Thread Tools Display Modes
02/10/22, 04:29 AM   #1
lexo1000
 
lexo1000's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 9
Update SlowDialogs & TrueExploration mods

Hello!
Could someone update these two mods? Unfortunatly, they included LibAddonMenu-2.0 as a sublib and LibStub which is deprecated.

Thanks in advance
  Reply With Quote
02/10/22, 07:27 AM   #2
Baertram
Super Moderator
 
Baertram's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4,912
-> https://www.esoui.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9865
"If your addn needs to remove LibStub/included libraries": Will lead to -> https://www.esoui.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9149

You can easily do that yourself.

Remove subfolder "/libs".
Change txt file of the addon (e.g. live/Addons/SlowDialogs/SlowDialogs.txt) and remove all lines like
/libs/LibAddonMenu ...
/libs/LibStub ...

Add line to the txt file's top, e.g. below the ## APIVersion: line:
Code:
## DependsOn: LibAddonMenu-2.0>=32
Search in the .lua files of the addon for something like e.g.
Code:
local LAM2 = LibStub("LibAddonMenu-2.0")
Change this to:
Lua Code:
  1. local LAM2 = LibAddonMenu2

the local LAM2 could be also local LAM or local LAM or
addonName.lam or similar. Just keep the stuff in front of the = the same, and after the = exchange the LibStub("libraryname") (or LibStub:GetLibrary("libraryname) ) with the libraryname, here LibAddonMenu2.

Should do the trick on ALL addons that still include LibAddonMenu-2.0 via LibStub.

If other libraries are used via LibStub, like LibWhateverName
just add the dependency to that lib via
Code:
## DependsOn: LibWhateverName
And search in the .lua files for LibSutb("LibWhateverName") and replace it with the global variable name of that lib (often it is the same as the libraryname, here it would be LibWhateverName. If the library name contains a number like -2.0 (like LibAddonMenu-2.0) just remove the special characters like - and . in the number so it will be LibAddonMenu2.
The global library variable is mentioned at the library's www.esoui.com description or changelog!


If you think this is nothing you will get to work please check the addon comments first for already changed versions, search for "patched" "updated" "fixed" "improved" "revised" versions of the addons via Minion/esoui addon search or post a comment to the original/patched addons so that the dev will read and react to it. The devs do not get any notification on yoru forum posts here, but the comments will maybe trigger them.

Last edited by Baertram : 02/10/22 at 07:35 AM.
  Reply With Quote
02/10/22, 08:04 AM   #3
lexo1000
 
lexo1000's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 9
Thanks for the info
I tried to update TrueExploration with your explanations but there is so many libraries dependancy inside (6) that I'm pretty sure to make a mistake by editing the files.

Last edited by lexo1000 : 02/10/22 at 08:39 AM.
  Reply With Quote
02/10/22, 10:33 AM   #4
Baertram
Super Moderator
 
Baertram's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4,912
LibDAU got no own txt file on ESOUI (seems to not have been released here) so leave it in the TrueExploration.txt file.

All others should be removed from the libs subfolder and the txt file lines, and added as
##DependsOn: LibMapPing LibAddonMenu-2.0>=32 LibChatMessage LibDebugLogger LibGPS>=30

The global variables to use instead of lines like
LibStub("LibGPS")
can be found at the description of that libraries on ESOUI.
e.g.
LibGPS uses LibGPS3 as global variable!
https://www.esoui.com/downloads/info601-LibGPS.html
Code:
In order to use the library you have to get an instance from the global variable:
Code:
local gps = LibGPS3
So in TrueExploration.lua change this: local GPS = LibGPS2
To: local GPS = LibGPS3


I think the other libs are just using their name like LibDebugLogger, LibMapPing, LibChatMessage.
LibAddonMenu-2.0 -> LibAddonMenu2

btw: All libraries in the subfolder "Libs" that contain a .txt file are okay to stay there!!!
The txt file will make the addon manager of ESO load the files ONLY if there is not any other newer version somewhere else available. So install these libs as newest version to live/AddOns and it will detect the newest version there, ignoreing other older .txt files in /libs/ subfolders of any addon!

Only libs that are included in a /libs/ subfolder WITHOUT their proper own txt file, and loaded via e.g. TrueExploration.txt directly (hardcoded call) will make the libs break if the included lib files in the /libs/ subfolder are old.

So your TrueExploration.txt file should look like this in the end:
Code:
## Title: TrueExploration
## APIVersion: 101032 101033
## Version: 2.0
## AddOnVersion: 200
## Author: Shinni
## SavedVariables: TE_SavedVars
## DependsOn: LibAddonMenu-2.0>=32 LibGPS>=30 LibMapPing LibChatMessage LibDebugLogger 
## OptionalDependsOn: AUI

##hardcoded call is okay as LibDAU was never released on ESOUi and thus no LibDAU.txt exists!
libs\LibDAU\LibDAU.lua 

language\en.lua
language\$(language).lua

TrueExploration.lua
TrueExplorationOptions.lua
TrueExploration.xml
TrueExploration v2.0 LibGPS update to v3
Untested as I do not use this addon!

Last edited by Baertram : 02/11/22 at 03:44 PM.
  Reply With Quote
02/10/22, 10:44 AM   #5
Baertram
Super Moderator
 
Baertram's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4,912
SlowDialog:
https://www.esoui.com/downloads/info...atch.html#info

This version does not contain any libs nor LibStub so try if this works please.

Last edited by Baertram : 02/10/22 at 10:48 AM.
  Reply With Quote
02/10/22, 11:12 AM   #6
lexo1000
 
lexo1000's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 9
Thanks for the explanation!
I will try your versions tonight & tell you the result.
  Reply With Quote
02/11/22, 10:07 AM   #7
lexo1000
 
lexo1000's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 9
Hello
I have this error message at game launch:
user:/AddOns/TrueExploration/TrueExploration.lua:318: function expected instead of nil
stack traceback:
user:/AddOns/TrueExploration/TrueExploration.lua:318: in function 'TrueExplor.Discover'
user:/AddOns/TrueExploration/TrueExploration.lua:307: in function 'TrueExplor.OnUpdate'
  Reply With Quote
02/11/22, 02:24 PM   #8
Baertram
Super Moderator
 
Baertram's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4,912
Seems to be a function of LibGPS
local measurement = GPS:GetCurrentMapMeasurements()

Have you installed the version LibGPS 3 from esoui properly? v3.1
Check your live/AddOns/LibGPS folder. Maybe delete it and re-download fresh the newest version!
https://www.esoui.com/downloads/info601-LibGPS.html

And check ALL other addon's subfolders for /libs/ and remove the libs in there which got no own txt file included there in the same lib folder, especially any LibGPS!

What zone and map (in a city or at overland?) are you in as the error happens?
  Reply With Quote
02/11/22, 02:37 PM   #9
lexo1000
 
lexo1000's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 9
I reinstalled LibGPS but the error messages are still there directly after loading my character.
  Reply With Quote
02/11/22, 03:20 PM   #10
Baertram
Super Moderator
 
Baertram's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4,912
Please re-read and add the other asked question's answers for me so I can retry it myself in the same zone and map,
and check the subfolder of your addons for older LibGPS versions < 3.1 which get loaded -> delete them.

I'm not getting that error so I assume it's an odler LibGPS interfering here, or any other addon, or the zone where it happens.
Your client language is EN English?
NA or EU server?

And please test to ONLY enable TrueExploration, disable ALL other addons and not needed dependencies to be sure it's not any other addonc ausing this for you.

Edit: Was able to get the same error in the current DLC zone Fargrave, maybe some data is missing for it.

Last edited by Baertram : 02/11/22 at 03:32 PM.
  Reply With Quote
02/11/22, 03:40 PM   #11
Baertram
Super Moderator
 
Baertram's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4,912
I found the problem, the function naem in TrueExploration is wrong!

Wrong:
GetCurrentMapMeasurements

Correct:
GetCurrentMapMeasurement

Just do a search and replace in the TrueExploration.lua file.

I'll reupload the file with the fixed function name and change the downlaod link above.
Link is updated above

Last edited by Baertram : 02/11/22 at 03:45 PM.
  Reply With Quote
02/12/22, 12:18 AM   #12
lexo1000
 
lexo1000's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 9
Thanks a lot it works perfectly now
Just a little remark: Minion detects that it is not the last version whereas you put version 2.0 in txt vs 1.9 for original mod... How can we remove this alert by editing mod file?
  Reply With Quote
02/12/22, 09:20 AM   #13
Baertram
Super Moderator
 
Baertram's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4,912
I did not update it properly at the addon site, just in the comments unofficially, so Minion nor esoui website cannot know there is any newer version.
Right click it in Minion and choose "Ignore".
You can unignore it once official updates come in, via the Minion settings -> Ignore list-> select and right click -> remove
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » AddOns » AddOn Search/Requests » Update SlowDialogs & TrueExploration mods

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off