Thread Tools Display Modes
03/04/18, 09:38 PM   #1
jlcrow
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 3
UI Errors - How Do I Determine Which Addon Causes Them

Since the Dragon Bones update, many of the addons have become less compatible. I appreciate the work addon creators do and that they strive to make their addons as compatible and bug free as possible. To that end, when bugs arise, how do I know which addon is causing the problem? I get the UI error screens and see the debugging code -- I assume that is what it is -- but I don't know how to read it. Additionally, even I was able to know what addon was causing the problem, how do I get the bug information to them?

For example, below are screen shots of the two separate UI Errors. Each is two screen shots because the last line of the errors extends beyond the window and requires a second screen shot.






How do I read these and get the information to the addon creator? Thanks for any suggestions or instructions you all can offer.

J

Last edited by jlcrow : 03/04/18 at 09:43 PM.
  Reply With Quote
03/05/18, 12:39 AM   #2
Rhyono
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 659
Best way is to one by one disable the addons shown in the errors, if the error still occurs, jot down that the addon you disabled MIGHT be safe. Once you've found the one that definitely is not safe, re-enable the others and repeat the process until you know all culprits.
  Reply With Quote
03/05/18, 12:40 AM   #3
votan
 
votan's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 577
Originally Posted by jlcrow View Post
Since the Dragon Bones update, many of the addons have become less compatible. I appreciate the work addon creators do and that they strive to make their addons as compatible and bug free as possible. To that end, when bugs arise, how do I know which addon is causing the problem? I get the UI error screens and see the debugging code -- I assume that is what it is -- but I don't know how to read it. Additionally, even I was able to know what addon was causing the problem, how do I get the bug information to them?

For example, below are screen shots of the two separate UI Errors. Each is two screen shots because the last line of the errors extends beyond the window and requires a second screen shot.


How do I read these and get the information to the addon creator? Thanks for any suggestions or instructions you all can offer.

J
Hi.

This is a so-called "Callstack trace". You are reading it from top to bottom.
The first line is there the error happend. If it is a [C] function or the file path does not include "Addons", it is a built-in function. When go to the next line.
If this filename starts with "\Lib*" the addon has nothing to do with it: It could be an error within the library (=> library author) or go on to a line without "Lib*".
This is the addon which is involved (=> this author)

In your case a lot addons are in the callstack, because all hooking the tooltip. (I can see that from the SetBagItem) But you also can read things containing "Tooltip". So, that is normal.

Last edited by votan : 03/05/18 at 12:43 AM.
  Reply With Quote
03/05/18, 09:01 AM   #4
jlcrow
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 3
Originally Posted by Rhyono View Post
Best way is to one by one disable the addons shown in the errors, if the error still occurs, jot down that the addon you disabled MIGHT be safe. Once you've found the one that definitely is not safe, re-enable the others and repeat the process until you know all culprits.
This is a process I normally do and it stops the error from occurring, as well as removing its other functionality, but it does not help the addon author know of the error unless the next step is taken, that is to reach out to the addon author.

With this post I was hoping to learn how to read the error to save time disabling and reloading the UI, thus making the process faster for everyone.
  Reply With Quote
03/05/18, 09:04 AM   #5
jlcrow
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 3
Originally Posted by votan View Post
Hi.

This is a so-called "Callstack trace". You are reading it from top to bottom.
The first line is there the error happend. If it is a [C] function or the file path does not include "Addons", it is a built-in function. When go to the next line.
If this filename starts with "\Lib*" the addon has nothing to do with it: It could be an error within the library (=> library author) or go on to a line without "Lib*".
This is the addon which is involved (=> this author)

In your case a lot addons are in the callstack, because all hooking the tooltip. (I can see that from the SetBagItem) But you also can read things containing "Tooltip". So, that is normal.
Thank you for the explanation, although I must admit it is all still quite opaque to me.

Nevertheless, should I to assume that this error has been received by the right person to fix it when possible?
  Reply With Quote
03/05/18, 10:11 AM   #6
Rhyono
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 659
Originally Posted by jlcrow View Post
Nevertheless, should I to assume that this error has been received by the right person to fix it when possible?
No, because votan isn't the author of every addon listed there. His addons could be entirely innocent.

Right now you have a list of suspects, not culprits. Until you know which is actually at fault, it can't be fixed.
  Reply With Quote
03/06/18, 08:52 PM   #7
calia1120
 
calia1120's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 62
ZBug is rather useful for making errors a bit more manageable as well - http://www.esoui.com/downloads/info3...placement.html
  Reply With Quote
04/06/18, 01:42 PM   #8
MurkyMais
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 12
Bug Catcher may help you. I find it handy to find out what addon is throwing the error.


http://www.esoui.com/downloads/info1083-BugCatcher.html
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » AddOns » AddOn Help/Support » UI Errors - How Do I Determine Which Addon Causes Them

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off