Thread Tools Display Modes
10/28/15, 08:47 AM   #1
dopiate
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 142
Fast API - I'm aiming to make this easier

This should help developers the most.

I'm just going to link the details of the new addon but will answer any question, take suggests and feedback here that I expect to be more complex than on my forums.

I think this will reduce the mad rush for end users and developers to upload addons just for the new API.

See what you think - I'm open to negative and positive feedback. My ego is not going to be bruised so be honest.

It's still pending but you can see all the code.

Fast API

Thanks,
-d
  Reply With Quote
10/28/15, 09:00 AM   #2
Ayantir
 
Ayantir's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,019
What this program does ? I looked at code and this thing seems to do.. nothing.
  Reply With Quote
10/28/15, 09:19 AM   #3
dopiate
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 142
Originally Posted by Ayantir View Post
What this program does ? I looked at code and this thing seems to do.. nothing.
If your addon is ready for API 100013

you can add this to your text manifest, ## FastAPI : 100013 .... It can be done now

and when the patch comes out - the user can run the program and it will update the manifest to 100013, remove "## FastAPI : 100013" .... users don't have to wait for those developers that don't have API version 100013 already in their latest release.

It checks for the current API Version in AddOnSettings.txt before i commit to do anything.

You probably already have set the API to 100013 but not all devs do that.

This way they can add that string and when the patch comes out - users can safely update the API version so it doesn't show out of date.

Right now, it will do nothing as the current API version in AddonSettins.txt is 10002.

Does that help clear it up?

It's up to users and developers to either use it or not. I was just an idea I had to make thing easier.

For all I know it could never get adopted by anyone but I enjoyed programming it.

-d

Was my explanation that bad?

download the program, put it in root of Addons, add "## FastAPI : 100013" to an addon, change AddonSettins.txt to the new api and run the program. Then you will see what it does.

Last edited by dopiate : 10/28/15 at 09:25 AM.
  Reply With Quote
10/28/15, 09:33 AM   #4
dopiate
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 142
to be more clear

line 1 in AddOnSettings.txt = #Version 100012

my code

Lua Code:
  1. If InStr(CurrentAPILevel(0), "100013") Then

right there it will do nothing - no patch has occurred.

-d
  Reply With Quote
10/28/15, 09:58 AM   #5
Ayantir
 
Ayantir's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,019
Ahhhw ok. I understood Sorry.

Well this can be useful, if the dev know that he'll be here when next api bump will be there
  Reply With Quote
10/28/15, 10:30 AM   #6
sirinsidiator
 
sirinsidiator's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1,578
Sounds interesting. As long as the game does not support specifying multiple compatible API versions this might make major updates a bit smoother yet again.
Maybe you could also do it the other way around?
I am thinking about using this so I only have to update once right when the update is coming out and I would put the new API version in place instead of the old one. So it would be nice if it could replace that with 100012 until the game got updated for EU.

Just another thought, but I can't check if it would cause problems right now for obvious reasons.
Would it be possible to make it work like this:
Code:
## APIVersion: 100013 100012
## APIVersion: <current version> <other version>
In that scenario your program just changes the order of these numbers so that the current manifest version comes first.
I imagine this would be the way how it would be specified if the game ever allowed for multiple versions.
  Reply With Quote
10/28/15, 02:15 PM   #7
dopiate
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 142
Originally Posted by Ayantir View Post
Ahhhw ok. I understood Sorry.

Well this can be useful, if the dev know that he'll be here when next api bump will be there
Very true - that's why I didn't write it to go back beyond the current patch.

I don't want end users to think it is a "one size fits all fix" for out of date addon.

Sure it would make them "up to date" in the menu but that does not mean they work :-)

-d
  Reply With Quote
11/02/15, 09:25 AM   #8
AkeGamer
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Please provide some output so the user knows the program was run. Perhaps pop something up that indicates which addons were updated. Need some feedback to know we did actually run it.
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » AddOns » Released AddOns » Fast API - I'm aiming to make this easier


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off