Quantcast
Minion will not set up - ESOUI
Thread Tools Display Modes
12/04/21, 05:24 PM   #1
CRECAnnap
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 5
Minion will not set up

I'm trying to install Minion for the first time, but I end up on this screen and am unable to do anything. Any ideas?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2021-12-04 at 6.22.50 PM.png
Views:	86
Size:	101.3 KB
ID:	1431  
  Reply With Quote
12/04/21, 05:36 PM   #2
Baertram
Super Moderator
 
Baertram's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4,049
https://www.esoui.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8082

If you had read and followed these instructions already, please say so.

After following the troubleshooting instructions and if the error stays the same, also please read this here:
https://www.esoui.com/forums/showthread.php?t=236

so you are able to provide us the files needed (log, xml file) to check for error messages etc.

Edit:
The screenshot looks like you are using a Mac? Please also tell us so as 90% of the users run Windows setups and Mac/linux could cause other problems as well.
There exists a similar thread but w/o a solution as it seems: https://www.esoui.com/forums/showthr...ght=minion+mac

But here is another one, maybe this one helps you: https://www.esoui.com/forums/showthr...ght=minion+mac

Last edited by Baertram : 12/04/21 at 05:42 PM.
  Reply With Quote
01/25/22, 04:47 PM   #3
CRECAnnap
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 5
So I had given up on this, but am trying to see if I can get this to work. I've gone through all the troubleshooting steps and such and can't get it to work. Whenever I open Minion, I get what's in the above screenshot. Attached are my XML and Log files. Let me know what else I can include to be helpful. Thx.

OS: Mac 12.1

minion.log

minion.xml

Last edited by CRECAnnap : 01/25/22 at 04:48 PM. Reason: Clarity
  Reply With Quote
01/25/22, 06:02 PM   #4
Baertram
Super Moderator
 
Baertram's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4,049
From the log file there seems to be some errors which crashed Minion in the past and I can see it tried to update Minion once to a newer version? Did you see it tried that update and istalled it properly?

I'm not sure what is cuasing the problems for you but I think MAC added more security checks for software and maybe something is blocking the run of the Minion executable or the access to your users folder? Maybe you need to "allow" the read access for Minion to your user documents folder somewhere?

I'm no MAC user so this is only a guess as I saw some popups asking for rights to access folder1, folder2, and so on at a friends MAC after he updated his MAC OS version.

Else I'm also lost here sorry.
Maybe Dolby got another idea.
  Reply With Quote
01/25/22, 07:15 PM   #5
CRECAnnap
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 5
So it did give me that pop-up and it seemed to update successfully. I closed Minion and re-opened it and it doesn't give that message anymore. Mac does have security stuff that will prevent you from opening stuff, but once you add the app as trusted it lets you use it.

I also checked and the app does have the appropriate read access.

Last edited by CRECAnnap : 01/25/22 at 07:22 PM. Reason: additional detail
  Reply With Quote
01/27/22, 05:34 PM   #6
CRECAnnap
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 5
So I decided to YOLO and try to follow the Linux instructions here. I got pretty far, but am still getting same thing as my screenshot above. Attached are the logs from my attempts. Thoughts?


Terminal Saved Output.txt
  Reply With Quote
01/28/22, 05:50 PM   #7
Baertram
Super Moderator
 
Baertram's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4,049
Solved:

https://www.esoui.com/forums/showthr...5239#post45239
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » Site Forums » Minion » Minion will not set up

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off