Thread Tools Display Modes
08/30/18, 01:38 PM   #1
Cardinal05
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 33
[outdated] Housing API Request or Question re: HousingEditorGetFurnitureWorldBounds

It would be super useful for measuring, placing and aligning items if there were a version of the existing HousingEditorGetFurnitureWorldBounds function that could return the World Bounds for a furnitureId that is axis-aligned (pitch, yaw and roll of 0 radians). That way we could calculate the [near] perfect fit for adjacent of items regardless of their current orientation.

Also, if there is an existing way to do this, please let me know - I'd hugely appreciate it! At the moment, I have a batch job that runs prior to certain operations that literally cannot work without knowing the proper bounding box for items (such as Builds that aim to place items seamlessly for the player).

Unfortunately, my batch process is bulky, time consuming and requires aligning each unique item type to 0,0,0 pitch/yaw/roll, waiting for the move operation to finish, measuring the bounding box (with the aforementioned function) and then orienting the items back to their original positions.

Thank you so much!
@Cardinal05
 
08/30/18, 03:01 PM   #2
sirinsidiator
 
sirinsidiator's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,566
Isn't that what HousingEditorGetFurnitureLocalBounds should return? It should tell you how big the item is in it's local frame of reference.
What seems to be missing is a function GetFurnitureDataLocalBounds(furnitureDataId) to get the bounds of a furniture before it is placed. Otherwise you cannot position it perfectly right from the inventory. Or maybe I just didn't see it?
 
08/31/18, 03:52 PM   #3
ZOS_ChipHilseberg
ZOS Staff!
Premium Member
Yes this person is from ZeniMax!
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 551
Originally Posted by sirinsidiator View Post
Isn't that what HousingEditorGetFurnitureLocalBounds should return? It should tell you how big the item is in it's local frame of reference.
What seems to be missing is a function GetFurnitureDataLocalBounds(furnitureDataId) to get the bounds of a furniture before it is placed. Otherwise you cannot position it perfectly right from the inventory. Or maybe I just didn't see it?
Unfortunately we don't know the model bounds without loading it.
 
09/05/18, 03:52 AM   #4
Cardinal05
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 33
Originally Posted by ZOS_ChipHilseberg View Post
Unfortunately we don't know the model bounds without loading it.
Oh ok, no worries then. I wasn't sure if, from the client's code, there was the same limitation as I had or not in that regard. Thanks for the response!
 
09/05/18, 04:51 AM   #5
Cardinal05
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 33
Originally Posted by sirinsidiator View Post
Isn't that what HousingEditorGetFurnitureLocalBounds should return? It should tell you how big the item is in it's local frame of reference.
What seems to be missing is a function GetFurnitureDataLocalBounds(furnitureDataId) to get the bounds of a furniture before it is placed. Otherwise you cannot position it perfectly right from the inventory. Or maybe I just didn't see it?
I just reread your original message and realized that I had misinterpreted it. I actually had no idea that's what this function did - I thought that it returned the bounding box's coordinates in a different unit measure relative to the current map location. Yay, then this is exactly what I needed - thank you Siri! <3
 

ESOUI » Developer Discussions » Wish List » [outdated] Housing API Request or Question re: HousingEditorGetFurnitureWorldBounds

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off