11/24/15, 01:36 AM   #1
Weaselkit
CreateControlFromVirtual parameters

Hello, I'm new to this and getting my feet wet with tutorials and the function lists.

I currently have a interface that is working as intended except when I call a function that dynamically creates drop down windows (combo boxes), I lose my custom background for the whole ... control? As long as I don't call the function, I keep my custom setup so I know the problem is with the function and I think it has to do with this "ZO_DefaultBackdrop" and SetAnchorFill(), I can''t quite figure out how these work or find an alternative to ZO_DefaultBackdrop so I could test my hypothesis.

Code:
local function loadDropDowns(name, tip, x, y, list) 

local bd = WINDOW_MANAGER:CreateControlFromVirtual("comboBox"..name, tlw, "ZO_DefaultBackdrop")
		bd:SetAnchorFill()

local comboBox = WINDOW_MANAGER:CreateControlFromVirtual("combo"..name, tlw, "ZO_ComboBox")
		comboBox:SetDimensions(150, 30)
		comboBox:ClearAnchors()
		comboBox:SetAnchor(TOPLEFT, tlw, TOPLEFT, x, y)

-- tooltip text
		comboBox.data = { tooltipText = tip }

-- tooltip handlers
		comboBox:SetHandler("OnMouseEnter", ZO_Options_OnMouseEnter)
		comboBox:SetHandler("OnMouseExit", ZO_Options_OnMouseExit)

local m_comboBox = comboBox.m_comboBox
		m_comboBox:SetSortsItems(true)

-- easy access references from tlw
		--tlw.backdrop = bd
		--tlw.comboBox = comboBox
		--tlw.m_comboBox = m_comboBox

m_comboBox:AddItems(list)

end
I snatched this function from http://www.esoui.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4697
11/24/15, 02:11 AM   #2
circonian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
If I understand you correctly. When you say you loose the background for the "whole control" I'm assuming you mean your tlw.

Since tlw is not defined in this function I'll assume its defined somewhere else in your file. Or if your copying that example I posted in that thread, did you forget to create the tlw?