04/06/14, 03:39 PM   #1
Baertram
Super Moderator

WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Getting information about item (inside bag, or at bank)

Hi there,

i'm totally new to LUA but I think I understood how it works so far.
I tried some smaller code lines and read other bigger addons to understand, how LUA works with ESO.

Currently I try to find out, how I can see, if an item is inside my inventory or only at my bank.
I'll see this already, if I open the research tab at a craft station e.g. But it will only sho inside the tooltip of the item (at the top right edge of the tooltip).
I#d like to check this for every icon shown in the research item's list.

Is there any function in the API which returns this information for me, without having to mouseover an item and check the tooltip? I did not find any so far.
I only saw there is a global variable BAG which will indicate me BAG_BANK e.g. as a value. But I'm not sure if I can use this variable somehow and if this is the information I'm searching for.

I appreciate every help I can get.

Thank you.
04/06/14, 05:23 PM   #2
Xrystal
caritas omnia vincit

Premium Member
Unfortunately there isn't a way that I can see of getting to that information barring searching through all bags and slots.

There are several functions that have a bagID, slotID set of parameters.

bagID 0 is your equipped armor with the slotID being the individual equipped items.

bagID 1 is your inventory with slotID being the individual stack of items.

I assume bagID's 2 and higher will be for the various other inventory related storage such as bank or store etc.

EG.
bagCount = GetMaxBags()
bagIcon,bagSlots = GetBagInfo(bagId)
itemName = GetItemName(bagID, slotID)

So it looks like all you can do is cycle through and check that way.