04/09/14, 06:12 AM   #1
Nogaruk
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Help with using Tooltips

Hello and thank you ahead of time to anyone that might be able to shed some light on Tooltip controls for me.

I am new to Lua and XML. So far I have managed to force comparative tooltips to show while in a crafting window. It requires me to run it in an OnUpdate (I am buffering it, thanks to the wiki tutorials) and it is still a little buggy.

The position for the tooltip windows will move around if you leave the construction tab and mouse over anything that can pull up a comparative tooltip. This can be bad when you come back to the construction window. It can, rarely, cover up the base tooltip window for that tab.

Also, if you are under a different tab, the only way I have found so far to keep them showing is to basically constantly set them to be shown. This is not as big of a deal, though. It is not a necessity for them to show there.

I have since started to try and create my own tooltip, but so far have had no luck in getting anything to show. Trying to use create virtual instead of just create, I have only found one template name that would not error, ZO_BaseTooltip , but this still shows nothing visually. I can at least access the tooltip functions, but regardless of what I try to Set.. (SetBagItem for example) I still have no visual elements showing.

I'm hoping someone can at least direct me towards how to properly access/make a tooltip. I have been searching, but I have found zero info on this particular subject. Perhaps I am looking in the wrong direction entirely as well.

Last edited by Nogaruk : 04/09/14 at 06:16 AM. Reason: Formatting
04/10/14, 07:35 PM   #2
Nogaruk
Update: I've managed to make a tooltip and pull in item info. It's a start at least.

From what I can tell so far, and by all means correct me if I wrong in any of this, tooltips are comprised of: