Thread Tools Display Modes
08/01/16, 01:40 PM   #41
sirinsidiator
 
sirinsidiator's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,566
Originally Posted by ZOS_ChipHilseberg View Post
Here's the updated docs for the next PTS update.
Any chance we can get an updated file for live?
  Reply With Quote
08/01/16, 02:40 PM   #42
Weolo
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 79
I just got in to the game and my addon is broken.
Something has changed with GetCharacterInfo(). It is not working the same way it was on PTS.

Lua Code:
  1. local found = false
  2. d("DEBUG currentId: "..GetCurrentCharacterId())
  3. d("DEBUG num characters: "..tostring(GetNumCharacters()))
  4. for i = 1, GetNumCharacters() do
  5.   local name, gender, level, championRank, classId, raceId, alliance, id, locationId = GetCharacterInfo(i)
  6.   d("DEBUG id="..tostring(id).." name="..zo_strformat("<<1>>",name))
  7.   if id == GetCurrentCharacterId() then
  8.     found = true
  9.   end
  10. end
  11. d("DEBUG Found id="..tostring(found))

The above code is generating this. The ids are way too short and some of the ids are duplicated

Screenshot

I am investigating to see if I can fix it myself
  Reply With Quote
08/01/16, 02:43 PM   #43
Ayantir
 
Ayantir's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,019
Just don't rush on maybe broken new things
  Reply With Quote
08/01/16, 02:54 PM   #44
Weolo
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 79
Originally Posted by Ayantir View Post
Just don't rush on maybe broken new things
I tested the hell out of it on PTS and even submitted bug reports. They changed it for go live.

This:
Lua Code:
  1. local name, gender, level, championRank, classId, raceId, alliance, id, locationId = GetCharacterInfo(i)
Seems to now be this:
Lua Code:
  1. local name, gender, level, classId, raceId, alliance, id, locationId = GetCharacterInfo(i)

championRank has gone.
I will adapt my addon but it will have properly broken it for anyone who patched and tried to use it
  Reply With Quote
08/01/16, 03:03 PM   #45
ZOS_ChipHilseberg
ZOS Staff!
Premium Member
Yes this person is from ZeniMax!
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 551
Sorry about that, the fix made it impossible to populate champion rank and it didn't particularly make sense in the returns anyway so we ripped it out.
  Reply With Quote
08/01/16, 03:10 PM   #46
Weolo
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 79
No problem.
I fixed my addon and because it now tidies itself up its all good.
Keep up the good work, love the game, love the API, loving your work
  Reply With Quote
08/01/16, 04:27 PM   #47
Sounomi
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 40
Just a heads up, it seems that calling "GetItemBoPTradeableDisplayNamesString" on an item that's not BoP Tradable will crash the client, even if you override it with your code. Discovered it while testing things on the PTS during maint and sent in a description about it with the crash report. Its bugged on live as well.
  Reply With Quote
08/01/16, 04:31 PM   #48
ZOS_ChipHilseberg
ZOS Staff!
Premium Member
Yes this person is from ZeniMax!
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 551
Originally Posted by Sounomi View Post
Just a heads up, it seems that calling "GetItemBoPTradeableDisplayNamesString" on an item that's not BoP Tradable will crash the client, even if you override it with your code. Discovered it while testing things on the PTS during maint and sent in a description about it with the crash report. Its bugged on live as well.
Thanks for the info.
  Reply With Quote
08/02/16, 09:16 AM   #49
Ayantir
 
Ayantir's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,019
I randomly have this error on live for my char

Lua Code:
  1. EsoUI/Ingame/HousingEditor/SharedFurnitureManager.lua:74: attempt to index a nil value
  2. stack traceback:
  3.     EsoUI/Ingame/HousingEditor/SharedFurnitureManager.lua:74: in function 'ZO_SharedFurnitureManager:CreateOrUpdateItemDataEntry'
  4.     EsoUI/Ingame/HousingEditor/SharedFurnitureManager.lua:29: in function 'ZO_SharedFurnitureManager:OnSingleSlotInventoryUpdate'
  5.     EsoUI/Ingame/HousingEditor/SharedFurnitureManager.lua:13: in function 'callback'
  6.     EsoUI/Libraries/Utility/ZO_CallbackObject.lua:111: in function 'ZO_CallbackObject:FireCallbacks'
  7.     EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/SharedInventory.lua:109: in function 'OnInventorySlotUpdated'

You should disable the housing editor while it's still unfinished
  Reply With Quote
08/02/16, 11:35 AM   #50
Baertram
Super Moderator
 
Baertram's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4,912
Yep, makes sense
Got this error message as well after a reloadui. I was standing at the bank and was doing nothing. No new items in my bag or others removed.
So it seems to be randomly.


Originally Posted by Ayantir View Post
I randomly have this error on live for my char

Lua Code:
  1. EsoUI/Ingame/HousingEditor/SharedFurnitureManager.lua:74: attempt to index a nil value
  2. stack traceback:
  3.     EsoUI/Ingame/HousingEditor/SharedFurnitureManager.lua:74: in function 'ZO_SharedFurnitureManager:CreateOrUpdateItemDataEntry'
  4.     EsoUI/Ingame/HousingEditor/SharedFurnitureManager.lua:29: in function 'ZO_SharedFurnitureManager:OnSingleSlotInventoryUpdate'
  5.     EsoUI/Ingame/HousingEditor/SharedFurnitureManager.lua:13: in function 'callback'
  6.     EsoUI/Libraries/Utility/ZO_CallbackObject.lua:111: in function 'ZO_CallbackObject:FireCallbacks'
  7.     EsoUI/Ingame/Inventory/SharedInventory.lua:109: in function 'OnInventorySlotUpdated'

You should disable the housing editor while it's still unfinished
  Reply With Quote
08/03/16, 08:03 AM   #51
ZOS_ChipHilseberg
ZOS Staff!
Premium Member
Yes this person is from ZeniMax!
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 551
We haven't been able to reproduce the housing error internally. Does anyone have insight on possible triggers or know roughly how often it occurs?
  Reply With Quote
08/03/16, 08:58 AM   #52
Ayantir
 
Ayantir's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,019
It only happens after a reloadui.

It should be really in first ms of a reload.
I had this 10 times while standing in wayrest yesterday before hotfix while doing tests on addons.
I didn't changed anything in my inventory to have this (no item creation, update or durability, nothing).
  Reply With Quote
08/03/16, 09:21 AM   #53
Baertram
Super Moderator
 
Baertram's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4,912
Yes, the same here.

Just standing around testing my addons and doing a reloadui here and there.
The error message appeared 3/5 times then just directly after the reloadui.
No items were changed,no new items created, no items were mailed or destroyed.

It did not depend on the city where I was standing or if I was inside a bank or outside as it seems.

Originally Posted by Ayantir View Post
It only happens after a reloadui.

It should be really in first ms of a reload.
I had this 10 times while standing in wayrest yesterday before hotfix while doing tests on addons.
I didn't changed anything in my inventory to have this (no item creation, update or durability, nothing).
  Reply With Quote
08/03/16, 11:09 AM   #54
sirinsidiator
 
sirinsidiator's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,566
I don't have the error, but I also haven't reloaded my UI much.
Maybe you can just comment out line 12 and 13 in sharedfurnituremanager.lua for now and call it a day?
  Reply With Quote
08/03/16, 09:18 PM   #55
Sounomi
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 40
Same here, pretty much only get it after I've reloaded the UI when working on add-ons.

Code:
local itemCache = self.furnitureCache[ZO_PLACEABLE_TYPE_ITEM]
local bag = itemCache[bagId]
Looking at the code, my guess is that its being executed before the self.furnitureCache is fully initialized. Perhaps a simple fix would simply be to check that variable to make sure its not nil before trying to do stuff with it.
  Reply With Quote
08/06/16, 10:34 AM   #56
Weolo
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 79
Weird bug with GetNumCharacters()

  • I logged in to ESO
  • Started playing with one of my characters
  • GetNumCharacters() was returning 8
  • Grouped up with a friend and did some Thieves guild heists
  • Did a couple of /reloadui during this time
  • GetNumCharacters() ended up only ever returning 1

I had to log out to the character selection screen for it to start returning 8 again
  Reply With Quote
08/06/16, 07:15 PM   #57
Sounomi
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 40
I've run into that problem too. After a UI reload, it'll just randomly start saying there's only one character. Using "GetCharacterInfo" at this point with any index except for "1" returns empty values as well.
  Reply With Quote
08/07/16, 05:25 AM   #58
votan
 
votan's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 577
Originally Posted by Weolo View Post
  • I logged in to ESO
  • Started playing with one of my characters
  • GetNumCharacters() was returning 8
  • Grouped up with a friend and did some Thieves guild heists
  • Did a couple of /reloadui during this time
  • GetNumCharacters() ended up only ever returning 1

I had to log out to the character selection screen for it to start returning 8 again
The information is lost at the second "Player Activated". In both cases: Due to travel or reloadui.

And there is a little mistake in the ESOUIDocumentation.txt.
GetCharacterInfo does not return championRank anymore. The return value has been removed, but is still in the doc file.

Last edited by votan : 08/07/16 at 05:29 AM.
  Reply With Quote
08/07/16, 06:55 AM   #59
Weolo
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 79
Originally Posted by votan View Post
And there is a little mistake in the ESOUIDocumentation.txt.
GetCharacterInfo does not return championRank anymore. The return value has been removed, but is still in the doc file.
Yeah I raised that in post #44 above in this thead.
championRank was remove when Shodow of the Hist hit live.
ESOUIDocumentation.txt was given to us prior to go live so it is a little out.

I think I will have to build my own workaround. Capture all of the GetCharacterInfo() data that I want on first load and then re-use that from then on.

Last edited by Weolo : 08/07/16 at 06:57 AM.
  Reply With Quote
08/08/16, 12:00 PM   #60
ZOS_ChipHilseberg
ZOS Staff!
Premium Member
Yes this person is from ZeniMax!
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 551
Originally Posted by Weolo View Post
Yeah I raised that in post #44 above in this thead.
championRank was remove when Shodow of the Hist hit live.
ESOUIDocumentation.txt was given to us prior to go live so it is a little out.

I think I will have to build my own workaround. Capture all of the GetCharacterInfo() data that I want on first load and then re-use that from then on.
This is fixed, but won't be in until the next update.
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » Developer Discussions » Tutorials & Other Helpful Info » Update 2.5

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off