04/19, 03:38 PM   #8
CatOfTheCanals
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 4
I'm having a similar issue. Although I do get a log file. The xml file is missing though. And the only lines in the log are.

Code:
INFO  2019-02-04 21:27:57,942 [JavaFX Application Thread] gg.minion.Minion:start(43): Attempting to start Minion...
I did everything found in the other forums, updated java etc. Stumped
  Reply With Quote
02/05/19, 04:05 AM   #9
Baertram
 
Baertram's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2,079
If Minion is not starting:

-Use the 32bit version on a 64bit OS
-Start it as administartor
-Your windows username should not contain non-latin characters
-Allow Minion in your antivirus so it is able to write to the c:\users\windows user name\appData folders
  Reply With Quote
02/06/19, 01:48 PM   #10
Enemy9991
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 4
Well, although I couldnt find the log file, I am almost sure It ll be same as CatOfTheCanals' log is. It is allowed in my antivirus, I have 32bit version installed, my win username doesnt contain any special or non-latin characters, I am starting it as an administrator, my Java is updated and still It doesnt work. Cant do much more to make it launch... I guess the Minion itself is badly made and It should run on any PC without some hardcore computer knowledge, as it is only updating addons...
  Reply With Quote
02/07/19, 12:41 PM   #11
Baertram
 
Baertram's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2,079
Well, simply wrong guess :-)
Software is not always compatible as the devs do not know your rig, your isp, your anti-virus and other installed applications. Maybe it's a virus or malware on your pc. Maybe it's a Java bug occurring with your hardware. There are 1000060580 things to consider which devs are not able to check or prevent. But you cannot blame the software then, to be fair.

Did you search for Minion.log in c:/users/windows user name/app data subfolder .minion? You need to enable to show system dirs in your folder settings (win explorer) but the windows search should find it as well. If there is no Minion.log file then Minion got no write access to your hard drive as it seems, which could have several reasons again.
  Reply With Quote
03/08/19, 12:33 PM   #12
Enemy9991
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 4
I know how many problems a program can make and how hard it is to make it work, although ain't the first priority of any programmer to make his program work on every computer? Of course, I am not blaming them for my problems with minion, but I really want to live in a world where if I ask for an assistence I get a reply from anyone who is responsible for their product in any form that'll eventually help me... considering you are the only good soul helping us here the devs don't even care for us, thus they are probably tired of programming / too lazy to make it work for everyone. Although what I want collides with what they want and it may seem too banal, but of course I am not a hypocrite and if I would be a dev, I would never allow anyone to think that my program is useless (By repairing / improving it), yet now I currently cannot say anything else as the program doesnt even run on my PC :-)

Although thanks for your support, I suppose this thread is closed... I gave up a long time ago.
  Reply With Quote
03/09/19, 10:26 AM   #13
Baertram
 
Baertram's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2,079
Well, your idea why they are not responding here is not the reason. The only reason is: real life and time.
You always must keep in mind that the software here, either addons or other piece of code, is not sold and thus the support is done whenever the time fits.
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » Site Forums » Minion » Minion won't start

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off